Skip to content

HTTPS clone URL

Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with
or
.
Download ZIP
Unofficial prototype git repo for GBrowse. Subject to change without notice.
Perl JavaScript C Other
Tag: release-1_68

Fetching latest commit…

Cannot retrieve the latest commit at this time

Failed to load latest commit information.
bin
cgi-bin
conf
contrib
docs
extras
htdocs
install_util
lib
libalign
sample_data
t
Changes
DISCLAIMER
History
INSTALL
MANIFEST
MANIFEST.SKIP
META.yml
Makefile.PL
README
README.MacOSX
README.Ubuntu
README.berkeleydb
README.fedora
README.gff3
README.sessions
TODO

README

The Generic Genome Browser (GBrowse) is a simple but highly
configurable web-based genome browser.  It is a component of the
Generic Model Organism Systems Database project (GMOD).

 - For a description of features and a demo, go to 
   http://www.gmod.org/wiki/index.php/GBrowse

 - To install on your own system, please see the INSTALL file, or see
   the nice online documentation at
   http://www.gmod.org/wiki/index.php/GBrowse

 - To learn how to use the system, please see docs/tutorial.  After
   installing on your system, the tutorial will also be available at
   http://localhost/gbrowse/tutorial.

 - To load your own data and configure GBrowse to display it, 
   run the command: 

       perldoc docs/pod/CONFIGURE_HOWTO.pod.

 - To initialize the database from one or more Genbank records, run the
   command:
 
       perldoc docs/pod/GENBANK_HOWTO.pod.

 - This software is free.  You can use it under the terms of the Perl
   Artistic License Please.  Please see DISCLAIMER for limitations of
   warranty, the academic citation policy and other legalese.

Support is available from the discussion groups and mailing lists at
www.gmod.org.

Lincoln Stein & the GMOD team
lstein@cshl.org
April 18, 2007


--- AUTHORS ---

This project has had many authors.  Some of the most prominent are:

Scott Cain <cain@cshl.edu>
Vsevolod (Simon) Ilyushchenko <simonf@cshl.edu>
Marc Logghe <Marc.Logghe@devgen.com>
Aaron Mackey <amackey@pcbi.upenn.edu>
Sheldon McKay <mckays@cshl.edu>
Nathan O. Siemers <Nathan.Siemers@bms.com>
Lincoln Stein <lstein@cshl.edu>

Special thanks go to the authors of the translations, who include:

Franck Aniere <aniere@genoscope.cns.fr> (French)
Nansheng Chen <chen@cshl.edu> (Chinese)
Toshiaki Katayama <k@bioruby.org> (Japanese)
Marc Logghe <marcl@devgen.com> (Dutch)
Marco Mangone <mangone@cshl.edu> (Italian)
Linus Taejoon Kwon <linusben <at> bawi <dot> org> (Korean)
Marcela Tello-Ruiz <marcela@broad.mit.edu> (Spanish)
Gudmundur Thorisson <mummi@cshl.edu> (Icelandic)

Also, many thanks to Brian Osborne for his maintenance of the GMOD WIKI and documentation pages.
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.