Skip to content

HTTPS clone URL

Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with HTTPS or Subversion.

Download ZIP
Fetching contributors…

Cannot retrieve contributors at this time

190 lines (169 sloc) 6.533 kb
Django was originally created in late 2003 at World Online, the Web division
of the Lawrence Journal-World newspaper in Lawrence, Kansas.
The PRIMARY AUTHORS are (and/or have been):
Adrian Holovaty <http://www.holovaty.com/>, who originally created Django with
Simon and currently oversees things with Jacob.
Simon Willison <http://simon.incutio.com/>, who originally created Django with
Adrian during his year-long internship/placement at World Online and currently
helps from the sidelines.
Jacob Kaplan-Moss <http://www.jacobian.org/>, who joined the team shortly
before Simon departed and currently oversees things with Adrian.
Wilson Miner <http://www.wilsonminer.com/>, who designed Django's admin
interface, pretty error pages, official Web site (djangoproject.com) and has
made many other contributions. He makes us look good.
Malcolm Tredinnick <http://www.pointy-stick.com/blog/>, who has made
significant contributions to all levels of the framework, from its database
layer to template system and documentation.
Georg "Hugo" Bauer <http://hugo.muensterland.org/>, who added
internationalization support, manages i18n contributions and has made a ton
of excellent tweaks, feature additions and bug fixes.
Luke Plant <http://lukeplant.me.uk/>, who has contributed many excellent
improvements, including database-level improvements, the CSRF middleware and
unit tests.
Russell Keith-Magee <freakboy@iinet.net.au>, who has contributed many excellent
improvements, including refactoring of the Django ORM code and unit tests.
Robert Wittams <http://robert.wittams.com/>, who majorly refactored the Django
admin application to allow for easier reuse and has made a ton of excellent
tweaks, feature additions and bug fixes.
And here is an inevitably incomplete list of MUCH-APPRECIATED CONTRIBUTORS --
people who have submitted patches, reported bugs, added translations, helped
answer newbie questions, and generally made Django that much better:
adurdin@gmail.com
akaihola
Andreas
ant9000@netwise.it
David Ascher <http://ascher.ca/>
Arthur <avandorp@gmail.com>
Jiri Barton
Ned Batchelder <http://www.nedbatchelder.com/>
Shannon -jj Behrens <http://jjinux.blogspot.com/>
Esdras Beleza <linux@esdrasbeleza.com>
James Bennett
Paul Bissex <http://e-scribe.com/>
Simon Blanchard
Andrew Brehaut <http://brehaut.net/blog>
andy@jadedplanet.net
Antonio Cavedoni <http://cavedoni.com/>
C8E
Chris Chamberlin <dja@cdc.msbx.net>
Amit Chakradeo <http://amit.chakradeo.net/>
ChaosKCW
Ian Clelland <clelland@gmail.com>
crankycoder@gmail.com
Matt Croydon <http://www.postneo.com/>
dackze+django@gmail.com
Jonathan Daugherty (cygnus) <http://www.cprogrammer.org/>
Jason Davies (Esaj) <http://www.jasondavies.com/>
Alex Dedul
deric@monowerks.com
dne@mayonnaise.net
Maximillian Dornseif <md@hudora.de>
dummy@habmalnefrage.de
Jeremy Dunck <http://dunck.us/>
Andy Dustman <farcepest@gmail.com>
Clint Ecker
Enrico <rico.bl@gmail.com>
favo@exoweb.net
gandalf@owca.info
Baishampayan Ghose
martin.glueck@gmail.com
Simon Greenhill <dev@simon.net.nz>
Espen Grindhaug <http://grindhaug.org/>
Brant Harris
Hawkeye
heckj@mac.com
Joel Heenan <joelh-django@planetjoel.com>
hipertracker@gmail.com
Ian Holsman <http://feh.holsman.net/>
Kieran Holland <http://www.kieranholland.com>
Robert Rock Howard <http://djangomojo.com/>
Jason Huggins <http://www.jrandolph.com/blog/>
Baurzhan Ismagulov <ibr@radix50.net>
jcrasta@gmail.com
Michael Josephson <http://www.sdjournal.com/>
jpellerin@gmail.com
junzhang.jn@gmail.com
Garth Kidd <http://www.deadlybloodyserious.com/>
kilian <kilian.cavalotti@lip6.fr>
Sune Kirkeby <http://ibofobi.dk/>
Cameron Knight (ckknight)
Meir Kriheli <http://mksoft.co.il/>
Bruce Kroeze <http://coderseye.com/>
Joseph Kocherhans
konrad@gwu.edu
lakin.wecker@gmail.com
Stuart Langridge <http://www.kryogenix.org/>
Eugene Lazutkin <http://lazutkin.com/blog/>
Jeong-Min Lee <falsetru@gmail.com>
Christopher Lenz <http://www.cmlenz.net/>
lerouxb@gmail.com
limodou
mattmcc
Martin Maney <http://www.chipy.org/Martin_Maney>
masonsimon+django@gmail.com
Manuzhai
Petar Marić
mark@junklight.com
Yasushi Masuda <whosaysni@gmail.com>
mattycakes@gmail.com
Jason McBrayer <http://www.carcosa.net/jason/>
mccutchen@gmail.com
michael.mcewan@gmail.com
mitakummaa@gmail.com
mmarshall
Eric Moritz <http://eric.themoritzfamily.com/>
Robin Munn <http://www.geekforgod.com/>
Nebojša Dorđević
Fraser Nevett <mail@nevett.org>
Sam Newman <http://www.magpiebrain.com/>
Neal Norwitz <nnorwitz@google.com>
oggie rob <oz.robharvey@gmail.com>
Jay Parlar <parlar@gmail.com>
pgross@thoughtworks.com
phaedo <http://phaedo.cx/>
phil@produxion.net
Gustavo Picon
Luke Plant <http://lukeplant.me.uk/>
plisk
Daniel Poelzleithner <http://poelzi.org/>
J. Rademaker
Michael Radziej <mir@noris.de>
ramiro
Brian Ray <http://brianray.chipy.org/>
rhettg@gmail.com
Oliver Rutherfurd <http://rutherfurd.net/>
Ivan Sagalaev (Maniac) <http://www.softwaremaniacs.org/>
David Schein
serbaut@gmail.com
Pete Shinners <pete@shinners.org>
SmileyChris <smileychris@gmail.com>
sopel
Thomas Steinacher <tom@eggdrop.ch>
nowell strite
Radek Švarz <http://www.svarz.cz/translate/>
Swaroop C H <http://www.swaroopch.info>
Aaron Swartz <http://www.aaronsw.com/>
Tyson Tate <tyson@fallingbullets.com>
Tom Tobin
Tom Insam
Joe Topjian <http://joe.terrarum.net/geek/code/python/django/>
Karen Tracey <graybark@bellsouth.net>
Makoto Tsuyuki <mtsuyuki@gmail.com>
Amit Upadhyay
Geert Vanderkelen
Milton Waddams
wam-djangobug@wamber.net
Dan Watson <http://theidioteque.net/>
Rachel Willmer <http://www.willmer.com/kb/>
Gary Wilson <gary.wilson@gmail.com>
wojtek
ye7cakf02@sneakemail.com
ymasuda@ethercube.com
Cheng Zhang
A big THANK YOU goes to:
Rob Curley and Ralph Gage for letting us open-source Django.
Frank Wiles for making excellent arguments for open-sourcing, and for
his sage sysadmin advice.
Ian Bicking for convincing Adrian to ditch code generation.
Mark Pilgrim for diveintopython.org.
Guido van Rossum for creating Python.
Jump to Line
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.