Nagios Core
C Makefile Shell JavaScript Perl HTML Other
Clone or download
Fetching latest commit…
Cannot retrieve the latest commit at this time.
Failed to load latest commit information.
autoconf-macros update configure so initdir doesnt get overridden if passed as argument Jun 21, 2018
base change the order of the service notification logic after the refactor Aug 15, 2018
cgi fix html/typo in avail.cgi Aug 13, 2018
common revert some changes to wproc_run_job(), process_macros_r(), and Jun 20, 2018
contrib convertcfg.c: Add missing printf format tag (#536) Jun 20, 2018
docs Nagios 4.4.0 (#464) Jan 22, 2018
html final prep for 4.4.2 Aug 16, 2018
include final prep for 4.4.2 Aug 16, 2018
lib Fix two error path memory leaks (#528) Jun 6, 2018
module Update URL's to SSL versions (Scott Wilkerson) Jul 2, 2015
sample-config need both `timperiod_name` and `name` directives for timeperiods Jun 18, 2018
startup prep for 4.4.2 Aug 14, 2018
t-tap updated test_checks for passive_host_checks_are_soft == false and upd… Aug 14, 2018
t update objects.precache.expected to match what nagios is going May 25, 2018
tap found the librarie error looking thru #501 May 23, 2018
test spelling: unknown Mar 22, 2017
worker Add clang-6.0 and fix a trivial warning (#532) Jun 8, 2018
xdata Reverting accidentally changes in ea90e63 -SW Aug 14, 2018
.gitignore update gitignore for updated zips Jun 19, 2018
.travis.yml add valgrind to travis file packages Jun 25, 2018 added contributing doc Jul 31, 2017
Changelog final prep for 4.4.2 Aug 16, 2018
INSTALLING Doc updates Mar 6, 2007
LEGAL Remove "Last Modified" and copyright years from source files Aug 17, 2012
LICENSE Initial import of Nagios code Feb 26, 2002 update makefile to makesure the init dir is created (like it used to be) Jun 21, 2018 Correct link syntax in (#512) May 24, 2018
THANKS Update THANKS Aug 15, 2018
UPGRADING spelling: somewhere Mar 22, 2017
aclocal.m4 Nagios 4.4.0 (#464) Jan 22, 2018
config.guess Synced config.guess and config.sub with GNU (for aarch64) Sep 2, 2016
config.sub Synced config.guess and config.sub with GNU (for aarch64) Sep 2, 2016
configure final prep for 4.4.2 Aug 16, 2018 final prep for 4.4.2 Aug 16, 2018
doxy.conf prep for 4.4.2 Aug 14, 2018
functions Initial import of Nagios code Feb 26, 2002 indent-scripts: Make sure we don't use a default options file Aug 17, 2011 Store backups when running indent Aug 26, 2012
install-sh Freshness check race condition fix, fix to install-sh for Solaris Oct 20, 2007
make-tarball make the directory if it does not exist Aug 13, 2002
mkpackage Initial import of Nagios code Feb 26, 2002
nagios.spec prep for 4.4.2 Aug 14, 2018
nagios.sysconfig Basically reverting a bad patch from 30ab1ba. Rebuilt the daemon-init… Mar 3, 2014 Initial import of Nagios code Feb 26, 2002 Nagios 4.4.0 (#464) Jan 22, 2018
update-version final prep for 4.4.2 Aug 16, 2018

Nagios 4.x


Build Status

Nagios is a host/service/network monitoring program written in C and released under the GNU General Public License, version 2. CGI programs are included to allow you to view the current status, history, etc via a web interface if you so desire.

Visit the Nagios homepage at for documentation, new releases, bug reports, information on discussion forums, and more.


  • Monitoring of network services (via SMTP, POP3, HTTP, PING, etc).
  • Monitoring of host resources (processor load, disk usage, etc.).
  • A plugin interface to allow for user-developed service monitoring methods.
  • Ability to define network host hierarchy using "parent" hosts, allowing detection of and distinction between hosts that are down and those that are unreachable.
  • Notifications when problems occur and get resolved (via email, pager, or user-defined method).
  • Ability to define event handlers for proactive problem resolution.
  • Automatic log file rotation/archiving.
  • Optional web interface for viewing current network status, notification and problem history, log file, etc.


See the Changelog for a summary of important changes and fixes, or the commit history for more detail.


Latest releases can be downloaded from


Quickstart installation guides are available to help you get Nagios up and monitoring.

Documentation & Support


The Nagios source code is hosted on GitHub:

Do you have an idea or feature request to make Nagios better? Join or start a discussion on the Nagios Core Development forum. Bugs can be reported by opening an issue on GitHub. If you have identified a security related issue in Nagios, please contact

Patches and GitHub pull requests are welcome. Pull requests on GitHub link commits in version control to review and discussion of the changes, helping to show how and why changes were made, in addition to who was involved.

Created by Ethan Galstad, the success of Nagios has been due to the fantastic community members that support it and provide bug reports, patches, and great ideas. See the THANKS file for some of the many who have contributed since 1999.