Permalink
Browse files

2013-03-14 foundations class notes

  • Loading branch information...
1 parent f029691 commit 5db72524b9d773b2b7e6e893981d214dd7fcc95b @matthewmccullough matthewmccullough committed Mar 14, 2013
Showing with 91 additions and 0 deletions.
  1. +91 −0 classnotes/2013-03-14-online-git-foundations.md
@@ -0,0 +1,91 @@
+---
+layout: bare
+title: Git and GitHub Foundations Online
+description: Git and GitHub Foundations Online Class Notes
+tags: [notes, online, class]
+path: classnotes/2013-03-14-online-git-foundations.md
+eventdate: 2013-03-14
+---
+
+Teachers:
+
+* Matthew McCullough ([Twitter](http://twitter.com/matthewmccull), [GitHub](https://github.com/matthewmccullough))
+* Brent Beer ([Twitter](http://twitter.com/brntbeer), [GitHub](https://github.com/brentbeer))
+
+## Outline
+* History and Intro
+* Installing and configuring
+* Git's Three Stage Thinking
+* Versioning Files in Git
+* Viewing History in Git
+* Understanding Git's Content Tracking
+* Moving and copying files
+* Branching and Merging in Git
+* Establishing upstream repositories
+* Push, pull, and fetch
+* RefLog as a safety net
+* Stash for work-in-progress
+* Reset
+* Collaboration through Pull Requests
+* Graphical merge/diff tools
+
+## Resources
+* [Open Source Git Ignore Templates](https://github.com/github/gitignore)
+* [Book Authoring on Git and GitHub](http://teach.github.com/articles/book-authoring-using-git-and-github/)
+* [Post Receive Hooks](https://help.github.com/articles/post-receive-hooks)
+* [GitHub Training Videos](http://training.github.com/resources/videos/)
+* [Using Git with Media Temple](http://carl-topham.com/theblog/post/using-git-media-temple/)
+* [GitHub Training Feedback and Follow-up Questions](https://github.com/githubtraining/feedback/issues?state=open)
+* [GitHub Commit Status API for Continuous Integration](https://github.com/blog/1227-commit-status-api)
+* [Git Credential Cache for HTTP](http://teach.github.com/articles/lesson-git-credential-cache/)
+* [GitHub Issues Cheatsheet](http://teach.github.com/articles/github-issues-cheatsheet/)
+* [Jenkins Git Plugin](https://wiki.jenkins-ci.org/display/JENKINS/Git+Plugin)
+* [Open Source Git Ignores](https://github.com/github/gitignore)
+* [Ship of Theseus - Related to Similarity Index](http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ship_of_Theseus)
+* [git-p4 Perforce Script](http://kb.perforce.com/article/1417/git-p4)
+* [Unix watch command](http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watch_(Unix\))
+* [SHA-1 Hash Collisions](http://git-scm.com/book/ch6-1.html#A-SHORT-NOTE-ABOUT-SHA-1)
+* [NPD Git Cheatsheet](http://ndpsoftware.com/git-cheatsheet.html)
+* [More Git Cheatsheets](http://teach.github.com/articles/git-cheatsheets/)
+* [Adding SSL Certificates for GitHub.com (Common for Windows XP)](http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3777075/https-github-access/4454754#4454754)
+* Disabling SSL Certificate Checks for Git:
+
+ git config --global http.sslVerify false
+
+
+## Installation
+* Git Installation
+ * [The Git-SCM Web Site (All Platforms)](http://git-scm.com)
+ * [The GitHub for Windows Client and Command Line](http://windows.github.com)
+* Minimum is 1.7.ANYTHING, but can have issues with HTTPS credential prompting.
+* Best is 1.8.0 or higher
+
+## Suggested Books, Articles
+* [Free ProGit Book](http://git-scm.com/book)
+* [Getting started with Version Control](http://teach.github.com/articles/lesson-new-to-version-control/)
+* [The GitHub Flow](http://scottchacon.com/2011/08/31/github-flow.html)
+* [DVCS Workflows Book](https://github.com/zkessin/dvcs-workflows)
+* [Git Cheat Sheets](http://teach.github.com/articles/git-cheatsheets/)
+* [Git Workflow Links](https://pinboard.in/u:matthew.mccullough/t:git+workflow)
+
+## Course Materials, Links
+* [Git Teaching Materials](http://teach.github.com)
+* [Course Slides](http://teach.github.com/articles/course-slides/)
+* [Post-event Git and GitHub questions](https://github.com/githubtraining/feedback/)
+* [Free Office Hours Sessions](http://training.github.com/web/free-classes/)
+
+# Command Line History, Day 1
+
+ TBD
+
+## Command Line History, Day 2
+
+ TBD
+
+## Day One Chat
+
+ TBD
+
+## Day Two Chat
+
+ TBD

0 comments on commit 5db7252

Please sign in to comment.