Skip to content
This repository

HTTPS clone URL

Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with HTTPS or Subversion.

Download ZIP

Puppet module to help manage Apt

branch: master

This branch is 0 commits ahead and 0 commits behind master

Fetching latest commit…

Cannot retrieve the latest commit at this time

README.md

Apt module for Puppet

Description

Provides helpful definitions for dealing with Apt.

Usage

apt:builddep

Install the build depends of a specified package.

apt::builddep { "glusterfs-server": }

apt::force

Force a package to be installed from a specific release. Useful when using repositories like Debian unstable in Ubuntu.

apt::force { "glusterfs-server":
    release => "unstable",
    version => '3.0.3',
    require => Apt::Source["debian_unstable"],
}

apt::pin

Add an apt pin for a certain release.

apt::pin { "karmic": priority => 700 }
apt::pin { "karmic-updates": priority => 700 }
apt::pin { "karmic-security": priority => 700 }

apt::ppa

Add a ppa repository using add-apt-repository. Somewhat experimental.

apt::ppa { "ppa:drizzle-developers/ppa": }

apt::release

Set the default apt release. Useful when using repositories like Debian unstable in Ubuntu.

apt::release { "karmic": }

apt::source

Add an apt source to /etc/apt/sources.list.d/.

apt::source { "debian_unstable":
  location          => "http://debian.mirror.iweb.ca/debian/",
  release           => "unstable",
  repos             => "main contrib non-free",
  required_packages => "debian-keyring debian-archive-keyring",
  key               => "55BE302B",
  key_server        => "keyserver.ubuntu.com",
  pin               => "-10",
  include_src       => true
}

apt::key

Add a key to the list of keys used by apt to authenticate packages.

apt::key { "puppetlabs":
  key        => "4BD6EC30",
  key_server => "pgp.mit.edu",
}
apt::key { "jenkins":
  key        => "D50582E6",
  key_source => "http://pkg.jenkins-ci.org/debian/jenkins-ci.org.key",
}

Note that use of the "key_source" parameter requires wget to be installed and working.

apt::params

Sets default parameters which will be used within class. You can use it to override repository locations if you have own mirrors for example. Instantiate this before you use any apt resources in puppet.

class { "apt::params":
    mirror_location => { "http://debian.mirror.iweb.ca/debian/" => "http://myownmirror.fqdn/debian_mirror_iweb_ca",
                         "http://ftp.uk.debian.org" => "http://myownmirror.fqdn/ftp_uk_debian_org" }
}

You can also set up the apt module whether to use sources from your mirror or public mirror. To rewrite deb-src to your own mirror instantiate apt::params with:

class { "apt::params":
    rewrite_source_mirror => true
}

Contributors

A lot of great people have contributed to this module. A somewhat current list follows.
Ben Godfrey ben.godfrey@wonga.com
Christian G. Warden cwarden@xerus.org
Dan Bode bodepd@gmail.com dan@puppetlabs.com
Garrett Honeycutt github@garretthoneycutt.com
Jeff Wallace jeff@evolvingweb.ca jeff@tjwallace.ca
Ken Barber ken@bob.sh
Matthaus Litteken matthaus@puppetlabs.com mlitteken@gmail.com
Matthias Pigulla mp@webfactory.de
Monty Taylor mordred@inaugust.com
Peter Drake pdrake@allplayers.com
Reid Vandewiele marut@cat.pdx.edu
Robert Navarro rnavarro@phiivo.com
Ryan Coleman ryan@puppetlabs.com
Scott McLeod scott.mcleod@theice.com
Spencer Krum spencer@puppetlabs.com
William Van Hevelingen blkperl@cat.pdx.edu wvan13@gmail.com
Zach Leslie zach@puppetlabs.com

Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.