Skip to content
New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

QUEST - reading and editing the Octane Guides preview #588

Open
jenweber opened this Issue Mar 12, 2019 · 25 comments

Comments

Projects
None yet
@jenweber
Copy link
Contributor

jenweber commented Mar 12, 2019

Hello! Thanks in advance for your help! While Octane isn't officially released, and won't be for a while, we are providing a "preview" period where adventurous devs can try it out, and they need guides documentation! A lot of work has already been done, so at this stage, we are looking for people to read the draft of the Octane guides and help us fix errors and fill in the blanks. Can you help us polish things up? Word choice doesn't matter much, so if you see stylistic improvements, please open an issue instead of including them in a PR. However spelling, typo fixes, and and factual accuracy are very important and we would love your help with those.

All work should be done by branching from octane in this repository, and all PRs should be pointed at octane, not master. See #583 for ideas of what to look for, and links to a script that will aggregate code blocks, if that is useful to you. Thank you!!!

If you can help, please comment on this issue to say which page within the guides you can review. In your comment, post a link. When you have a PR, in the description please link to this issue.

List of pages that may need volunteers

(read comments below to see if they are taken)

  • "Getting Started", url: 'getting-started'
    • "Quick Start", url: "quick-start", #590
    • "Installing Ember", url: "index", checked during #590
    • "Core Concepts", url: "core-concepts" - needs an updated image
  • "Anatomy of an App", url: "anatomy-of-an-app"
    • "Overview", url: "index"
  • "Templating", url: 'templates'
    • "Templating Basics", url: "handlebars-basics" #598
    • "Conditionals", url: "conditionals" #598
    • "Displaying a List of Items", url: "displaying-a-list-of-items" #598
    • "Displaying the Keys in an Object", url: "displaying-the-keys-in-an-object" #598
    • "Binding Element Attributes", url: "binding-element-attributes" #598
    • "Actions", url: "actions" #598
    • "Built-in Helpers", url: "built-in-helpers" #598
    • "Writing Helpers", url: "writing-helpers" #598 and #597
  • "Working with JavaScript", url: 'working-with-javascript'
    • "Learning JavaScript", url: "learning-javascript"
    • "Native Classes", url: "native-classes" #596
    • "Classic Classes", url: "classic-classes" #596
    • "Native vs. Classic Class Cheatsheet", url: "native-vs-classic-class-cheatsheet" #596
  • "Components", url: 'components'
    • "Component Basics", url: "component-basics"
    • "Defining a Component", url: "defining-a-component" #602
    • "Arguments and Attributes", url: "arguments-and-attributes" #604
    • "Actions", url: "actions"
    • "Yields", url: "yields"
    • "Interacting with the DOM", url: "interacting-with-the-dom"
    • "Contextual Components", url: "contextual-components"
    • "Classic Components", url: "classsic-components"
  • "Routing", url: 'routing'
    • "Introduction", url: "index"
    • "Defining Your Routes", url: "defining-your-routes"
    • "Specifying a Route's Model", url: "specifying-a-routes-model"
    • "Rendering a Template", url: "rendering-a-template"
    • "Redirecting", url: "redirection"
    • "Preventing and Retrying Transitions", url: "preventing-and-retrying-transitions"
      isAdvanced: true
    • "Loading / Error Substates", url: "loading-and-error-substates"
      isAdvanced: true
    • "Query Parameters", url: "query-params"
    • "Asynchronous Routing", url: "asynchronous-routing"
      isAdvanced: true
    • "Controllers", url: 'controllers'
  • "State Management", url: 'state-management'
    • "Overview", url: "index" #595
    • "Tracked Properties", url: "tracked-properties" #606
    • "Patterns for State", url: "patterns-for-state" #580
    • "Computed Properties", url: "computed-properties"
  • "Services", url: 'services'
    • Introduction, url: "services" #590 and #590
  • 'Data Management', url: 'data-management'
  • "Ember Data", url: 'models'
    • "Introduction", url: "index" #629
    • "Defining Models", url: "defining-models"
    • "Finding Records", url: "finding-records"
    • "Creating, Updating and Deleting", url: "creating-updating-and-deleting-records"
    • "Relationships", url: "relationships"
    • "Pushing Records into the Store", url: "pushing-records-into-the-store"
      isAdvanced: true
    • "Handling Metadata", url: "handling-metadata"
      isAdvanced: true
    • "Customizing Adapters", url: "customizing-adapters" #578 and #577
      isAdvanced: true
    • "Customizing Serializers", url: "customizing-serializers"
      isAdvanced: true
  • "Addons and Dependencies", url: "addons-and-dependencies"
    • "Managing Dependencies", url: "managing-dependencies"
  • "Testing", url: 'testing'
    • "Introduction", url: "index" #594
    • "Application Tests", url: "acceptance" #594
    • "Testing Basics", url: "unit-testing-basics" #594
    • "Testing Components", url: "testing-components" #594
    • "Testing Helpers", url: "testing-helpers" #594
    • "Testing Controllers", url: "testing-controllers" #594
    • "Testing Routes", url: "testing-routes" #594
    • "Testing Models", url: "testing-models" #594
  • "Configuration", url: 'configuring-ember'
    • "Configuring Your App", url: "configuring-your-app" #665
    • "Configuring Ember CLI", url: "configuring-ember-cli" #665
    • "Handling Deprecations", url: "handling-deprecations" #665
    • "Disabling Prototype Extensions", url: "disabling-prototype-extensions"
    • "Specifying the URL Type", url: "specifying-url-type"
    • "Embedding Applications", url: "embedding-applications"
    • "Feature Flags", url: "feature-flags"
      isAdvanced: true
    • "Optional Features", url: "optional-features"
      isAdvanced: true
    • "Build targets", url: "build-targets"
    • "Debugging", url: "debugging"
  • "Deploying", url: 'deploying'
    • "Overview", url: "index"
  • "Upgrading", url: 'upgrading'
    • "Overview", url: 'index'
    • "Editions", url: 'editions' #593 and #580
    • "Deprecations", url: 'deprecations'
  • "Developer Tools", url: "ember-inspector"
    • "Introduction", url: "index"
    • "Installing the Inspector", url: "installation"
    • "Object Inspector", url: "object-inspector"
    • "The Component Tree", url: "component-tree"
    • "The View Tree", url: "view-tree"
    • "Inspecting Routes", url: "routes"
    • "Data Tab", url: "data"
    • "Tackling Deprecations", url: "deprecations"
    • "Library Info", url: "info"
    • "Debugging Promises", url: "promises"
    • "Inspecting Objects via the Container", url: "container"
    • "Rendering Performance", url: "render-performance"
    • "Troubleshooting", url: "troubleshooting"
  • "Contributing to Ember.js", url: 'contributing' #623
    isAdvanced: true
    • "Adding New Features", url: "adding-new-features"
    • "Repositories", url: "repositories"
  • "Glossary", url: "glossary"
    • "Web Development", url: "web-development"
  • 'Reference', url: 'reference'
    • "Syntax Conversion Guide", url: "syntax-conversion-guide"
    • "Accessibility Guide", url: "accessibility-guide"

