New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

Knowledge Pool With multiple Knowledge Pools in play, casting a spell from hand lets you cast a spell from each Pool. #252

Open
Pseudodude opened this Issue Jan 6, 2018 · 0 comments

Comments

Projects
None yet
2 participants
@Pseudodude

Pseudodude commented Jan 6, 2018

What is the expected behaviour of the card?

  • According to the rulings on Knowledge Pool, when multiple pools are on the battlefield, "the first triggered ability to resolve will exile the original spell, then the player who cast that spell may cast one of the nonland cards exiled by the Knowledge Pool that generated that triggered ability. The abilities of other Knowledge Pools will do nothing when they resolve, as the original spell will already have been exiled."

What is the actual behaviour of the card?

  • On MTGO, if a player casts a spell with two Pools in play it will trigger both Pools, and the first trigger to resolve will exile the spell as normal and allow a spell from that Pool to be cast - this is all expected behaviour. When the second Pool's trigger resolves, it also lets the player cast a spell from that Pool, despite the original spell already having been exiled by the first Pool. This is contrary to the ruling above.

Screenshot
Two Pools, with triggers on the stack from casting Fact or Fiction:
knowledge_pool_before

After the triggers resolved. The untapped, empty Everflowing Chalice was cast from the Pool on the left, and the Vexing Scuttler from the Pool on the right. The left Pool's trigger resolved first and exiled Fact or Fiction; the right Pool couldn't exile anything, so it ends up with only two cards exiled.
knowledge_pool_after

Please provide a list of affected cards
Affects: [Knowledge Pool]

Card Images

@vorpal-buildbot vorpal-buildbot changed the title from [Knowledge Pool] With multiple Knowledge Pools in play, casting a spell from hand lets you cast a spell from each Pool. to Knowledge Pool With multiple Knowledge Pools in play, casting a spell from hand lets you cast a spell from each Pool. Apr 27, 2018

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment