Nico Preston edited this page Mar 2, 2018 · 27 revisions

Hackathon Data Resources


Name Link Twitter Chat
The Humanitarian Data Exchange humdata.org @humdata
Global Healthsites Mapping Project healthsites.io and API @sharehealthdata Gitter
ProMED-mail promedmail.org @ProMED_mail Data Cut: https://goo.gl/zYYpa7
GECHO data and guides gecho.org @gecholabs
Earth Observation data from archives all over the world geoportal.org @geosec2025

Relevant Data Repositories (from gecho.org)

Name Description Link
CDC National Center for Health Statistics Public use data files https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data_access/ftp_data.htm
CDC WONDER data retrieval system Public health data http://wonder.cdc.gov/
CDC: GIS Data Links Public Health Resources, GIS Data, Social Determinants of Health Resources, and Environmental Health Data Resources http://www.cdc.gov/dhdsp/maps/gisx/resources/geo-spatial-data.html
Census Bureau Census data http://www.census.gov/geography.html
Data.gov U.S. Government data, tools, and resources http://data.gov/
Food and Agriculture Organization UN food security data http://www.fao.org/geonetwork/srv/en/main.home
Food and Nutrition Information Center Agricttural Data https://www.nal.usda.gov/ks
GeoCommons 150,000 data sets from public and open government website and sources. http://geocommons.com/
Harvard: GIS Data Links University’s catalog and repository for geospatial data http://gis.harvard.edu/resources/data/gis-data-harvard
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation Population health, determinants, and health system performance HealthData for Argentina
NASA Earthdata Earth Observation Data https://earthdata.nasa.gov/
National Map Geological topographic information http://nationalmap.gov/
National Weather Service Weather, water, and climate data http://www.nws.noaa.gov/gis/shapepage.htm
Natural Earth Free global vector and raster map data at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110m scales http://www.naturalearthdata.com/
Ordnance Survey Free digital maps of Great Britain http://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/business-and-government/products/opendata-products.html
Public Health Partners: Health Data Links Collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries http://phpartners.org/health_stats.html
SEDAC Columbia University Socioeconomic Data http://sedac.ciesin.columbia.edu/data/sets/browse
Texas A&M Libraries: GIS Data Links General data sources http://tamu.libguides.com/gisdata
UNEP Global environmental data https://www.unep-wcmc.org/resources-and-data
USAID Demographic and Health Surveys Demographic and health data for 90 countries from over 300 surveys https://dhsprogram.com/data/
USDA Geospatial Data Gateway Natural resources conservation data http://datagateway.nrcs.usda.gov/
USGS Earth Explorer USGS visual data finder http://earthexplorer.usgs.gov/
World Bank Data Free and open access to global development data https://data.worldbank.org/
World Bank Data Catalog Development data http://datacatalog.worldbank.org/
WWF Conservation Science Data and Tools http://worldwildlife.org/pages/conservation-science-data-and-tools
The Water Point Data Exchange The Water Point Data Exchange (WPDx) is the global platform for sharing water point data. https://www.waterpointdata.org/
You can’t perform that action at this time.
You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session. You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.
Press h to open a hovercard with more details.