Permalink
Browse files

Merge branch 'master' into newdoc

  • Loading branch information...
2 parents 64c39ba + 5e140b3 commit a5544bd52ae17a0d9517649fd25c31bfcd8e9808 @iapain committed Mar 14, 2013
Showing 4,239 changed files with 437,858 additions and 189,742 deletions.
The diff you're trying to view is too large. We only load the first 3000 changed files.
View
@@ -1,5 +1,8 @@
core
vgcore.*
+v8*.log
+perf.data
+perf.data.old
.waf*
tags
.lock-wscript
@@ -42,4 +45,15 @@ ipch/
email.md
deps/v8-*
./node_modules
-.svn/
+.svn/
+
+# generated by gyp on Windows
+deps/openssl/openssl.props
+deps/openssl/openssl.targets
+deps/openssl/openssl.xml
+
+# build/release artifacts
+/*.tar.gz
+/SHASUMS.txt*
+
+/tools/wrk/wrk
View
@@ -13,13 +13,15 @@ Bert Belder <bertbelder@gmail.com> <piscisaureus@Berts-MacBook-Pro.local>
Brandon Benvie <brandon@bbenvie.com> <brandon@brandonbenvie.com>
Brian White <mscdex@mscdex.net>
Brian White <mscdex@mscdex.net> <mscdex@gmail.com>
+Bryan Cantrill <bmc@joyent.com> <bryan@joyent.com>
Chew Choon Keat <choonkeat@gmail.com>
Christopher Lenz <cmlenz@gmail.com> <chris@lamech.local>
Daniel Berger <code+node@dpbis.net>
Daniel Chcouri <333222@gmail.com>
Daniel Gröber <darklord@darkboxed.org>
Daniel Gröber <darklord@darkboxed.org> <dxld@darkboxed.org>
Daniel Pihlström <sciolist.se@gmail.com>
+Dave Pacheco <dap@joyent.com> <dap@cs.brown.edu>
David Siegel <david@artcom.de> <david.siegel@artcom.de>
Domenic Denicola <domenic@domenicdenicola.com>
Eduard Burtescu <eddy_me08@yahoo.com>
@@ -46,6 +48,7 @@ Johan Dahlberg <jfd@distrop.com> <dahlberg.johan@gmail.com>
Jonas Pfenniger <jonas@pfenniger.name> <jonas@stvs.ch>
Jonathan Rentzsch <jwr.git@redshed.net>
Joshua S. Weinstein <josher19@users.sf.net>
+Kazuyuki Yamada <tasogare.pg@gmail.com>
Koichi Kobayashi <koichik@improvement.jp>
Kris Kowal <kris.kowal@cixar.com>
Kyle Robinson Young <kyle@dontkry.com>
@@ -83,9 +86,11 @@ Tim Smart <timehandgod@gmail.com> <tim@fostle.com>
Tim Smart <timehandgod@gmail.com> <timehandgod@gmail.com>
TJ Holowaychuk <tj@vision-media.ca>
TJ Holowaychuk <tj@vision-media.ca> <tjholowayhuk@gmail.com>
+Tom Hughes-Croucher <tom.hughes@palm.com> <tom_croucher@yahoo.com>
Trevor Burnham <trevor@databraid.com> <trevorburnham@gmail.com>
Tyler Larson <talltyler@gmail.com>
Vincent Voyer <v@fasterize.com>
+Willi Eggeling <email@wje-online.de>
Yoshihiro KIKUCHI <yknetg@gmail.com>
Yuichiro MASUI <masui@masuidrive.jp>
Zachary Scott <zachary@zacharyscott.net> <zachary.s.scott@gmail.com>
View
86 AUTHORS
@@ -223,8 +223,8 @@ Evan Martin <martine@danga.com>
Peter Lyons <pete@peterlyons.com>
Jann Horn <jannhorn@googlemail.com>
Abimanyu Raja <abimanyuraja@gmail.com>
-Karl Skomski <karl@skomski.com>
Niclas Hoyer <niclas@verbugt.de>
+Karl Skomski <karl@skomski.com>
Michael Jackson <mjijackson@gmail.com>
Ashok Mudukutore <ashok@lineratesystems.com>
Sean Cunningham <sean.cunningham@mandiant.com>
@@ -332,15 +332,99 @@ James Koval <james.ross.koval@gmail.com>
Kevin Gadd <kevin.gadd@gmail.com>
Ray Solomon <raybsolomon@gmail.com>
Kevin Bowman <github@magicmonkey.org>
+Erwin van der Koogh <github@koogh.com>
Matt Gollob <mattgollob@gmail.com>
Simon Sturmer <sstur@me.com>
Joel Brandt <joelrbrandt@gmail.com>
Marc Harter <wavded@gmail.com>
Nuno Job <nunojobpinto@gmail.com>
Ben Kelly <ben@wanderview.com>
Felix Böhm <felixboehm55@googlemail.com>
+George Shank <shankga@gmail.com>
Gabriel de Perthuis <g2p.code@gmail.com>
