Skip to content
Newer
Older
100644 190 lines (116 sloc) 13.1 KB
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
1
2 <!doctype html>
e42f8f2 Site updated at 2011-12-11 00:44:12 UTC
Divya Manian authored
3 <!--[if lt IE 9]> <html class="no-js oldie" lang="en"> <![endif]-->
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
4 <head>
5 <meta charset="utf-8">
6 <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge,chrome=1">
7 <title>Book Review for Feb 2009 | Divya Manian</title>
8 <meta name="author" content="Divya Manian">
9
10 <meta name="description" content="Wow, I can&rsquo;t believe it has been two months since I moved to Seattle. The difference in the efficiency of services (private or public) here as &hellip;">
11
12
13 <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1">
14
15
16 <link rel="canonical" href="http://nimbupani.github.com/book-review-for-feb-2009.html">
17 <link href="/stylesheets/screen.css" rel="stylesheet">
8f21f85 Site updated at 2011-12-11 02:10:56 UTC
Divya Manian authored
18 <link href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/nimbupani" rel="alternate" title="Subscribe" type="application/atom+xml">
19 <link href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/nimbu" rel="alternate" title="Subscribe to Web Development updates" type="application/atom+xml">
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
20
21 </head>
22
23
cd5e6a9 Site updated at 2011-12-24 06:16:39 UTC
Divya Manian authored
24 <body >
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
25 <div class="container">
26 <div class="content">
27 <header role="banner"> <h1><a href="/">Divya Manian</a></h1>
28
69c30f5 Site updated at 2011-12-11 14:45:02 UTC
Divya Manian authored
29 <h2><a class="twitter" href="https://twitter.com/divya">twitter</a> <a class="rss" href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/nimbupani">RSS Feed</a> <a class="youtube" href="http://youtube.com/nimbupani">Youtube Channel</a> <a class="github" href="https://github.com/nimbupani">Github</a></h2>
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
30
31 </header>
9d25e1e Site updated at 2011-12-11 01:21:19 UTC
Divya Manian authored
32 <nav class="sitenav"><a href="/">Home</a>
e42f8f2 Site updated at 2011-12-11 00:44:12 UTC
Divya Manian authored
33 <a href="/archives">Archives</a>
34 <a href="/about.html">About</a>
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
35 </nav>
e42f8f2 Site updated at 2011-12-11 00:44:12 UTC
Divya Manian authored
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44 <article>
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
45 <nav class="article">
46
47 <a class="previous" href="/book-reviews-for-dec-08-and-jan-09.html" title="Book Reviews for Dec 08 and Jan 09">❬</a>
48
49
50 <a class="next" href="/the-truth-about-doctypes.html" title="The Truth about Doctypes">❭</a>
51
52
53
54 </nav>
55 <header>
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63 <time datetime="2009-03-15T00:00:00-07:00" pubdate><span class='month'>Mar</span> <span class='day'>15</span> <span class='year'>2009</span></time>
64
65 <h1 class="entry-title"><a href="/book-review-for-feb-2009.html">Book Review for Feb 2009</a></h1>
66
67
68
69
70 </header>
71 <div class="entry-content"><p>Wow, I can&rsquo;t believe it has been two months since I moved to Seattle. The difference in the efficiency of services (private or public) here as compared to Singapore is striking. For anyone who is used to Indian (or other developing nations) service standards, the customer service here is indeed several times better, but coming from Singapore, service is definitely not as great as in Singapore. The time it takes for someone to pick up your call, the delivery times, the incessant background checks, wireless oligopoly, etc., sap you of any energy to start life &ldquo;fresh&rdquo;. But, thankfully, all that is behind me (I hope!). I have even bought a car, which is like the last stop in the process of &ldquo;settling in&rdquo;. Now, I have to learn to drive :)</p>
72
73 <p>I am also now in a &ldquo;full time&rdquo; job, after being a freelancer for two years. I find myself better equipped for work than before, but it is tiring to do anything else after work (and I had dreams of doing more illustrations). I would have to get more energy by working out (which I have stopped after moving to Seattle!).</p>
74
75 <p>Seattle has its perks too. I have relaxing weekends, am going for tweetups, making new friends, and generally enjoying a cheaper standard of living (I am not kidding!). I can&rsquo;t read as many books as I used to (mainly because of dedicated work hours), but I think I am not that far behind. Here is what I have read so far:</p>
76
77 <ul>
78 <li>
79 <h3>Soul Music</h3>
80 <p>I borrowed <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0061054895?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0061054895">Soul Music</a> from the Seattle Digital Library which has lots of new Adobe Digital Edition books. I had read &ldquo;Going Postal&rdquo; by Terry Prachett, which was humorous in parts but nothing comparable to the humor of &ldquo;Good Omens&rdquo;. Soul Music is more like &ldquo;Good Omens&rdquo; and I really liked it. The book has Death (as a God) in a philosophical mood and interestingly uses capital letters to denote the &ldquo;voice&rdquo; of death (first time I have seen such a use of capital letters). Death&rsquo;s grand daughter temporarily replaces Death (as he has abandoned his post) and whenever she is speaking as the God of Death, Prachett uses the same capital letters (she mostly speaks &ldquo;normally&rdquo; though). I found it extremely funny that the &ldquo;Guild of Musicians&rdquo; seems to be very similar in operation to the current <abbr title="Recording Industry Association Of America">RIAA</abbr> (except RIAA targets the audience and not the musicians!). A great read!</p>
81 </li>
82 <li>
83 <h3>Best of Everything</h3>
84 <p>
85 I found <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0143035290?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0143035290">The Best of Everything</a> on <a href="http://www.flashlightworthybooks.com/The-Books-of-Mad-Men/343">list of books of Mad Men</a>. It definitely is the pick of that era and the book is, not surprisingly, reminicent of Mad Men. But I am not fond of drama or romance, so this book did not appeal to me. I struggled to finish reading this book (skipping many pages). I would love to see this book as a <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Best_of_Everything_(1959_film)">movie</a> - going to watch it this week on <a href="http://netflix.com">Netflix</a>.
