Skip to content
Browse files

Updating inaccurate "third party" license information in our main LIC…

…ENSE file (we haven't had a "lib/license" directory in a long long time).

Adding a new "LICENSES_THIRD_PARTY" text file which lists all third party libraries and their associated licenses. As this license info is not always specified in Maven Central, I unfortunately don't see any other easy way to track these third party licenses.
  • Loading branch information...
1 parent e8ee775 commit 2d76c1393cdafc10256bde99447b5dea56ebe60d @tdonohue tdonohue committed Jun 22, 2012
Showing with 112 additions and 4 deletions.
  1. +4 −4 LICENSE
  2. +108 −0 LICENSES_THIRD_PARTY
View
8 LICENSE
@@ -34,7 +34,7 @@ DAMAGE.
DSpace uses third-party libraries which may be distributed under
-different licenses to the above. These licenses are located in
-the lib/licenses directory. You must agree to the terms of these
-licenses, in addition to the above DSpace source code license, in
-order to use this software.
+different licenses to the above. Information about these licenses
+is detailed in the LICENSES_THIRD_PARTY file at the root of the source
+tree. You must agree to the terms of these licenses, in addition to
+the above DSpace source code license, in order to use this software.
View
108 LICENSES_THIRD_PARTY
@@ -0,0 +1,108 @@
+DSpace uses third-party libraries which may be distributed under different
+licenses. We have attempted to list all of these third party libraries and
+their licenses below (however the most up-to-date information can be found
+via Maven, see NOTE #2 at bottom of this page).
+
+You must agree to the terms of these licenses, in addition to the DSpace
+source code license, in order to use this software.
+
+--------------------------------------------------
+Third party Java libraries listed by License type
+[Format: Name (Maven Project) - URL]
+--------------------------------------------------
+
+Apache Software License, Version 2.0 (http://opensource.org/licenses/apache2.0)
+ * Ant-Contrib Tasks (ant-contrib:*) - http://ant-contrib.sourceforge.net/
+ * Apache Abdera (org.apache.abdera::*) - http://projects.apache.org/projects/abdera.html
+ * Apache Ant (org.apache.ant:*) - http://ant.apache.org/
+ * Apache Axis (axis:*) - http://axis.apache.org/axis/
+ * Apache Cocoon (org.apache.cocoon:*) - http://cocoon.apache.org/2.2/license.html
+ * Apache Commons CLI (commons-cli:*) - http://commons.apache.org/cli/license.html
+ * Apache Commons Codec (commons-codec:*) - http://commons.apache.org/codec/license.html
+ * Apache Commons Collections (commons-collections:*) - http://commons.apache.org/collections/license.html
+ * Apache Commons DBCP (commons-dbcp:*) - http://commons.apache.org/dbcp/license.html
+ * Apache Commons Discovery (commons-discovery:*) - http://commons.apache.org/discovery/license.html
+ * Apache Commons FileUpload (commons-fileupload:*) - http://commons.apache.org/fileupload/license.html
+ * Apache Commons HTTP Client (commons-httpclient:*) - http://commons.apache.org/httpclient/license.html
+ * Apache Commons IO (commons-io:*) - http://commons.apache.org/io/license.html
+ * Apache Commons JXPath (commons-jxpath:*) - http://commons.apache.org/jxpath/license.html
+ * Apache Commons Lang (commons-lang:*) - http://commons.apache.org/lang/license.html
+ * Apache Commons Logging (commons-logging:*) - http://commons.apache.org/logging/license.html
+ * Apache Commons Pool (commons-pool:*) - http://commons.apache.org/pool/license.html
+ * Apache Commons Validator (commons-validator:*) - http://commons.apache.org/validator/license.html
+ * Apache Jakarta ORO (oro:*) - http://svn.apache.org/repos/asf/jakarta/oro/trunk/LICENSE
+ * Apache log4j (log4j:*) : http://logging.apache.org/log4j/
+ * Apache Lucene (org.apache.lucene:*) - http://lucene.apache.org/
+ * Apache PDFBox (org.apache.pdfbox:*) - http://pdfbox.apache.org/
+ * Apache POI (org.apache.poi:*) - http://poi.apache.org/
