Skip to content
New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

Clone creatures still can copy creature although Humility or similar effects are in effect #145

Open
silasary opened this issue Aug 10, 2017 · 1 comment

Comments

@silasary
Copy link
Member

@silasary silasary commented Aug 10, 2017

What is expected
When Humility or cards with similar effects are on the battlefield (for example Overwhelming Splendor), Clone and similar cards won't get to copy any other creatures. It will ETB as itself.

CR 614.12. Some replacement effects modify how a permanent enters the battlefield. (See rules 614.1c–d.) Such effects may come from the permanent itself if they affect only that permanent (as opposed to a general subset of permanents that includes it). They may also come from other sources. To determine which replacement effects apply and how they apply, check the characteristics of the permanent as it would exist on the battlefield, taking into account replacement effects that have already modified how it enters the battlefield (see rule 616.1), continuous effects from the permanent’s own static abilities that would apply to it once it’s on the battlefield, and continuous effects that already exist and would apply to the permanent.

What actually happens
When the creature ETB, it will prompt its controller to choose which creature to be copied, which means the client still use the old pre-2017 CR 614.12

Video
https://youtu.be/5IkT2arN2Uc

Affects: [Vizier of Many Faces],[Jwari Shapeshifter],[Phantasmal Image],[Mirror Image],[Protean Raider],[Altered Ego],[Clone],[Dack's Duplicate],[Evil Twin],[Gigantoplasm],[Phyrexian Metamorph],[Sakashima's Student],[Sakashima the Impostor],[Spark Double],[Stunt Double],[Wall of Stolen Identity],[Body Double],[Mercurial Pretender],[Vesuvan Doppelganger],[Progenitor Mimic],[Quicksilver Gargantuan]

Bug Blog Text: [Vizier of Many Faces] keeps its abilities when an opponent controls [Overwhelming Splendor].

@vorpal-buildbot
Copy link
Contributor

@vorpal-buildbot vorpal-buildbot commented Mar 22, 2018

This bug has been removed from the bug blog!

@silasary silasary reopened this Mar 22, 2018
@vorpal-buildbot vorpal-buildbot changed the title [Vizier of Many Faces] keeps its abilities when an opponent controls Overwhelming Splendor. Vizier of Many Faces keeps its abilities when an opponent controls Overwhelming Splendor. Mar 22, 2018
@stash86 stash86 changed the title Vizier of Many Faces keeps its abilities when an opponent controls Overwhelming Splendor. Clone creatures still can copy creature although Humility or similar effects are in effect May 23, 2020
Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment
Projects
None yet
Linked pull requests

Successfully merging a pull request may close this issue.

None yet
2 participants