Skip to content


Repository files navigation

bitKlavier: the prepared digital piano

Developed by Dan Trueman, Michael Mulshine, Matt Wang, Davis Polito, Theo Trevisan, Katie Chou, Jeff Gordon, and Camy Streuly.


bitKlavier takes inspiration from John Cage's prepared piano, but instead of screws and erasers we place a reconfigurable collection of digital machines between the virtual strings of the digital piano. Learn more at the bitKlavier website.

bitKlavier is built with JUCE, the C++ audio programming framework (available under GPLv3 license).

Development on bitKlavier is sponsored by the Center for Digital Humanities @ Princeton University. See the CDH project page for more details.


This project is made available under the GPLv3 license


Visit the releases page to download the latest version. You also need to download a resource package with samples and galleries; this resource folder must be placed in your Documents folder.

Development setup and instructions

Branches in this git repository are named based on git flow branching conventions; master contains code for the current release, new feature development for the next release is in dev.

Download JUCE and Projucer for your platform, install the appropriate compiler and devlopment tools, and open the project in Projucer. Code is structured in the standard Model-View-Controller design pattern.

To compile bitKlavier as a VST plugin, you will also need Steinberg's VST-SDK.

To run your locally compiled version of bitKlavier, you will also need the resource folder (see Installation above).