86 </p>
87 </li>
88 <li>
89 <h3>Buddha of Suburbia</h3>
90 <p>
91 I identified with the protagonist of <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0571200435?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0571200435">Buddha of Suburbia (FF Classics)</a> as he escapes from Suburbia into London where he confronts with people with different ideals, higher education, and refinement than what he was used to (quite the same experience when I landed in Singapore). The book, while exploring sexuality, is more about Karim (the protagonist) blending in. A good read, though I don&rsquo;t think I will read it again.
92 </p>
93 </li>
94 <li>
95 <h3>The Stranger</h3>
96 <p>I really LOVED <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0679720200?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0679720200">The Stranger</a>. I generally don&rsquo;t like books with unhappy endings, but this was different. The protagonist is someone who is honest with his feelings (and does not fret over why he does not feel suffering or pain) and hardly feels anything anyway. The book is all about how the world does not understand his point of view and punishes him for being the way he is. In a way it is about <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Stranger_(novel)#Philosophy">Existentialism</a> but it is also a great study of humanity in general. Must read for all existentialists!</p>
97 </li>
98 <li>
99 <h3>Anathem</h3>
100 <p>
101 <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0061474096?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0061474096">Anathem</a> is a book that I was most looking forward to reading. This is the first <a href="http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/">Adobe Digital Edition</a> book I read. And it took the longest to finish (at 928 pages)! The ideas expounded here would be a mathematician&rsquo;s delight. The ending is a little too fantastic (even for speculative fiction!), and has a fundamental theme of <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Many-worlds_interpretation">Many Worlds Interpretation</a> (which was not clear to me this time when I read). When I was reading this book I was just focussing on getting the story and ignored the different discussions about mathematics that occurs in the book, so I missed some of the good parts of it. The idea of living in a monastery, where you spend most of your waking hours in the pursuit of intellectual curiosity (without access to any distractions), is highly appealing to me. I won&rsquo;t be surprised if such monastries do not <em>already</em> exist. Definitely a book to read again!
102 </p>
103 </li>
104 <li>
105 <h3>Dune</h3>
106 <p><a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0441013597?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0441013597">Dune</a> is a highly acclaimed science fiction novel that takes place in a far far future where &ldquo;Spice&rdquo; is the new Oil. Like Anathem, it has its own vocabulary and provides definitions for new words and phrases. In a way this is no different from the <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Last_of_the_mohicans">Last of the Mohicans</a>. The interesting part is the subtle approval for <a href="http://baheyeldin.com/literature/arabic-and-islamic-themes-in-frank-herberts-dune.html">Islamic Culture</a> which is obvious from the phrases and the kind of culture shown among the Fremen tribes. I think this novel is sexist in a way, and I was not too impressed with putting one person (the protagonist) on a pedestal as <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muad'Dib">Muad&#x27;Dib</a>. It was an engrossing read I must say.</p>
107 </li>
108 </ul>
109
110
111 <p>Whew! That covers it! What books do you recommend?</p>
112
113 </div>
114
115 <footer>
116 <p class="meta">This post was posted by
117
118
119 <a href="/about.html">Divya Manian</a>
120 on
121
122
123
124
125
126
127 <time datetime="2009-03-15T00:00:00-07:00" pubdate><span class='month'>Mar</span> <span class='day'>15</span> <span class='year'>2009</span></time> in
128
e42f8f2 Site updated at 2011-12-11 00:44:12 UTC
Divya Manian authored
129 . If you would like to update this post, <a href="https://github.com/nimbupani/nimbupani.github.com/blob/source/source/_posts/2009-03-15-book-review-for-feb-2009.md">please send a pull request</a>.
