Skip to content
Permalink
Browse files

removed custom ToCs

  • Loading branch information
atrahhdis committed Feb 12, 2020
1 parent a81d1c1 commit fa331b8db705378d92ac7103612137307888714f
@@ -11,116 +11,6 @@ bookToc: true
*Download this text in e-book format: [epub](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/epub/A%20r_streamentry%20summary%20of%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw's%20The%20Manual%20of%20Insight%20-%20r_streamentry.epub) | [azw3 (kindle)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/azw3/A%20r_streamentry%20summary%20of%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw's%20The%20Manual%20of%20Insight%20-%20r_streamentry.azw3) | [mobi (kindle old format)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/mobi/A%20r_streamentry%20summary%20of%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw's%20The%20Manual%20of%20Insight%20-%20r_streamentry.mobi) | [md (source)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/md/A%20r_streamentry%20summary%20of%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw's%20The%20Manual%20of%20Insight%20-%20r_streamentry.md)*\
<sub>***e-book version:*** *2.2 - 2019-12-30*</sub>

<details>
<summary>ToC</summary>

* [Preface](#preface)
* [Chapter 1](#chapter-1)
+ [Summary by u/filpt](#summary-by-u-filpt)
+ [Summary by TetrisMcKenna](#summary-by-tetrismckenna)
* [Chapter 2](#chapter-2)
+ [Summary by u/filpt](#summary-by-u-filpt-1)
+ [Summary by u/TetrisMcKenna](#summary-by-u-tetrismckenna)
+ [Summary by u/xugan97](#summary-by-u-xugan97)
- [The two levels of samadhi](#the-two-levels-of-samadhi)
- [Citta Visuddhi](#citta-visuddhi)
- [How insight arises in the two vehicles](#how-insight-arises-in-the-two-vehicles)
- [Establishment of samadhi in the vipassana-yana](#establishment-of-samadhi-in-the-vipassana-yana)
* [Chapter 3](#chapter-3)
+ [Summary by u/filpt](#summary-by-u-filpt-2)
+ [Summary by u/TetrisMcKenna](#summary-by-u-tetrismckenna-1)
+ [Summary by u/xugan97](#summary-by-u-xugan97-1)
- [What really exists?](#what-really-exists-)
- [What can be a subject for meditation:](#what-can-be-a-subject-for-meditation-)
- [When are things seen as they really are?](#when-are-things-seen-as-they-really-are-)
* [Chapter 4](#chapter-4)
+ [Summary by u/TetrisMcKenna](#summary-by-u-tetrismckenna-2)
+ [Summary by u/xugan97](#summary-by-u-xugan97-2)
- [What is vipassana?](#what-is-vipassana-)
- [Choice of practical method](#choice-of-practical-method)
- [Establishment of the four foundations of mindfulness](#establishment-of-the-four-foundations-of-mindfulness)
- [Miscellaneous considerations ...](#miscellaneous-considerations-)
* [Chapter 5](#chapter-5)
+ [Summary by u/filpt](#summary-by-u-filpt-3)
+ [Summary by u/TetrisMcKenna](#summary-by-u-tetrismckenna-3)
+ [Summary by u/xugan97](#summary-by-u-xugan97-3)
* [Chapter 6](#chapter-6)
+ [Summary by u/filpt](#summary-by-u-filpt-4)
- [Overview](#overview)
- [Insight Knowledge that Discerns Mental and Physical Phenomena: Purification of View (aka "Mind and Body" in common parlance from MCTB)](#insight-knowledge-that-discerns-mental-and-physical-phenomena--purification-of-view--aka--mind-and-body--in-common-parlance-from-mctb-)
- [Insight Knowledge that Discerns Conditionality: Purification By Overcoming Doubt (aka Cause and Effect)](#insight-knowledge-that-discerns-conditionality--purification-by-overcoming-doubt--aka-cause-and-effect-)
- [Insight Knowledge by Comprehension (of the 3 characteristics)](#insight-knowledge-by-comprehension--of-the-3-characteristics-)
- [Insight Knowledge of Arising and Passing Away](#insight-knowledge-of-arising-and-passing-away)
- [Insight Knowledge of Dissolution](#insight-knowledge-of-dissolution)
- [Insight Knowledge of Disillusionment](#insight-knowledge-of-disillusionment)
- [Insight Knowledge that Desires Deliverance](#insight-knowledge-that-desires-deliverance)