the-beacons-are-lit

@muziejus

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

muziejus commented Mar 12, 2019

I can do getting started and services, if that's ok?

@jenweber

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor Author

jenweber commented Mar 13, 2019

Thank you! I updated the list with your work!

@jessica-jordan jessica-jordan referenced this issue Mar 13, 2019

Merged

The Ember Times No. 89 - March 15th 2019 #3

9 of 15 tasks complete
@muziejus

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

muziejus commented Mar 13, 2019

I'll do the testing section next.

@betocantu93

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

betocantu93 commented Mar 13, 2019

I can do components section

@mixonic

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor

mixonic commented Mar 13, 2019

I'm going through "templating" right now. We will see if I am on track!

@dennismende

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

dennismende commented Mar 14, 2019

I will do Data Management and Ember Data till Friday.

@richard-viney

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

richard-viney commented Mar 14, 2019

I'll review the "Working with JavaScript" section.

@kgautreaux

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

kgautreaux commented Mar 14, 2019

I have submitted a PR for "tracked-properties" so I can claim that post-hoc.

rwjblue added a commit that referenced this issue Mar 15, 2019

Merge pull request #590 from muziejus/octane
#588 Reading of "Getting Started" and "Services"

Co-authored-by: Robert Jackson <me@rwjblue.com>

jenweber added a commit that referenced this issue Mar 15, 2019

#588 components/arguments-and-attributes (#604)
* Refactor MU filenames

* add dots for easier reading

@jenweber jenweber pinned this issue Mar 15, 2019

@mixonic

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor

mixonic commented Mar 15, 2019

I'm also doing a read through components this morning, mostly with an eye toward using actions consistently as described in #598 (comment).

tl;dr is:

  • On native class glimmer components, ember components, and controllers use the @action decorator and the element modifier {{action this.actionMethod}} passing the method.
  • On classic .extend( ember components and controllers use the actions: { hash and the {{action element modifier {{action 'actionName'}} passing the action name. This usage is no different than best practices today.

mixonic added a commit that referenced this issue Mar 15, 2019

@richard-viney

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

richard-viney commented Mar 15, 2019

@mixonic Re. recommended action syntax, I've been a little uncertain on recommended practice of late, as there appears to be no need to use the action helper unless you want to add arguments to the invocation. i.e. you can do @action onClick() {} in the component and then just onclick={{this.onClick}} in the template with no use of the action helper at all. Also if you write {{action this.onClick}} in the template then you don't actually need the @action decorator at all. The latter form does require the this. prefix though.

I wonder if we're effectively double-binding the function by using both the @action decorator as well as the action helper together with this. .. ?

@mixonic

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor

mixonic commented Mar 15, 2019

@richard-viney Please read the comment I linked to above for a more complete description of what we're suggesting for best practice and why. If you still have questions please find me in #st-octane on Discord.

