Join GitHub today
GitHub is home to over 40 million developers working together to host and review code, manage projects, and build software together.Sign up
Reassign Content dialog is unclear / overlooked #5293
Over the years in both Craft and EE, my clients always seem to ignore or mis-interpret the option that appears when deleting a user asking them if they'd like to reassign the user's content to someone else or delete it (I suspect from the author's point of view, if they're not paying 100% attention and don't actually read the message, they instinctively think that it's just another confirmation button asking if they're sure they want to proceed with deleting the user.
The UX in this area is exacerbated by the fact that the exact same 'reassign content' modal window appears even when deleting users who have no content, so for an editor who is going through methodically deleting old user accounts, they will become accustomed to always choosing the 'delete' option, even though once in a while they'll come across a back-end CP user who does have some content which should be reassigned.
My usual recommendation to clients is to never delete back-end users and instead always keep them in a suspended status so that an accurate history of entry authorship is maintained, however, you can understand why for regulatory reasons some industries may be required to 'hard delete' inactive users.
Part of the reason we added soft-delete support in Craft 3.1 was for this issue. At least there is a way to “undo” the user/entry deletion now. But I agree it could be more clear what exactly is going to be deleted/transferred.
This is also related to commerce#1048, where users that have had any Commerce subscriptions aren’t able to be deleted at all.
We are thinking we will tackle both of them in Craft 4 by replacing the current delete confirmation dialog with a modal that lists any issues that are preventing the user from being deleted, with inline quick actions for resolving them, one-by-one. If a user has any entries, the quick action will be to view those entries, and from there, you’ll be able to batch-reassign them to someone else.