Skip to content
Bypass Paywalls for Chrome
Branch: master
Clone or download
Latest commit df62044 May 25, 2019

README.md

Bypass Paywalls for Chrome

Installation Instructions

Google Chrome:

  1. Download this repo as a ZIP file from GitHub.
  2. Unzip the file and you should have a folder named bypass-paywalls-chrome-master.
  3. In Chrome go to the extensions page (chrome://extensions)
  4. Enable Developer Mode
  5. Drag the bypass-paywalls-chrome-master folder anywhere on the page to import it.

Notes:

  • Every time you open Chrome it may warn you about running extensions in developer mode, just click 🗙 to keep the extension enabled.
  • You will be logged out for any site you have checked.
  • This extension works best along side the adblocker uBlock Origin.

Bypass the following sites' paywalls with this extension:

American Banker (americanbanker.com)
Baltimore Sun (baltimoresun.com)
Barron's (barrons.com)
Bloomberg (bloomberg.com)
Business Insider (businessinsider.com)
Caixin (caixinglobal.com)
Crain's Chicago Business (chicagobusiness.com)
Chicago Tribune (chicagotribune.com)
Corriere Della Sera (corriere.it)
Daily Press (dailypress.com)
Dagens Nyheter (dn.se)
DeMorgen (demorgen.be)
Denver Post (denverpost.com)
Dynamed Plus (dynamed.com)
The Economist (economist.com)
Encyclopedia Britannica (britannica.com)
Examiner (examiner.com.au)
Financial News (fnlondon.com)
Financial Times (ft.com)
Foreign Affairs (foreignaffairs.com)
Foreign Policy (foreignpolicy.com)
Glassdoor (glassdoor.com)
Haaretz (haaretz.co.il / haaretz.com)
Harper's Magazine (harpers.org)
Hartford Courant (courant.com)
Harvard Business Review (hbr.org)
Inc.com (inc.com)
Irish Times (irishtimes.com)
La Repubblica (repubblica.it)
Les Échos (lesechos.fr)
Libération (liberation.fr)
Los Angeles Times (latimes.com)
Medium (medium.com)
MIT Technology Review (technologyreview.com)
Newsrep (thenewsrep.com)
New York Magazine (nymag.com)
Nikkei Asian Review (asia.nikkei.com)
NRC (nrc.nl)
OrlandoSentinel (orlandosentinel.com)
Quartz (qz.com)
Quora (quora.com)
San Francisco Chronicle (sfchronicle.com)
Scientific American (scientificamerican.com)
SunSentinel (sun-sentinel.com)
The Advocate (theadvocate.com.au)
The Age (theage.com.au)
The Australian (theaustralian.com.au)
The Australian Financial Review (afr.com)
The Boston Globe (bostonglobe.com)
The Business Journals (bizjournals.com)
The Globe and Mail (theglobeandmail.com)
The Japan Times (japantimes.co.jp)
TheMarker (themarker.com)
The Mercury News (mercurynews.com)
The Morning Call (mcall.com)
The Nation (thenation.com)
The News-Gazette (news-gazette.com)
The New Statesman (newstatesman.com)
The New York Times (nytimes.com)
The New Yorker (newyorker.com)
The Seattle Times (seattletimes.com)
The Spectator (spectator.co.uk)
The Sydney Morning Herald (smh.com.au)
The Toronto Star (thestar.com)
The Washington Post (washingtonpost.com)
The Wall Street Journal (wsj.com)
Winston-Salem Journal (journalnow.com)
Vanity Fair (vanityfair.com)
Wired (wired.com)

New site requests:

Only large or major sites will be considered.

  1. Visit an article on the site you want to bypass the paywall for and copy the article title.
  2. Open up a new incognito window (Ctrl+Shift+N) and paste the article title into Google.
  3. Click on the same article from the Google search results page. If it loads without a paywall you can submit a request to add the site, otherwise my extension cannot bypass it either.

Usually premium articles cannot be bypassed as they are behind a hard paywall.

Troubleshooting

  • This extension works best alongside uBlock Origin.
  • If a site doesn't work try turning off uBlock and refreshing.

Pull Requesets

  • PRs are welcome.

Show your support

  • I am not asking for donations or anything like that, all I ask is that you star this repo.

License

Bypass Paywalls is MIT-licensed.

You can’t perform that action at this time.