- [Insight Knowledge of Reobservation](#insight-knowledge-of-reobservation)
- [Insight Knowledge of Equanimity Toward Phenomena](#insight-knowledge-of-equanimity-toward-phenomena)
- [Knowledge of that leads to Emergence](#knowledge-of-that-leads-to-emergence)
- [Abandonment of Defilements](#abandonment-of-defilements)
- [Fruition](#fruition)
- [Nibbana](#nibbana)
- [Conclusion](#conclusion)
+ [Summary by u/TetrisMcKenna](#summary-by-u-tetrismckenna-4)
- [The Stages of Insight Knowledge](#the-stages-of-insight-knowledge)
- [Knowledge of mental and physical phenomena (view)](#knowledge-of-mental-and-physical-phenomena--view-)
- [Conditionality (doubt)](#conditionality--doubt-)
- [Comprehension](#comprehension)
- [Arising and passing away](#arising-and-passing-away)
- [Dissolution](#dissolution)
- [Fear](#fear)
- [Danger](#danger)
- [Disenchantment](#disenchantment)
- [Desire for deliverance](#desire-for-deliverance)
- [Reobservation](#reobservation)
- [Equanimity](#equanimity)
- [Emergence](#emergence)
- [Change of lineage](#change-of-lineage)
- [Path knowledge and fruition knowledge](#path-knowledge-and-fruition-knowledge)
- [Review](#review)
+ [Summary by u/xugan97](#summary-by-u-xugan97-4)
- [Progress of Insight](#progress-of-insight)
- [References](#references)
- [Practical considerations](#practical-considerations)
- [Insight knowledge of phenomena](#insight-knowledge-of-phenomena)
- [Insight knowledge of conditions (paccaya-pariggaha-ñāṇa)](#insight-knowledge-of-conditions--paccaya-pariggaha----a-)
- [Insight knowledge of comprehension (sammasanañāṇa)](#insight-knowledge-of-comprehension--sammasana---a-)
- [Insight Knowledge of rise and fall (udayabbayañāṇa)](#insight-knowledge-of-rise-and-fall--udayabbaya---a-)
* [Chapter 7](#chapter-7)
+ [Summary by u/filpt](#summary-by-u-filpt-5)
- [Contemplating the 3 Universal Characteristics - impermanence, unsatisfactoriness and not-self](#contemplating-the-3-universal-characteristics---impermanence--unsatisfactoriness-and-not-self)
- [The other 4 Main Contemplations](#the-other-4-main-contemplations)
- [The other 11 great insight knowledges](#the-other-11-great-insight-knowledges)
- [Conclusion](#conclusion-1)
+ [Summary by u/TetrisMcKenna](#summary-by-u-tetrismckenna-5)
- [The Eighteen Great Insight Knowledges](#the-eighteen-great-insight-knowledges)
- [Contemplation of impermanence (Perception of permanence)](#contemplation-of-impermanence--perception-of-permanence-)
- [Contemplation of unsatisfactoriness (Perception of satisfaction)](#contemplation-of-unsatisfactoriness--perception-of-satisfaction-)
- [Contemplation of not-self (Perception of self)](#contemplation-of-not-self--perception-of-self-)
- [... disenchantment (... delight)](#-disenchantment---delight-)
- [Dispassion (passion)](#dispassion--passion-)
- [Cessation (origination)](#cessation--origination-)
- [Relinquishment (grasping)](#relinquishment--grasping-)
- [The 3, 7 and 11 contemplations](#the-3--7-and-11-contemplations)
- [Destruction (solidity)](#destruction--solidity-)
- [Fall (accumulation of kamma)](#fall--accumulation-of-kamma-)
- [Change (stability)](#change--stability-)
- [Signless (sign)](#signless--sign-)
- [Desireless (desire)](#desireless--desire-)
- [Emptiness (adherence)](#emptiness--adherence-)
- [Higher wisdom phenomena (Grasping after substance)](#higher-wisdom-phenomena--grasping-after-substance-)
- [Knowledge and vision of things as they really are (Delusion)](#knowledge-and-vision-of-things-as-they-really-are--delusion-)
- [Danger (Reliance)](#danger--reliance-)
- [Reflection (Nonreflection)](#reflection--nonreflection-)
- [Turning away (Bondage)](#turning-away--bondage-)
+ [Summary by u/xugan97](#summary-by-u-xugan97-5)
- [The 18 mahā-vipassanā](#the-18-mah--vipassan-)
- [The three characteristics](#the-three-characteristics)
- [The 18 mahā-vipassanā vs. the Progress of Insight](#the-18-mah--vipassan--vs-the-progress-of-insight)
* [Footnotes](#footnotes)

