Skip to content

HTTPS clone URL

Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with HTTPS or Subversion.

Download ZIP
Browse files

Update README.md

  • Loading branch information...
commit bef6f44505fd96eb16c044b1e1af9cbad2697bfe 1 parent d4ecd66
Wayne Meissner authored
Showing with 1 addition and 107 deletions.
  1. +1 −107 README.md
View
108 README.md
@@ -1,109 +1,3 @@
-# ruby-ffi https://wiki.github.com/ffi/ffi [![Build Status](https://travis-ci.org/ffi/ffi.png?branch=master)](https://travis-ci.org/ffi/ffi)
-## Description
+This project is no longer maintained.
-Ruby-FFI is a ruby extension for programmatically loading dynamic
-libraries, binding functions within them, and calling those functions
-from Ruby code. Moreover, a Ruby-FFI extension works without changes
-on Ruby and JRuby. [Discover why you should write your next extension
-using Ruby-FFI](https://wiki.github.com/ffi/ffi/why-use-ffi).
-
-## Features/problems
-
-* Intuitive DSL
-* Supports all C native types
-* C structs (also nested), enums and global variables
-* Callbacks from C to ruby
-* Automatic garbage collection of native memory
-
-## Synopsis
-
-```ruby
-require 'ffi'
-
-module MyLib
- extend FFI::Library
- ffi_lib 'c'
- attach_function :puts, [ :string ], :int
-end
-
-MyLib.puts 'Hello, World using libc!'
-```
-
-For less minimalistic and more sane examples you may look at:
-
-* the samples/ folder
-* the examples on the [wiki](https://wiki.github.com/ffi/ffi)
-* the projects using FFI listed on this page (https://wiki.github.com/ffi/ffi/projects-using-ffi)
-
-## Requirements
-
-You need a sane building environment in order to compile the extension.
-At a minimum, you will need:
-* A C compiler (e.g. Xcode on OSX, gcc on everything else)
-* libffi development library - this is commonly in the libffi-dev or libffi-devel
-
-## Installation
-
-From rubygems:
-
- [sudo] gem install ffi
-
-or from the git repository on github:
-
- git clone git://github.com/ffi/ffi.git
- cd ffi
- rake gem:install
-
-## License
-
-The ffi library is covered by the LGPL3 license, also see the LICENSE file.
-The specs are shared with Rubyspec and are licensed by the same license
-as Rubyspec, see the LICENSE.SPECS file.
-
-## Credits
-
-The following people have submitted code, bug reports, or otherwide contributed to the success of this project:
-
-* Alban Peignier <alban.peignier@free.fr>
-* Aman Gupta <aman@tmm1.net>
-* Andrea Fazzi <andrea.fazzi@alcacoop.it>
-* Andreas Niederl <rico32@gmx.net>
-* Andrew Cholakian <andrew@andrewvc.com>
-* Antonio Terceiro <terceiro@softwarelivre.org>
-* Brian Candler <B.Candler@pobox.com>
-* Brian D. Burns <burns180@gmail.com>
-* Bryan Kearney <bkearney@redhat.com>
-* Charlie Savage <cfis@zerista.com>
-* Chikanaga Tomoyuki <nagachika00@gmail.com>
-* Hongli Lai <hongli@phusion.nl>
-* Ian MacLeod <ian@nevir.net>
-* Jake Douglas <jake@shiftedlabs.com>
-* Jean-Dominique Morani <jdmorani@mac.com>
-* Jeremy Hinegardner <jeremy@hinegardner.org>
-* Jesús García Sáez <blaxter@gmail.com>
-* Joe Khoobyar <joe@ankhcraft.com>
-* Jurij Smakov <jurij@wooyd.org>
-* KISHIMOTO, Makoto <ksmakoto@dd.iij4u.or.jp>
-* Kim Burgestrand <kim@burgestrand.se>
-* Lars Kanis <kanis@comcard.de>
-* Luc Heinrich <luc@honk-honk.com>
-* Luis Lavena <luislavena@gmail.com>
-* Matijs van Zuijlen <matijs@matijs.net>
-* Matthew King <automatthew@gmail.com>
-* Mike Dalessio <mike.dalessio@gmail.com>
-* NARUSE, Yui <naruse@airemix.jp>
-* Park Heesob <phasis@gmail.com>
-* Shin Yee <shinyee@speedgocomputing.com>
-* Stephen Bannasch <stephen.bannasch@gmail.com>
-* Suraj N. Kurapati <sunaku@gmail.com>
-* Sylvain Daubert <sylvain.daubert@laposte.net>
-* Victor Costan
-* beoran@gmail.com
-* ctide <christide@christide.com>
-* emboss <Martin.Bosslet@googlemail.com>
-* hobophobe <unusualtears@gmail.com>
-* meh <meh@paranoici.org>
-* postmodern <postmodern.mod3@gmail.com>
-* wycats@gmail.com <wycats@gmail.com>
-* Wayne Meissner <wmeissner@gmail.com>

1 comment on commit bef6f44

@Spaceghost

Is there an alternative?

Please sign in to comment.
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.