+ * Apache Solr (org.apache.solr:*) - http://lucene.apache.org/solr/
+ * Apache Xerces (xerces:*) - http://xerces.apache.org/
+ * Apache XML Commons (xml-apis:*) - http://xerces.apache.org/xml-commons/licenses.html
+ * Apache XML Project (xalan:*) - http://xml.apache.org/xalan-j/#license
+ * Databene ContiPerf (org.databene:contiperf) - http://databene.org/contiperf
+ * Rome (net.java.dev.rome:*, org.rometools:*, rome:*) - http://rometools.org/
+ * Spring Framework (org.springframework:*) - http://www.springsource.org/spring-framework
+ * SWORD Libraries (org.swordapp:*) - http://mvnrepository.com/artifact/org.swordapp/server/2.0
+
+BSD License (http://www.opensource.org/licenses/BSD-3-Clause)
+ * DNSJava (org.dspace.dnsjava:dnsjava)- http://www.xbill.org/dnsjava/dnsjava-current/README
+ * Foresite Toolkit (com.googlecode.foresite-toolkit:*) - http://code.google.com/p/foresite-toolkit/
+ * Jaxen (jaxen:*) - http://jaxen.codehaus.org/license.html
+ * YUI (com.yahoo.platform.yui:*) - http://yuilibrary.com/license/
+
+Common Development and Distribution License (CDDL) v1.0 (http://www.opensource.org/licenses/CDDL-1.0)
+ * JavaBeans Activation Framework (javax.activation:*) - http://www.opensource.org/licenses/CDDL-1.0
+ * Java Mail (javax.mail:*) - http://www.opensource.org/licenses/CDDL-1.0
+ * JAX-RPC (javax.xml:jaxrpc-api) - http://java.net/projects/jax-rpc/
+
+Common Public License v1.0 (http://www.opensource.org/licenses/cpl1.0)
+ * JUnit (junit:*) - http://junit.org/license
+ * WSDL4J (wsdl4j:*) - http://sourceforge.net/projects/wsdl4j/
+
+Lesser GPL (http://www.opensource.org/licenses/LGPL-2.1)
+ * Text-mining (org.dspace.dependencies:dspace-tm-extractors) - http://code.google.com/p/text-mining/
+ * MaxMind GeoIP (org.dspace.dependencies:dspace-geoip) - http://geoip.cvs.sourceforge.net/viewvc/geoip/java/LICENSE
+
+MIT / X11 License (or adaptations) (http://www.opensource.org/licenses/MIT)
+ * Bouncy Castle (org.bouncycastle:*) - http://www.bouncycastle.org/licence.html
+ * jmockit (org.dspace.dependencies.jmockit:dspace-jmockit) - http://code.google.com/p/jmockit/
+ * SLF4J (org.slf4j:*) - http://www.slf4j.org/license.html
+
+Mozilla Public License (http://www.opensource.org/licenses/MPL-2.0)
+ * H2 database (com.h2database:*) - http://www.h2database.com/html/license.html
+
+Other Open Source Licenses:
+ * ICU4J (com.ibm.icu:icu4j) - ICU License : http://source.icu-project.org/repos/icu/icu/trunk/license.html
+ * JDOM (jdom:*) - JDOM License : https://github.com/hunterhacker/jdom/blob/master/LICENSE.txt
+ * PostgreSQL (postgresql:*) - PostgreSQL License (BSD-based): http://www.postgresql.org/about/licence/
+
+----
+NOTE #1: Some individual web application files in DSpace (e.g. Javascript
+libraries, CSS Frameworks) may have their own open source license. In that
+scenario, we place a copy of the full text of the license alongside the
+licensed files. You can locate these additional licenses in our codebase
+by searching for files with a ".LICENSE" file extension.
+----
+
+----
+NOTE #2: Although we try to keep this libraries list current, the latest
+information about DSpace third party libraries can be found by running the
+following Maven command(s):
+
+mvn project-info-reports:dependencies
+
+This generates a "[project]/target/site/dependencies.html" report under every
+DSpace project directory. This report lists all dependencies and their license
+(if it can be determined by Maven).
+
+Additionally, you may wish to run:
+
+mvn project-info-reports:dependancy-convergence
+
+This generates a summary report at
+"[dspace]/target/site/dependancy-convergence.html" which lists all dependencies
+of all DSpace projects (though it does not list license information)
+
+For more information see the maven-project-info-reports-plugin:
+http://maven.apache.org/plugins/maven-project-info-reports-plugin/
+----

0 comments on commit 2d76c13

Please sign in to comment.
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.