</details>


## Preface

@@ -11,36 +11,6 @@ bookToc: true
*Download this text in e-book format: [epub](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/epub/Fundamentals%20of%20Vipassana%20Meditation%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.epub) | [azw3 (kindle)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/azw3/Fundamentals%20of%20Vipassana%20Meditation%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.azw3) | [mobi (kindle old format)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/mobi/Fundamentals%20of%20Vipassana%20Meditation%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.mobi) | [md (source)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/md/Fundamentals%20of%20Vipassana%20Meditation%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.md)*\
<sub>***e-book version:*** *1.9 - 2029-02-05*</sub>

<details>
<summary>ToC</summary>

* [A Word from the Translator](#a-word-from-the-translator)
* [Introductory](#introductory)
* [Calm and Insight](#calm-and-insight)
* [Aggregates](#aggregates)
* [Knowledge and Freedom](#knowledge-and-freedom)
* [The Right Method](#the-right-method)
* [What For and What Time?](#what-for-and-what-time-)
* [Origination](#origination)
* [How Grasping Arises](#how-grasping-arises)
* [Meditate Right Now](#meditate-right-now)
* [Incessant Work](#incessant-work)
* [Things Fall Apart](#things-fall-apart)
* [Impermanence](#impermanence)
* [Rediscovery](#rediscovery)
* [Peace at Last](#peace-at-last)
* [Progress](#progress)
* [Noble Path](#noble-path)
* [Words of Encouragement](#words-of-encouragement)
+ [The Young Weaver](#the-young-weaver)
+ [The Dull Young Monk](#the-dull-young-monk)
+ [A Disciple of Sāriputta Thera](#a-disciple-of-sāriputta-thera)
+ [Uposathā the Goddess](#uposath--the-goddess)
+ [Truths](#truths)
* [Appendix](#appendix)
+ [Glossary](#glossary)
</details>

## A Word from the Translator

“The Fundamentals of Vipassana Meditation” is a series of lectures delivered by the Venerable Mahasi Sayadaw during the New Year Holidays of the Burmese Era 1320 (1959). The lectures first appeared in book form in 1961, and have ever since enjoyed such popularity with the readers that they have run into several editions. This is their first English translation.
@@ -10,21 +10,6 @@ bookToc: true

**Author: [Sayadaw U Pandita](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/U_Pandita)**

<details>
<summary>ToC</summary>

* [Introduction](#introduction)
* [Qualities Needed During Meditation Practice](#qualities-needed-during-meditation-practice)
* [The Practice of Insight Meditation](#the-practice-of-insight-meditation)
* [Basic Instructions for Insight Meditation](#basic-instructions-for-insight-meditation)
+ [Posture](#posture)
+ [Primary Object](#primary-object)
* [How to Deal with Other Objects](#how-to-deal-with-other-objects)
* [Mental Factors for Success](#mental-factors-for-success)
* [Schedule on Retreat](#schedule-on-retreat)
* [Walking Meditation Instructions](#walking-meditation-instructions)
</details>

## Introduction

With every moment of noting an object, a meditator who practices insight meditation enters the noble eightfold path, the way of release from suffering. In our tradition, the primary object of attention is the rising and falling of the abdomen due to the breathing process. Each time a meditator notes the rising and falling of the abdomen, he or she has to make an effort to reach the object. In the language of the noble eightfold path, this is known as right effort. The effort expended allows the meditator to observe and remember the object. Distraction is reduced; one begins to be able to sustain attentive mindfulness on the object. Eventually mindfulness arises continuously. This, in the language of the noble eightfold path, is right mindfulness. When mindfulness is continuous and sustained, then gradually the mind will begin to stay on the object in a fixed manner. This, again in the language of the noble eightfold path, is right concentration.
@@ -9,20 +9,6 @@ bookToc: true

