Permalink
Find file
Fetching contributors…
Cannot retrieve contributors at this time
62 lines (31 sloc) 3.26 KB

Abhidhamma in Daily Life

ADL 5.0 out of 5 stars\\ concise clear and spiritually alive teaching

By A customeron 24 April 2000

As a teacher myself in England working with students aged 13-18; I found the layout of the text to be of the clearest teaching methods that the most professional of teachers would employ. More so as a teacher of Religious Studies and a practising Buddhist I thank Nina for enlarging my understanding of the Dharma through such an interesting living approach to what can easily succumb to be a dreary intellectual task.

Abhidhamma made easy

BySarakanion 2 September 2006

This book is about Cittas or types of consciousness in a Buddhist context. Ms Van Gorkhum has also written a recent book on Cetasika's or mental factors/flavours associated with consciousness and she has also written a book that may be out soon on the Pacchayas or conditional relations.

The first book is simply brilliant. It opens up the abhidhamm in a way the Abhidhamma Sangaha cannot to a complete beginner. The Sangaha is of course a primary, vital reference - but Van Gorkhum's treatment is more like a dictionary of some of the major types of consciousness as summarised in the A. Sangaha.

I can't put the book down and read it chapter by chapter - rereading. I'd really like to study her other books when I have the time and own them as this is the secret doctrine, the magical teaching on how the mind works.

I hope you get the opportunity to study this.

www.amazon.co.uk (accessed July 2016)

Sep 03 , 2015 Moniek Zuidema rated it it was ok (Google translate)

After 6 years I have quite some Buddhist jargon , but this is going to far. It's all very interesting and wise, but totally inaccessible ; I could not get through . Goodreads (accessed July 2016)


Cetasikas

5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for the serious Buddhist

By A Customer on 5 Oct. 2000

Format: Hardcover

This book is perhaps the most comprehensive and readable guide to the Abhidhamma and vipassana available. The author refers to suttas and daily life experience in this exceedingly profound volume. The cetasikas are fundamental mental phenomena such as greed, hatred, feeling, lust, kindness and so on. There is nothing deeper available.

www.amazon.co.uk (accessed July 2016)


Buddhism in Daily Life

5.0 out of 5 stars profound

By A Customer on 9 Feb. 2000

A book for those who are not satisfied with watered down versions of the Buddha's teaching. Nina Van Gorkom conveys the sublime wisdom of Buddhism admirably. A book that should be read over and over. A book for those who are not satisfied with watered down versions of the Buddha's teaching. Nina Van Gorkom conveys the sublime wisdom of Buddhism admirably. A book that should be read over and over. amazon.

This is not an easy book, but books on such matters as religion can not be rated based on easiness. For readers who are interested in understanding the depth of the Buddha's Teaching, this is a very good introduction. It gives a clear summary of the main points without simplifying the vastness and complexity of the Buddha's wisdom, something that has become unfortunately a common tendency in many Buddhist books written in modern time. It is to be read with much reflection and consideration, sinc ...more

Goodreads (accessed July 2016)