Permalink
Browse files

Notes for the week's classes so far

  • Loading branch information...
1 parent 21bf733 commit 1a2720591abb589ca87b3b2ea6fa48c1ef41b767 Tim Berglund committed Mar 22, 2013
@@ -0,0 +1,163 @@
+---
+layout: bare
+title: Free Class
+description: Free Class Class Notes
+tags: [notes]
+path: classnotes/2013-03-18-free-class.md
+eventdate: 2013-03-18
+---
+
+## Teachers
+* Brent Beer ([Twitter](http://twitter.com/brntbeer), [GitHub](https://github.com/brntbeer))
+* Tim Berglund ([Twitter](http://twitter.com/tlberglund), [GitHub](https://github.com/tlberglund))
+
+## Resources
+
+* [Adding SSL Certificates for GitHub.com (Common for Windows XP)](http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3777075/https-github-access/4454754#4454754)
+* Disabling SSL Certificate Checks for Git:
+
+ git config --global http.sslVerify false
+
+
+* [Open Source Git Ignore Templates](https://github.com/github/gitignore)
+* [Book Authoring on Git and GitHub](http://teach.github.com/articles/book-authoring-using-git-and-github/)
+* [Post Receive Hooks](https://help.github.com/articles/post-receive-hooks)
+* [GitHub Training Videos](http://training.github.com/resources/videos/)
+* [Using Git with Media Temple](http://carl-topham.com/theblog/post/using-git-media-temple/)
+* [GitHub Training Feedback and Follow-up Questions](https://github.com/githubtraining/feedback/issues?state=open)
+* [GitHub Commit Status API for Continuous Integration](https://github.com/blog/1227-commit-status-api)
+* [Git Credential Cache for HTTP](http://teach.github.com/articles/lesson-git-credential-cache/)
+* [GitHub Issues Cheatsheet](http://teach.github.com/articles/github-issues-cheatsheet/)
+* [Jenkins Git Plugin](https://wiki.jenkins-ci.org/display/JENKINS/Git+Plugin)
+* [Open Source Git Ignores](https://github.com/github/gitignore)
+* [Ship of Theseus - Related to Similarity Index](http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ship_of_Theseus)
+* [git-p4 Perforce Script](http://kb.perforce.com/article/1417/git-p4)
+* [Unix watch command](http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watch_(Unix))
+* [SHA-1 Hash Collisions](http://git-scm.com/book/ch6-1.html#A-SHORT-NOTE-ABOUT-SHA-1)
+* [NPD Git Cheatsheet](http://ndpsoftware.com/git-cheatsheet.html)
+* [More Git Cheatsheets](http://teach.github.com/articles/git-cheatsheets/)
+
+## Installation
+* Git Installation
+ * [The Git-SCM Web Site (All Platforms)](http://git-scm.com)
+ * [The GitHub for Windows Client and Command Line](http://windows.github.com)
+* Minimum is 1.7.ANYTHING, but can have issues with HTTPS credential prompting.
+* Best is 1.8.0 or higher
+
+## Suggested Books, Articles
+* [Free ProGit Book](http://git-scm.com/book)
+* [Getting started with Version Control](http://teach.github.com/articles/lesson-new-to-version-control/)
+* [The GitHub Flow](http://scottchacon.com/2011/08/31/github-flow.html)
+* [DVCS Workflows Book](https://github.com/zkessin/dvcs-workflows)
+* [Git Cheat Sheets](http://teach.github.com/articles/git-cheatsheets/)
+* [Git Workflow Links](https://pinboard.in/u:matthew.mccullough/t:git+workflow)
+
+## Course Materials, Links
+* [Git Teaching Materials](http://teach.github.com)
+* [Course Slides](http://teach.github.com/articles/course-slides/)
+* [Post-event Git and GitHub questions](https://github.com/githubtraining/feedback/)
+* [Free Office Hours Sessions](http://training.github.com/web/free-classes/)
+
+## Outline
+
+* Local and upstream repos
+* Clone
+* Pull
+* Push
+* Fetch
+* Tracking Branches
+ * Create a branch
+ * Push and establish upstream (`-u`)
+
+## Command History
+
+ git clone https://github.com/githubteacher/class-repo.git
+ ls
+ cd class-repo
+ ls
+ cat README.md
+ cat raven.txt
+ git log
+ vi raven.txt
+ git status
+ git add raven.txt
+ git commit -m "Silky sad uncertain"
+ git status
+ tr.
+ tr.g
+ tr.git
+ cd scratch/class-repo
+ git loglive
+ git lol
+ git branch
+ git status
+ git branch feature
+ git branch
+ git branch -a
+ git checkout feature
+ git checkout master
+ git checkout origin/master
+ git checkout master
+ git lol
+ git push
+ git lol
+ git config --global alias.lol "log --graph --all --decorate --ine"
+ git lol
+ git pull
+ git lol
+ cat raven.txt
+ git lol
+ git fetch
+ git lol
+ cat raven.txt
+ ls
+ git diff origin/master
+ git diff origin/master..HEAD
+ git diff HEAD..origin/master
+ git diff origin/master
+ git merge origin/master
+ git lol
+ cat raven.txt
+ git branch
+ git checkout feature
+ cat raven.txt
+ vi raven.txt
+ git add .
+ git commit -m "Weak and weary"
+ git lol
+ vi raven.txt
+ git add .
+ git commit -m "Quaint and curious"
+ git lol
+ git branch -a
+ git remote
+ git remote -v
+ git remote show origin
+ git branch
+ git lol
+ git push -u origin feature
+ git lol
+ git branch -a
+ git remote show origin
+ git status
+ cat raven.txt
+ git fetch
+ git lok
+ git lol
+ git diff origin/feature
+ git pull
+ git remote show origin
+ git log
+ vi raven.txt
+ git add .
+ git commit -m "Gentle rapping"
+ git push
+ git pull
+ git push
+ git checkout master
+ git merge feature
+ vi raven.txt
+ git add raven.txt
+ git commit
+ git push
+
Oops, something went wrong.

0 comments on commit 1a27205

Please sign in to comment.