Skip to content
New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

Stop letting me lose projects :( #133

Open
cfjedimaster opened this issue Mar 30, 2019 · 6 comments

Comments

Projects
None yet
2 participants
@cfjedimaster
Copy link

commented Mar 30, 2019

Did you search for the problem in other open issues in this repo?

Yes

Tell us about the problem

I know this is my fault, but a few days ago I worked on a project for about an hour, viewed it on my device to test, etc, and then lost the project because I never clicked "Save". I'm sure the browser tab even warned me when closing the tab, but honestly, shouldn't the Playground have an option to auto save? In what scenario would I not want to save? Sure it may mean a lot of 'scratch' apps being saved, but I'd rather have that then losing work. Or perhaps you could only auto save if the user views it on their device.

Either way - I 100% acknowledge this is my fault, but it really shouldn't be possible to work on something for an hour, test on a device, and just have it disappear.

Did you try it outside of {N} Playground?

  • No

Which browser are you using?

  • Mozilla

Are there any errors/warnings logged in your browser console?

Yep.

Which platform(s) does your issue occur on?

N/A

Are there any entries logged in the Device Logs tab?

N/A

@cfjedimaster

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Author

commented Jun 15, 2019

Another way to lose your project.

Work on a project while NOT logged in.
Save.
Log in.
Note that the "Save" icon is disabled so obviously your project is saved.

But it isn't - you would need to edit something and save it again.

@vhristov5555

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor

commented Jul 17, 2019

First about the second scenario. If you save a session without log in we wouldn't know who is the owner so the saved session is author is set to anonymous. When you log in and save the author is not changed because it would be very bad if we assign an author to every session that has anonymous author. If you want to be the author you need to use the fork button. It would copy the saved session to your account.
About the first problem. We don't want to save every time because we are going to generated enormous number of saved sessions. You would have thousands of versions of you project, which would never help you. We intend to let you save your session when you have something that is worthy of saving. You can go to your projects tab and then see the difference between two saved sessions and you can maintained it very easily. If you have thousand of saved session you are going to be lost, you would never have chance of comparing two sessions. Also our database would have thousand of data which is not needed or useful to anybody.

@cfjedimaster

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Author

commented Jul 17, 2019

second problem: I'm sorry but I don't see why you can't simply save it again, or mark the project 'dirty'. By that I mean the Save icon is enabled. That would be a signal that I need to save it so it is in my account. Is there ever a case you see where I'd start a new project anon, save, log in, and not want that project in my account? Sure it could happen, but you have to agree that wouldn't be the norm, right?

first problem: how about a compromise - don't let me view on my device until i save. Or add a warning, "You are viewing an UNSAVED project."

Honestly I can see your logic here, but I truly think more needs to be done to help users here.

@vhristov5555

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor

commented Jul 17, 2019

About second problem. There is a such scenario and it is the most common. If I create a project as anon and send you the project I wouldn't want to if you save it to go to your account. Many people are sending saved sessions to support. If they change something this saved sessions would go to their account nevertheless they don't need them. For this purpose we created the fork functionality which is enabling you to add it to your account. Also if you not log in and save this message is shown down on the left of the screen:
Project saved successfully! Log in to NS Playground to have a full history of your saved projects.
About the first one. It is the other way around we want you to see it on your device so you are sure that this is the right code you need to save. If we don't let you see it you are going to save some not working code. The idea is that you are developing your app and save it when you think that you have something working and meaningful or you just need to save it because you are done for today. We don't want everybody to has a thousand of saved session which are unusable. If you have 1000 saved sessions what value you have of them. I understand that if you miss to save it is very bad, but we add warnings. Also the saved button is not active when you have no changes.
We could try to think of some UI showing that your session is not save. Not sure what could comes around but we could try to think of something.

@cfjedimaster

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Author

commented Jul 17, 2019

Is it truly such a bad issue to save something to my account? You mentioned the database having thousands of sets of data... but I can't remember the last time I worried about database size. :) Is storage really that big of an issue that you can't take the hassle of extra stored data to potentially save the hassle of lost projects?

I'm absolutely fine with this coming down to "I need to pay attention", and as no one else has chimed it, it's also very possible very few people are hitting this. It's just burned me multiple times. :\

@vhristov5555

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor

commented Jul 17, 2019

Well the problem is that if we create a saved session for every time you click ctrl+s it would generate lots of saved sessions. This saved sessions would be more pain than gain not only for us but for users too. If you have 1000 saved sessions and you want to go back and see when you have changed something it would be hard and painful task. Also most of this saved sessions could be unwanted information.
We are trying to show people that their work is not saved by several features. We could try to think of something UI indication.

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment
You can’t perform that action at this time.