New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

convert: In `auto` mode, respect `import.move` by deleting old files #2947

Open
Sirove opened this Issue Jun 7, 2018 · 5 comments

Comments

Projects
None yet
4 participants
@Sirove
Copy link

Sirove commented Jun 7, 2018

The relevant parts of my config:

import:
    move: yes

plugins: convert

convert:
    auto: yes
    max_bitrate: 192
    format: mp3

If the imported mp3 file has a bitrate under 192 it gets moved unconverted as desired.
If it's higher than that the old file remains inside the source folder after the successful conversion and the new file get's copied to the destination folder. It acts like the copy flag. The output shows:

convert: Encoding D:\Test\Test.mp3
convert: Finished encoding D:\Test\Test.mp3

@sampsyo

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Member

sampsyo commented Jun 7, 2018

Interesting point! This does seem wrong. For consistency, would you want transcoded files to have their originals deleted—so that the importer always appears to “move” the files?

@sampsyo sampsyo added the needinfo label Jun 7, 2018

@Sirove

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

Sirove commented Jun 7, 2018

Absolutely! You could add an plugin option to ignore the global flag but otherwise it should definitely prioritize the global import settings.

@sampsyo sampsyo changed the title Convert Plugin ignores move flag convert: In `auto` mode, respect `import.move` by deleting old files Jun 7, 2018

@sampsyo sampsyo added feature and removed needinfo labels Jun 7, 2018

@sampsyo

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Member

sampsyo commented Jun 7, 2018

Sounds good; thanks for clarifying!

@rnd256

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

rnd256 commented Aug 18, 2018

+1 to this feature request!

Better yet, instead of just deleting the source files, providing the option to move the source files to another dir would be excellent. So I can still have the sources around if needed, but they would be moved out of my "Things to process" dir.

@Satris404

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

Satris404 commented Oct 12, 2018

Has there been any news about this feature request? I'm facing the same issue

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment