Skip to content


Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with HTTPS or Subversion.

Download ZIP
Main repository for Csound

Fetching latest commit…

Cannot retrieve the latest commit at this time

Failed to load latest commit information.
Engine attempted to free typetable at the end of the compilation
H Added initial implementation of padsynth GEN routine.
InOut correctuins to short form copyright system
OOps tabs
OSX Added the Trapped Generator to the OSX Examples
Opcodes Corrected profile function in padsynth_gen.cpp.
Release_Notes spelling check
SDIF various fixes and patches for coverity
SuSE building rpm
Top attempted to call symbtab only once per initialisation
android trying to minimise memory consumption on successive compilations
cmake Fix for ftgenonce EVTBLK comparison.
dependencies adjusted libpng URL for depency
doc Fixes for new doc dir structure.
emscripten Added get table by number
etc no message
examples coverity fix + fix cmake for cuda compilation
frontends Merge branch 'develop' of into develop
iOS Added the Trapped Generator to the OSX Examples
include moved symbtab to csound struct
installer Enable plugin ftables and string parameters for ftgenonce.
interfaces added denormals macro to all threads
mingw64-linux fixed error in extract.c
nacl fixed console
pluginSDK fix OENTRY missing field
po Translation updated
samples added new hrtfopcodes and updated data files
tests added unistd.h to fix compile error
to_cleanup recover
util longlines erc
util1 a few resourse issues from coverity
util2 ...
.gitignore Rewritten api, new example page
.travis.yml attempt to fix travis build by installing gcc-4.8
AUTHORS Add const to decalrations Update
BUILDING_FOR_ANDROID More fixes for building Csound 6 for Android on MinGW.
CMakeLists.txt removed -std=gnu++11 on Linux as not all systems support it
COPYING Removed more macros
ChangeLog faster code
Custom.cmake.ex removed extraneous tests from Custom.cmake.ex that are already done i…
How_to_Build_Csound_and_CsoundQt_on_Windows.doc Enable plugin ftables and string parameters for ftgenonce.
LICENCE.random Removed statics; strings;optimisations
LICENSE.FLTK no message
LICENSE.PortAudio no message
LICENSE.PortMidi no message Version number.
all_string_files add padsynth file to list
brkpt ... recover Restored scripts
linseg ...
longline.c Changed compiler options for GCC bug 48659. Removed some errors and w…
mkdb.c restored deletions
tabdes spaces and tabs


Version 6.04.0

Build Status Coverity Status

A user-programmable and user-extensible sound processing language and software synthesizer.

Csound is copyright (c) 1991 Barry Vercoe, John ffitch.

Csound is free software; you can redistribute them and/or modify them under the terms of the GNU Lesser General Public License as published by the Free Software Foundation; either version 2.1 of the License, or (at your option) any later version.

Csound is distributed in the hope that they will be useful, but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the GNU Lesser General Public License for more details.

You should have received a copy of the GNU Lesser General Public License along with this software; if not, write to the Free Software Foundation, Inc., 59 Temple Place, Suite 330, Boston, MA 02111-1307 USA


CsoundQt, a graphical shell for Csound, makes an excellent place to begin the exploration of Csound, especially because CsoundQt has an extensive menu of built-in examples that show off Csound's capabilities. Many musicians make CsoundQt their main Csound environment, although there are other excellent environments. CsoundQt runs not only Csound code, but also Python scripts.

The examples directory contains numerous working Csound orchestras and even complete pieces. The examples/Boulanger_Examples directory contains hundreds of working Csound orchestras.

The doc/manual/html/indexframes.html file is the front page to the Csound Reference Manual.

This version of Csound is programmable in Python, Java, Lua, and LISP, and scores can be generated in these languages.

The doc/manual/api/index.html file is the front page to the C/C++ Csound and Csound API application programming interfaces reference, but it is also helpful when programming Csound in other languages.


Csound contains contributions from musicians, scientists, and programmers from around the world. They include (but are not limited to):

  • Allan Lee
  • Bill Gardner
  • Bill Verplank
  • Dan Ellis
  • David Macintyre
  • Eli Breder
  • Gabriel Maldonado
  • Greg Sullivan
  • Hans Mikelson
  • Istvan Varga
  • Jean Piché
  • John ffitch
  • John Ramsdell
  • Marc Resibois
  • Mark Dolson
  • Matt Ingalls
  • Max Mathews
  • Michael Casey
  • Michael Clark
  • Michael Gogins
  • Mike Berry
  • Paris Smaragdis
  • Perry Cook
  • Peter Neubäcker
  • Peter Nix
  • Rasmus Ekman
  • Richard Dobson
  • Richard Karpen
  • Rob Shaw
  • Robin Whittle
  • Sean Costello
  • Steven Yi
  • Tom Erbe
  • Victor Lazzarini
  • Ville Pulkki
  • Andres Cabrera
  • Felipe Sataler
  • Ian McCurdy
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.