**Author: [Yuttadhammo Bhikkhu](https://yuttadhammo.sirimangalo.org/p/about.html)**

<details>
<summary>ToC</summary>

* [What is Meditation](#what-is-meditation)
* [Sitting Meditation](#sitting-meditation)
* [Walking Meditation](#walking-meditation)
* [Fundamentals](#fundamentals)
* [Mindful Prostration](#mindful-prostration)
* [Daily Life](#daily-life)
* [Appendix](#appendix)
+ [Footnotes](#footnotes)
+ [Illustrations](#illustrations)
</details>

## What is Meditation

This book is meant to serve as an introductory discourse on how to meditate for those with little or no experience in the practice of meditation, as well as those who are experienced in other types of meditation but interested in learning a new meditation technique. In this first chapter, I will explain what meditation is, and how one should go about practicing it.
@@ -10,20 +10,6 @@ bookToc: true
*Download this text in e-book format: [epub](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/epub/Practical%20Insight%20Meditation_%20Basic%20Practice%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.epub) | [azw3 (kindle)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/azw3/Practical%20Insight%20Meditation_%20Basic%20Practice%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.azw3) | [mobi (kindle old format)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/mobi/Practical%20Insight%20Meditation_%20Basic%20Practice%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.mobi) | [md (source)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/md/Practical%20Insight%20Meditation_%20Basic%20Practice%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.md)*\
<sub>***e-book version:*** *2.4 - 2019-12-29*</sub>

<details>
<summary>ToC</summary>

* [Preface](#preface)
* [Prepatory Stage](#prepatory-stage)
* [Basic Exercise I](#basic-exercise-i)
* [Basic Exercise II](#basic-exercise-ii)
* [Basic Exercise III](#basic-exercise-iii)
* [Advancement in Contemplation](#advancement-in-contemplation)
* [Basic Exercise IV](#basic-exercise-iv)
* [Summary](#summary)
* [Footnotes](#footnotes)
</details>

## Preface

It is a truism to say that nobody likes suffering and everybody seeks happiness. In this world of ours, human beings are making all possible efforts for prevention and alleviation of suffering, and enjoyment of happiness. Nevertheless, their efforts are mainly directed towards physical well-being by material means. Happiness is, after all, conditioned by attitudes of mind, and yet only a few persons give real thought to mental development, fewer still practice mind training in earnest.
@@ -11,27 +11,6 @@ bookToc: true
*Download this text in e-book format: [epub](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/epub/Practical%20Insight%20Meditation_%20Progressive%20Practice%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.epub) | [azw3 (kindle)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/azw3/Practical%20Insight%20Meditation_%20Progressive%20Practice%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.azw3) | [mobi (kindle old format)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/mobi/Practical%20Insight%20Meditation_%20Progressive%20Practice%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.mobi) | [md (source)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/md/Practical%20Insight%20Meditation_%20Progressive%20Practice%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.md)*\
<sub>***e-book version:*** *1.7 - 2019-12-29*</sub>


<details>
<summary>ToC</summary>

* [Progressive Practice](#progressive-practice)
* [How Nirvana is Realized](#how-nirvana-is-realized)
+ [Fruition Knowledge *(phala-ñana)*](#fruition-knowledge---phala--ana--)
+ [Reviewing](#reviewing)
+ [How to Attain to the Higher Paths (Maggas)](#how-to-attain-to-the-higher-paths--maggas-)
+ [Advice](#advice)
+ [A Special Note](#a-special-note)
* [APPENDIX](#appendix)
+ [Techniques of Meditation](#techniques-of-meditation)
+ [Rising and Falling Movement of the Abdomen](#rising-and-falling-movement-of-the-abdomen)
+ [Starting with Materiality](#starting-with-materiality)
+ [Contemplation on the Arising at the Six Sense Doors](#contemplation-on-the-arising-at-the-six-sense-doors)
+ [Insight Meditations Without Prior Jhana Development](#insight-meditations-without-prior-jhana-development)
+ [Attainment of Purity of Mind by Access Concentration](#attainment-of-purity-of-mind-by-access-concentration)
</details>


