Permalink
Browse files

add summaries, rearrange chapters, improve font page

  • Loading branch information...
rdbartlett committed Sep 8, 2016
1 parent 42cfff7 commit bde6f77889172219c3d8741f494c97d1701fc77f
Showing with 74 additions and 54 deletions.
  1. +1 −0 .gitignore
  2. +24 −6 README.md
  3. +18 −36 SUMMARY.md
  4. +0 −5 culture.md
  5. +6 −1 foundation.md
  6. +12 −0 guides.md
  7. BIN 20160418_090915.jpg → images/how-money-works.jpg
  8. +8 −2 money.md
  9. +5 −4 ventures.md
@@ -1,2 +1,3 @@
_book
node_modules
.DS_Store
@@ -1,21 +1,39 @@
# Enspiral Handbook

**This book is in a very early stage of development. Much of it hasn't been written yet. Parts of it won't make sense.**

# About This Handbook
If you're looking for introductory information about Enspiral, check our website [enspiral.com](http://enspiral.com/), [this quick slideshow](http://whatis.enspiral.com), or this 90 second video:

{% video %}https://vimeo.com/125088390{% endvideo %}

This Handbook's primary audience is Enspiral contributors, but it will be publicly available for others who might find it useful. The goal is to give everyone in the network as much clarity and context as possible, while sharing our structures and practices with the outside world as well.

The information in this handbook pertains to Enspiral Foundation Limited and the Enspiral network as a whole. Many Enspiral ventures and teams will have different processes.
## About This Handbook

This Handbook's primary audience is Enspiral contributors, but it will be publicly available for others who might find it useful. The goal is to give everyone in the network as much clarity and context as possible, while sharing our structures and practices with the outside world as well.

This book is in a very early stage of development. Much of it hasn't been written yet. If you see something that could be improved: that's your invitation to improve it! [Find out more about editing the handbook](contributing.md).

---
## Structure

The book is broken up into chapters and sub-chapters. The chapters are:

* [**Agreements**](agreements.md) are the official legislation that governs the Enspiral network. Changing these requires a formal process.
* [**Guides**](guides.md) explain in practical terms how we do stuff, like [what communications tools to use](comms_guidelines.md), or [how to improve things at Enspiral](improvements.md). Any Enspiral Contributor can change these.
* [**Enspiral Foundation**](foundation.md) - the central node in the network. The [Board](board.md), [Ops Team](ops-scope.md), [Catalysts](catalysts.md), [Comms person](comms-role.md), and [Ventures](ventures.md) all have some formal arrangement with the Foundation, which is owned by all the Enspiral Members.
* [**Money**](money.md) - a lot of what makes Enspiral special is how we deal with money. Read more about those processes in this chapter.
* [**Ventures**](ventures.md) - the companies that make up the network.

{% include "./contributing.md" %}

## Other Handbooks

The information in this handbook pertains to Enspiral Foundation Limited and the Enspiral network as a whole. Many Enspiral ventures and teams will have different processes, which live in their own handbooks e.g.:

* [The Loomio Cooperative Handbook](http://loomio.coop)
* [The Enspiral Labs Handbook](http://labs-handbook.enspiral.com)

This comment has been minimized.

@niwolive

niwolive Jul 7, 2017

Member

🌈 A dusting fairy wants to help. Here is what they have to share:


@rdbartlett @joshuavial Is « Enspiral Labs » still a Thing? The repo doesn't have any activity since September 2016 and the handbook is fairly incomplete.
Also next line, the Dev Academy handbook leads to a Cloudflare 1001 DNS resolution error.

I propose to do the following (just tick the boxes of what you want done):

  • Remove line 31
  • Remove line 32

Let me know if anything else in this page needs some « dusting ».

This comment has been minimized.

@niwolive

niwolive Jul 14, 2017

Member

@rdbartlett @joshuavial Shoulder nudge :)

PS: does this box clicking thing work here? I've been using this on PR reviews on bitbucket but unsure about Github. In case you clicked anything, I still see both boxes as unclicked.

This comment has been minimized.

@rdbartlett

rdbartlett Jul 14, 2017

Contributor

Yep box ticking is a thing. I don't know if JV wants to keep either of those lines, so I abstain :)

I got a bit confused, why is this comment on an old merged commit instead of on master? I feel like I had to boot up a lot of context before I understood your question.

This comment has been minimized.

@rdbartlett

rdbartlett Jul 14, 2017

Contributor

Given what I know about me and JV, and about git, I think you can feel pretty confident to change things without us being concerned. Better to seek forgiveness than permission I reckon!

This comment has been minimized.

@niwolive

niwolive Jul 21, 2017

Member

@rdbartlett noted! The reason why I commented on the original commit is because I believe this is how Github works. I think we can only ever comment on commits in Github, not anywhere else. Commenting on a line of a file involves finding the original commit using either the History or Blame views.

I'm going ahead and making a PR of removing these two links. If I don't get any interaction on the PR within a week or so, I'll merge it in.