+Vladimir Beloborodov <redhead.ru@gmail.com>
Tim Macfarlane <timmacfarlane@gmail.com>
Jonas Westerlund <jonas.westerlund@me.com>
Dominic Tarr <dominic.tarr@gmail.com>
Justin Plock <jplock@gmail.com>
+Timothy J Fontaine <tjfontaine@gmail.com>
+Toshihiro Nakamura <toshihiro.nakamura@gmail.com>
+Ivan Torres <mexpolk@gmail.com>
+Philipp Hagemeister <phihag@phihag.de>
+Mike Morearty <mike@morearty.com>
+Pavel Lang <langpavel@phpskelet.org>
+Peter Rybin <peter.rybin@gmail.com>
+Joe Andaverde <joe@andaverde.net>
+Eugen Dueck <eugen@dueck.org>
+Gil Pedersen <git@gpost.dk>
+Tyler Neylon <tylerneylon@gmail.com>
+Josh Erickson <josh@snoj.us>
+Golo Roden <webmaster@goloroden.de>
+Ron Korving <rkorving@wizcorp.jp>
+Brandon Wilson <chlavois@gmail.com>
+Ian Babrou <ibobrik@gmail.com>
+Bearice Ren <bearice@gmail.com>
+Ankur Oberoi <aoberoi@gmail.com>
+Atsuya Takagi <atsuya.takagi@gmail.com>
+Pooya Karimian <pkarimian@sencha.com>
+Frédéric Germain <frederic.germain@gmail.com>
+Robin Lee <cheeselee@fedoraproject.org>
+Kazuyuki Yamada <tasogare.pg@gmail.com>
+Adam Blackburn <regality@gmail.com>
+Willi Eggeling <email@wje-online.de>
+Paul Serby <paul.serby@clock.co.uk>
+Andrew Paprocki <andrew@ishiboo.com>
+Ricky Ng-Adam <rngadam@lophilo.com>
+Aaditya Bhatia <aadityabhatia@gmail.com>
+Max Ogden <max@maxogden.com>
+Igor Soarez <igorsoarez@gmail.com>
+Olivier Lalonde <olalonde@gmail.com>
+Francois Marier <francois@mozilla.com>
+Trevor Norris <trev.norris@gmail.com>
+Kai Sasaki Lewuathe <sasaki_kai@lewuathe.sakura.ne.jp>
+Nicolas Chambrier <naholyr@gmail.com>
+Tim Bradshaw <tfb@cley.com>
+Johannes Ewald <mail@johannesewald.de>
+Chris Dent <chris.dent@gmail.com>
+Dan Milon <danmilon@gmail.com>
+Brandon Philips <brandon.philips@rackspace.com>
+Frederico Silva <frederico.silva@gmail.com>
+Jan Wynholds <jan@rootmusic.com>
+Girish Ramakrishnan <girish@forwardbias.in>
+Anthony Pesch <anthony@usamp.com>
+Stephen Gallagher <sgallagh@redhat.com>
+Sergey Kholodilov <serghol@gmail.com>
+Tim Kuijsten <tim@netsend.nl>
+Michael Axiak <mike@axiak.net>
+Chad Rhyner <chadrhyner@gmail.com>
+Ben Taber <ben.taber@gmail.com>
+Luke Arduini <luke.arduini@me.com>
+Luke Bayes <lbayes@patternpark.com>
+Nirk Niggler <nirk.niggler@gmail.com>
+James Hight <james@zavoo.com>
+Mike Harsch <mike@harschsystems.com>
+Alexandr Emelin <frvzmb@gmail.com>
+James Campos <james.r.campos@gmail.com>
+Dave Olszewski <cxreg@pobox.com>
+Tim Price <timprice@mangoraft.com>
+Jake Verbaten <raynos2@gmail.com>
+Jacob Gable <jacob.gable@gmail.com>
+Rick Yakubowski <richard@orpha-systems.com>
+Dan Kohn <dan@dankohn.com>
+Andy Burke <aburke@bitflood.org>
+Sugendran Ganess <sugendran@sugendran.net>
+Jim Schubert <james.schubert@gmail.com>
+Victor Costan <costan@gmail.com>
+Timothy J Fontaine <tjfontaine@gmail.com>
+Arianit Uka <arianit@bigvikinggames.com>
+Andrei Sedoi <bsnote@gmail.com>
+Eugene Girshov <eugene.girshov@nixu.com>
+Evan Oxfeld <eoxfeld@nearinfinity.com>
+Lars-Magnus Skog <lars.magnus.skog@gmail.com>
+Raymond Feng <enjoyjava@gmail.com>
+Aaron Cannon <cannona@fireantproductions.com>
+Xidorn Quan <quanxunzhen@gmail.com>
+Paolo Fragomeni <paolo@async.ly>
+Scott Blomquist <github@scott.blomqui.st>
+Henry Chin <hheennrryy@gmail.com>
+Julian Gruber <julian@juliangruber.com>
View
@@ -0,0 +1,145 @@
+# CONTRIBUTING
+
+The node.js project welcomes new contributors. This document will guide you
+through the process.