## Progressive Practice

When as mentioned above, by dint of diligent practice, mindfulness and concentration have improved, the meditator will notice the pairwise occurrence of an object and the knowing of it, such as the rising and awareness of it, the falling and awareness of it, sitting and awareness of it, bending and awareness of it, stretching and awareness of it, lifting and awareness of it, putting down and awareness of it. Through concentrated attention (mindfulness) he knows how to distinguish each bodily and mental process: "The rising movement is one process; the knowing of it is another." He realizes that each act of knowing has the nature of "going towards an object." Such a realization refers to the characteristic function of the mind as inclining towards an object, or cognizing an object. One should know that the more clearly a material object is noticed, the clearer becomes the mental process of knowing it. This fact is stated thus in the Visuddhi Magga:
@@ -11,21 +11,6 @@ bookToc: true
*Download this text in e-book format: [epub](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/epub/Practical%20Vipassana%20Meditation%20Exercises%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.epub) | [azw3 (kindle)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/azw3/Practical%20Vipassana%20Meditation%20Exercises%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.azw3) | [mobi (kindle old format)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/mobi/Practical%20Vipassana%20Meditation%20Exercises%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.mobi) | [md (source)](https://mahasivipassana.com/downloads/md/Practical%20Vipassana%20Meditation%20Exercises%20-%20Mahasi%20Sayadaw.md)*\
<sub>***e-book version:*** *1.6 - 2019-12-30*</sub>

<details>
<summary>ToC</summary>

* [Preface](#preface)
* [Mental Noting](#mental-noting)
* [Noting Thoughts](#noting-thoughts)
* [Pain and Discomfort](#pain-and-discomfort)
* [Changing Your Posture](#changing-your-posture)
* [Walking Meditation](#walking-meditation)
* [Continuity of Practice](#continuity-of-practice)
* [Mindfulness of Daily Activities](#mindfulness-of-daily-activities)
* [Summary](#summary)
* [The arising of Insight](#the-arising-of-insight)
</details>

## Preface
The following is a talk by the Ven Mahāsī Sayādaw Agga Mahā Paṇḍita U Sobhana given to his disciples on their induction into Vipassanā Meditation at Sāsana Yeikthā Meditation Centre, Yangon, Myanmar. It was translated from the Burmese by U Nyi Nyi.

@@ -12,29 +12,6 @@ bookToc: true
<sub>***e-book version:*** *1.8 - 2019-12-30*</sub>
<br>

<details>
<summary>ToC</summary>

* [Introduction](#introduction)
* [Satipatthana Vipassana](#satipatthana-vipassana)
* [The Development of Wisdom](#the-development-of-wisdom)
+ [Seeing](#seeing)
+ [Hearing, Etc.](#hearing-etc)
+ [Mind](#mind)
* [The Beginner's Exercise](#the-beginner-s-exercise)
+ [Sitting](#sitting)
+ [Rising-Falling](#rising-falling)
+ [Outline of Basic Exercises](#outline-of-basic-exercises)
* [Other Exercises](#other-exercises)
+ [Walking](#walking)
+ [Sitting](#sitting-1)
+ [Lying Down](#lying-down)
+ [Sleep](#sleep)
+ [Waking](#waking)
+ [Washing and Eating](#washing-and-eating)
* [Summary of Essential Points](#summary-of-essential-points)
</details>

## Introduction

On the personal request of the Honorable U Nu, Prime Minister, and Thado Thiri Thudhamma Sir U Thwin, President of the Buddha Sasananuggaha Association, the Venerable Mahasi Sayadaw, Bhadanta Sobhana Mahathera, came down from Shwebo to Rangoon on 10th November 1949. The Meditation Centre at the Thathana Yeiktha, Hermitage Road, Rangoon, was formally opened on 4th December 1949, when the Mahasi Sayadaw began to give to fifteen devotees a methodical training in the right system of Satipatthana Vipassana.

0 comments on commit fa331b8

Please sign in to comment.
You can’t perform that action at this time.