🙏 I'm happy to discuss this topic but lets try to keep comments for this quest issue focused on the work at hand. 🍻

@muziejus

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

muziejus commented Mar 15, 2019

"Core Concepts", url: "core-concepts" - needs an updated image

I'll make a new image this weekend.

@betocantu93 betocantu93 referenced this issue Mar 16, 2019

Merged

#588 components/actions-and-events #626

5 of 8 tasks complete

dennismende added a commit to dennismende/guides-source that referenced this issue Mar 16, 2019

rwjblue added a commit that referenced this issue Mar 16, 2019

Merge pull request #614 from betocantu93/components/contextual-compon…
…ents

#588 components/contextual-components

dennismende added a commit to dennismende/guides-source that referenced this issue Mar 16, 2019

dennismende added a commit to dennismende/guides-source that referenced this issue Mar 16, 2019

dennismende added a commit to dennismende/guides-source that referenced this issue Mar 16, 2019

rwjblue added a commit that referenced this issue Mar 17, 2019

Merge pull request #629 from dennismende/octane-ember-data-guides-rev…
…iew-index

#588 - octane - guides update - model/index
@dennismende

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

dennismende commented Mar 17, 2019

@jenweber I took a look at

  • models/defining-models
  • models/finding-records
  • models/creating-updating-and-deleting-records
  • models/pushing-records-into-the-store
  • models/handling-metadata
    and these are all good from my side.

@efx already adjusted everything.

dennismende added a commit to dennismende/guides-source that referenced this issue Mar 17, 2019

dennismende added a commit to dennismende/guides-source that referenced this issue Mar 17, 2019

@dennismende

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

dennismende commented Mar 17, 2019

@jenweber Could you or someone else provide some guidance in regards to data-management? What is expected here?

dennismende added a commit to dennismende/guides-source that referenced this issue Mar 17, 2019

@dennismende

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

dennismende commented Mar 17, 2019

@jenweber I would start with the Routing parts but I have some questions in regards to links.

When I look at templating/links then we still use the {{link-to}} helper/component. Do we wanna change this to angle bracket syntax or not?

@Frozenfire92

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

Frozenfire92 commented Mar 17, 2019

I will go through Component Basics now

edit: in PR #637

locks added a commit that referenced this issue Mar 17, 2019

Merge pull request #636 from dennismende/octane-ember-data-guides-rev…
…iew-non-mu-file-paths

#588 - octane - guides update - non MU file paths

locks added a commit that referenced this issue Mar 17, 2019

Merge pull request #635 from dennismende/octane-ember-data-guides-rev…
…iew-customizing-serializers

#588 - octane - guides update - model/customizing-serializers
@balinterdi

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

balinterdi commented Mar 17, 2019

I'd like to do the following from the ED section:

  • Defining Models", url: "defining-models"
  • "Finding Records", url: "finding-records"
@balinterdi

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

balinterdi commented Mar 17, 2019

I just realized these were done by @efx already (as mentioned by @dennismende above). Shouldn't they be checked out?

jenweber added a commit that referenced this issue Mar 18, 2019

@mike-north

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor

mike-north commented Mar 18, 2019

I'm going through computed-properties now

@lisaychuang

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

lisaychuang commented Mar 18, 2019

I'll be adding comments to issue #633 as I go through the guides, so far I've gone through:

"Getting Started", url: 'getting-started'

  • "Quick Start", url: "quick-start"
  • "Installing Ember", url: "index"
  • "Core Concepts", url: "core-concepts"

"Anatomy of an App", url: "anatomy-of-an-app"

  • "Overview", url: "index" (this section is blank)
@jenweber

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor Author

jenweber commented Mar 18, 2019

Hey team, thanks so much for all your help! We are aiming to freeze the guides tonight, and will pick up work again after the keynote. Please make sure to rebase whatever you are working on, as some big sweeping updates just went in for spellchecks, code block accuracy, etc. I will review and hopefully merge any PRs that are open right now before the end of day.

Y'all are the best and I can't wait to show this off at EmberConf this week ❤️

@jenweber

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor Author

jenweber commented Mar 18, 2019

@dennismende to answer your questions:

  • We are skipping data management for now
  • It is unclear whether link-to will be available in angle brackets for the preview, so let's leave as curly braces for now

We got quite a few updates in for the Routing section today - let me know if you have any to add! Thank you!

@mixonic

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor

mixonic commented Mar 18, 2019

Ah, I see we won't land anything tomorrow. I'm going to take on "Configuration", and if I can get that tucked away I'll take another pass at the most important bits even if they already got 👀

@jenweber

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor Author

jenweber commented Mar 18, 2019

I'm going to keep working to merge existing PRs tomorrow morning, so for those of you who already got your work PR'd, it will make it in :)

If others like @mixonic still have time to jump in & help, reviewing other people's PRs and doing code suggestions for typos is helpful! I'm going to sleep now so I will catch y'all tomorrow. This is all super good and we are in excellent shape!

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment
You can’t perform that action at this time.
You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session. You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.