* [The Enspiral Dev Academy Handbook](http://handbook.devacademy.co.nz/)

There's an increasing number of companies outside of Enspiral that are also documented with public handbooks:

* [Thoughtbot Playbook](https://thoughtbot.com/playbook)
* [Valve Company Handbook](http://www.valvesoftware.com/company/Valve_Handbook_LowRes.pdf)
* [Gitlab Company Handbook](https://about.gitlab.com/handbook/)
* *if you have a handbook of your own, add it here*
@@ -1,11 +1,6 @@
# Summary

* [Introduction](README.md)
* [Context*](context.md)
* [Enspiral Vision*](enspiral_vision.md)
* [Enspiral Values](values.md)
* [Network Structure*](network_structure.md)
* [Story & Timeline*](timeline.md)
* [Agreements](agreements.md)
* [Board Agreement](board_agreement.md)
* [Brand Agreement*](brand_agreement.md)
@@ -16,43 +11,34 @@
* [People Agreement](people_agreement.md)
* [Stewardship Agreement](stewardship_agreement.md)
* [Venture Agreement](venture_agreement.md)
* [Ambassadors*](ambassadors.md)
* [Blogging](blogging.md)
* [Culture & Tools*](culture.md)
* [Guides](guides.md)
* [Ambassadors*](ambassadors.md)
* [Blogging](blogging.md)
* [Comms Guidelines](comms_guidelines.md)
* [Cultural Technology*](cultural_tech.md)* Check-ins
* 90-day planning*
* Afternoon teas*
* Agile*
* Bringing your whole self to work*
* Collaboration Cafe*
* Check-in Loomio's*
* Distributed leadership*
* Email management*
* Group Games Zine*
* [Project Kitchens](project_kitchen.md)
* Retrospectives*
* [Digital Technology*](digital_tech.md)
* [Contributing to the Handbook](contributing.md)
* [Enspiral Values](values.md)
* [Github for Beginners](github_for_beginners.md)
* [Improvements](improvements.md)
* [Onboarding Emails](onboarding-info.md)
* [People*](people.md)
* [Project Kitchens](project_kitchen.md)
* [Projects & Reports](projects_reports.md)
* [Retreats*](retreats.md)
* [Stewarding*](stewarding.md)
* [Enspiral Foundation Ltd*](foundation.md)
* [Stewarding](stewarding.md)
* [Enspiral Foundation Ltd](foundation.md)
* [Constitution](constitution.md)
* [Board of Directors](board.md)
* [Ops Scope](ops-scope.md)
* [Comms Role Scope](comms-role.md)
* [Catalysts](catalysts.md)
* [Improvements](improvements.md)
* [Money*](money.md)
* [Collaborative Funding*](collabfunding.md)
* [Money](money.md)
* [Collaborative Funding](collabfunding.md)
* [Variable Contributions](finances_variable_contributions.md)
* [Financial Transparency](financial_transparency.md)
* [People*](people.md)
* [Onboarding Emails](onboarding-info.md)
* [Ventures*](ventures.md)
* [Venture Processes*](venture_processes.md)
* [Venture Introduction Template](venture_introduction_template.md)
* [Venture MOU](venture_mou.md)
* [Ventures](ventures.md)
* [Venture Agreement](venture_agreement.md)
* [Venture Introduction Template](venture_introduction_template.md)
* [Venture MOU](venture_mou.md)
* [Venture Profiles](venture_profiles.md)
* [ActionStation](ventures/actionstation.md)
* [Bucky Box](ventures/bucky_box.md)
@@ -73,8 +59,4 @@
* [Gamelab](proto-ventures/gamelab.md)
* [Enspiral Labs](proto-ventures/enspiral-labs.md)
* [Ability Mate](proto-ventures/ability-mate.md)
* [More Info*](more_info.md)
* [Links & Media](links_media.md)
* [Glossary](glossary.md)
* [Projects & Reports](projects_reports.md)

This file was deleted.

Oops, something went wrong.
@@ -1,6 +1,11 @@
# Enspiral Foundation Ltd

Coming soon!

* [Constitution](constitution.md) - the legal doc that governs the Enspiral Foundation Ltd.
* [Board of Directors](board.md) - also known as MVB, the Minimum Viable Board
* [Catalysts](catalysts.md) - a group of people who help to coordinate and stimulate activity in the network
* [Comms Role Scope](comms-role.md) - we pay someone to do communications work
* [Ops Scope](ops-scope.md) - the most incredible bunch of humans run the backroom operations at Enspiral


Purpose, scope, role
@@ -0,0 +1,12 @@
# Guides

Guides explain in practical terms how we do stuff, like [what communications tools to use](comms_guidelines.md), or [how to improve things at Enspiral](improvements.md). Any Enspiral Contributor can change these.

* [Blogging](blogging.md) - how to add a story to the [Enspiral Tales blog](http://medium.com/enspiral-tales)
* [Comms Guidelines](comms_guidelines.md) - how to know which tool to use for which kind of communication
* [Contributing to the Handbook](contributing.md) - how to edit this book
* [Github for Beginners](github_for_beginners.md) - more background on editing this book
* [Improvements](improvements.md) - how to make changes to the network
* [Project Kitchens](project_kitchen.md) - a how to run a facilitated group collaboration process
* [Retreats*](retreats.md)
* [Stewarding](stewarding.md) - how we look after people in the network
File renamed without changes.
@@ -1,6 +1,12 @@
# Money
![](20160418_090915.jpg)
Coming soon: more about how money works at Enspiral.

A lot of what makes Enspiral special is how we deal with money. Read more about those processes in this chapter.

* [Collaborative Funding](collabfunding.md): how to get money out of Cobudget
* [Variable Contributions](finances_variable_contributions.md): how to give money to Enspiral Foundation
* [Financial Transparency](financial_transparency.md): where you can see our bank balances.

![](images/how-money-works.jpg)

Money at Enspiral is governed by the [Financial Agreement](http://handbook.enspiral.com/financial_agreement.html).

@@ -1,6 +1,7 @@
# Ventures

coming soon!

Overview of how ventures work and the basic value prop, link to ventures agreement
right here!
* [Venture Agreement](venture_agreement.md)
* [Venture Introduction Template](venture_introduction_template.md)
* [Venture MOU](venture_mou.md)
* [Venture Profiles](venture_profiles.md)
* [Proto-Ventures](proto-ventures.md)

0 comments on commit bde6f77

Please sign in to comment.