Skip to content

HTTPS clone URL

Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with HTTPS or Subversion.

Download ZIP
tree: 14481ad335

Fetching latest commit…

Cannot retrieve the latest commit at this time

..
Failed to load latest commit information.
Makefile.am
README
README.structuredtext
README.win32
TODO

README

/* logjam, a GTK LiveJournal client.
 * Copyright (C) 2000-2003 Evan Martin <martine@cs.washington.edu>
 */

Introduction
------------
"LiveJournal.com... because you like to think other people care."
LogJam is a client for LiveJournal.  It lets you post, edit old
entries, manage your friends, and whatever other useful
LiveJournal-related features we can think of.

Visit http://logjam.danga.com for the latest version and up-to-date
information about LogJam development.


Requirements
------------
LogJam requires GTK+ 2.0 or greater.  
Get GTK+ at http://www.gtk.org.

LogJam also requires libcurl, an HTTP library.

Debian users need libgtk2.0-dev, libxml2-dev, libcurl-dev, and their
dependencies.

RPMs of libcurl are linked from the LogJam page.


Enhancements
------------
None of these enhancements are required to build LogJam.
LogJam should detect whether you have them at configure-time and
conditionally enable them.

 - Spell checking support requires GtkSpell 2.0.2 or later.
   For more information about GtkSpell, visit http://gtkspell.sf.net.

 - Current music autodetection requires XMMS 1.2 or later.
   Visit http://www.xmms.org.

 - HTML preview requires libGtkHTML 3.  This is the HTML widget used by
   Ximian's evolution, so it shouldn't be hard to find.

Debian users can apt-get libgtkspell-dev, xmms-dev, libgtkhtml3-dev, and
their dependencies.


Getting Started
---------------
You need a LiveJournal account to use LogJam.
LogJam cannot create this.  Visit http://www.livejournal.com to get
an account.

(LogJam can also be used with alternative LiveJournal sites, though
you'll have to find them yourself.)

LogJam has a pretty standard setup.
Running:
	$ ./configure 
	$ make
	$ su
	# make install
should be all you need to install it.

The installed executable is called "logjam".


Using LogJam
------------
Most of LogJam should be self-explanatory.  That's why you're using a
GUI, right?

GTK Accelerators:
You can remap the accelerators for any menu item.  To do it, first
enable the accelerator-changing functionality in GTK by appending this
line to ~/.gtkrc-2.0:
  gtk-can-change-accels = 1
or, on a GNOME system, with this command:
  gconftool-2 -s /desktop/gnome/interface/can_change_accels -t bool true
Then open up a menu in LogJam, move the mouse over a menu item, and type
a keystroke to bind that menu item to that keystroke.  (To clear an
accelerator, hit backspace.)

Unicode characters:
LiveJournal, LogJam, and GTK2 all support unicode, so LogJam is capable of
posting in almost any language you can find.  Additionally, many
characters that are not part of the ASCII standard (such as an em-dash)
are available.  Please visit my page on X input:
  http://neugierig.org/content/input/
for details on configuring this.


Also:
If there is anything you don't like about LogJam, don't just complain
about it in your LiveJournal, tell me!  I can't fix it if I don't know
about it.



Authors
-------
Evan Martin (LiveJournal user "evan") -- http://neugierig.org
wrote most of this.

Gaal Yahas (LiveJournal user "gaal") -- http://www.forum2.org/gaal/
has made some significant contributions.


Thanks
------
In more or less unsorted order, but the more recent contributions
are at the top:

Aleksander Adamowski <aleksander.adamowski@gmail.com> - patches
Satoru SATOH <ss@gnome.gr.jp> - Japanese translation
Grigory Bakunov <black@asplinux.ru> - Russian translation
The GEdit Authors - Undo code
Frank Hofmann <frankhofmann@gmx.ch> - German translation
George Mason <georgemason@mindspring.com> - accelerator saving
Dave Spadea <dave@spadea.net> - lj-cut patch
Dmitry "old_one" Dyomin <old@old.com.ua> - Ukrainian translation
Ricardo "mones" Mones Lastra <ricardo.mones@hispalinux.es> - Spanish translation
Jon Nall <nall@gentoo.org> - Gentoo packaging
Mikhail Chekanov <mihun@bitex.com> - Russian translation
Asaf "ijon" Bartov <ijon@forum2.org> - win32 multithread support
Gaal "gaal" Yahas <gaal@forum2.org> - checkfriends, poll creator, i18n
Sergei "sgt" Barbarash <sgt@fep.ru> - support for cyrillic translation
Michael Bravo <mbravo@tag-ltd.spb.ru> - locale fixes
Ari Pollak <ari@debian.org> - Debian package, undo
Steve Bernacki, Jr. <steve@copacetic.net> - typo in configure.in
Artem Baguinski <artm@v2.nl> - locale setting
nulld <nulld@encryptedemail.net> - OpenBSD box to test on
Decklin "decklin" Foster <decklin@red-bean.com> - window geometry save/restore
Matthew Vernon <matthew@pick.ucam.org> - simple login proxy patch
Bill Crawford <bill@eb0ne.net> - variety of patches
Gabriel "diamondc" Martinez <gabrielfm@yahoo.com> - Solaris box to test on
Tom "spot" Callaway <spot@redhat.com> - Advanced RPM packaging
Alexander Gräfe <nachtfalke@retrogra.de> - Initial RPM packaging
Christian "christian" Surchi <csurchi@debian.org> - Debian maintainer
Joe "piman" Wreschnig <piman@sacredchao.net> - Debian package help
Ryan Younce <ryan@manunkind.org> - FreeBSD packaging
Raja Mukerji <mukerji@pobox.com> - a multitude of patches
Adam Bidema <hijinx@klone.nwraves.net> - initial file save patch
Matt Roper <mdroper@ucdavis.edu> - parallel make tips
Brad Fitzpatrick <brad@danga.com> - much of the original client

And these people helped so long ago, I can't remember why they're
even listed here:
Simon Huet <detourds@bellsouth.net>
Scott Hammack <shammack@goldinc.com>
Damian Bickhoff <q9405096@brampton.cqu.edu.au>

License
-------
This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of the License, or
(at your option) any later version.

This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the
GNU General Public License for more details.

You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
along with this program; if not, write to the Free Software
Foundation, Inc., 59 Temple Place, Suite 330, Boston, MA  02111-1307  USA

vim:tw=72
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.