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
130 </p>
131 </footer>
132 </article>
133
134 <section>
135 <h1>Comments</h1>
136 <div id="disqus_thread" aria-live="polite"><noscript>Please enable JavaScript to view the <a href="http://disqus.com/?ref_noscript">comments powered by Disqus.</a></noscript>
137 </div>
138 </section>
139
140
141 </div>
142 </div>
143 <aside id="articles">
e42f8f2 Site updated at 2011-12-11 00:44:12 UTC
Divya Manian authored
144 <p><img class="avatar" src="/assets/divya.png" height=50> <a href="http://twitter.com/divya">Divya Manian</a> is a Web Developer in Seattle. <a href="/about.html">More about me ❭</a></p>
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
145 <h2>Posts on Web Development</h2>
2cc1469 Site updated at 2012-01-23 12:45:44 UTC
Divya Manian authored
146 <ul><li><a href="/html5please.html">html5please</a></li><li><a href="/mustache.html">mustache, hogan, handlebars</a></li><li><a href="/redesign-notes.html">Redesign Notes</a></li><li><a href="/summary-of-various-exciting-css-drafts-and-proposals.html">Summary of various exciting CSS drafts and proposals</a></li><li><a href="/this-revolution-needs-new-revolutionaries.html">This revolution needs new revolutionaries</a></li><li><a href="/some-css-transition-hacks.html">Some CSS Transition hacks</a></li><li><a href="/safe-css-defaults.html">Safe CSS Defaults</a></li><li><a href="/unplugged-2011.html">Unplugged 2011</a></li><li><a href="/bokeh-with-css3-gradients.html">Bokeh with CSS3 Gradients</a></li><li><a href="/making-pure-css3-demos-better.html">Making "Pure CSS3" demos better</a></li><li><a href="/web-opener-at-opera.html">Web Opener at Opera</a></li><li><a href="/current-color-in-css.html">Current Color in CSS</a></li><li><a href="/css-vocabulary.html">CSS Vocabulary</a></li><li><a href="/active-web-development.html">Active Web Development</a></li><li><a href="/sexy-css3-buttons.html">Sexy CSS3 Buttons</a></li><li><a href="/accessible-css-barcharts.html">Accessible CSS Barcharts</a></li><li><a href="/svg-is-coming.html">SVG is coming!</a></li><li><a href="/wee-marquee.html">Wee! Marquee</a></li><li><a href="/vignettes-with-css3-box-shadows.html">Vignettes with CSS3 Box Shadows</a></li><li><a href="/drop-shadows-with-css3.html">Drop Shadows with CSS3</a></li><li><a class="btn" href="/categories/web-development/">More</a></li></ul>
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
147 </aside>
148 <footer role="contentinfo"><p>
3c9d77b Site updated at 2012-01-01 19:06:29 UTC
Divya Manian authored
149 Copy to your heart’s content 2012 - Divya Manian -
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
150 <span class="credit">Powered by <a href="http://octopress.org">Octopress</a></span>
151 </p>
152
153
154 </footer>
155
156
157 <script type="text/javascript">
158 var disqus_shortname = 'nimbublog';
159 var disqus_developer = 1;
160
161
162 var disqus_url = 'http://nimbupani.com/book-review-for-feb-2009.html';
163 var disqus_identifier = 'http://nimbupani.com/book-review-for-feb-2009.html';
164
165
166
167
168 (function () {
169 var dsq = document.createElement('script'); dsq.type = 'text/javascript'; dsq.async = true;
170 dsq.src = 'http://' + disqus_shortname + '.disqus.com/embed.js';
171 (document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0] || document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0]).appendChild(dsq);
172 }());
173 </script>
174
175
e42f8f2 Site updated at 2011-12-11 00:44:12 UTC
Divya Manian authored
176 <script src="/javascripts/octopress.js"></script>
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
177
e42f8f2 Site updated at 2011-12-11 00:44:12 UTC
Divya Manian authored
178 <script>
179 var _gaq=[['_setAccount','UA-97188-1'],['_trackPageview']];
180 (function(d,t){var g=d.createElement(t),s=d.getElementsByTagName(t)[0];
181 g.src=('https:'==location.protocol?'//ssl':'//www')+'.google-analytics.com/ga.js';
182 s.parentNode.insertBefore(g,s)}(document,'script'));
183 </script>
418c130 Site updated at 2011-12-10 19:57:24 UTC
Divya Manian authored
184
185
186
187
188 </body>
189 </html>
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.