+
+
+### FORK
+
+Fork the project [on GitHub](https://github.com/joyent/node) and check out
+your copy.
+
+```
+$ git clone git@github.com:username/node.git
+$ cd node
+$ git remote add upstream git://github.com/joyent/node.git
+```
+
+Now decide if you want your feature or bug fix to go into the master branch
+or the stable branch. As a rule of thumb, bug fixes go into the stable branch
+while new features go into the master branch.
+
+The stable branch is effectively frozen; patches that change the node.js
+API/ABI or affect the run-time behavior of applications get rejected.
+
+The rules for the master branch are less strict; consult the
+[stability index page][] for details.
+
+In a nutshell, modules are at varying levels of API stability. Bug fixes are
+always welcome but API or behavioral changes to modules at stability level 3
+and up are off-limits.
+
+Node.js has several bundled dependencies in the deps/ and the tools/
+directories that are not part of the project proper. Any changes to files
+in those directories or its subdirectories should be sent to their respective
+projects. Do not send your patch to us, we cannot accept it.
+
+In case of doubt, open an issue in the [issue tracker][], post your question
+to the [node.js mailing list][] or contact one of the [project maintainers][]
+on [IRC][].
+
+Especially do so if you plan to work on something big. Nothing is more
+frustrating than seeing your hard work go to waste because your vision
+does not align with that of a project maintainer.
+
+
+### BRANCH
+
+Okay, so you have decided on the proper branch. Create a feature branch
+and start hacking:
+
+```
+$ git checkout -b my-feature-branch -t origin/v0.8
+```
+
+(Where v0.8 is the latest stable branch as of this writing.)
+
+
+### COMMIT
+
+Make sure git knows your name and email address:
+
+```
+$ git config --global user.name "J. Random User"
+$ git config --global user.email "j.random.user@example.com"
+```
+
+Writing good commit logs is important. A commit log should describe what
+changed and why. Follow these guidelines when writing one:
+
+1. The first line should be 50 characters or less and contain a short
+ description of the change.
+2. Keep the second line blank.
+3. Wrap all other lines at 72 columns.
+
+A good commit log looks like this:
+
+```
+Header line: explaining the commit in one line
+
+Body of commit message is a few lines of text, explaining things
+in more detail, possibly giving some background about the issue
+being fixed, etc etc.
+
+The body of the commit message can be several paragraphs, and
+please do proper word-wrap and keep columns shorter than about
+72 characters or so. That way `git log` will show things
+nicely even when it is indented.
+```
+
+The header line should be meaningful; it is what other people see when they
+run `git shortlog` or `git log --oneline`.
+
+Have a look at `git log` for inspiration.
+
+
+### REBASE
+
+Use `git rebase` (not `git merge`) to sync your work from time to time.
+
+```
+$ git fetch upstream
+$ git rebase upstream/v0.8 # or upstream/master
+```
+
+
+### TEST
+
+Bug fixes and features should come with tests. Add your tests in the
+test/simple/ directory. Look at other tests to see how they should be
+structured (license boilerplate, common includes, etc.).
+
+```
+$ make jslint test
+```
+
+Make sure the linter is happy and that all tests pass. Please, do not submit
+patches that fail either check.
+
+
+### PUSH
+
+```
+$ git push origin my-feature-branch
+```
+
+Go to https://github.com/username/node and select your feature branch. Click
+the 'Pull Request' button and fill out the form.
+
+Pull requests are usually reviewed within a few days. If there are comments
+to address, apply your changes in a separate commit and push that to your
+feature branch. Post a comment in the pull request afterwards; GitHub does
+not send out notifications when you add commits.
+
+
+### CONTRIBUTOR LICENSE AGREEMENT
+
+Please visit http://nodejs.org/cla.html and sign the Contributor License
+Agreement. You only need to do that once.
+
+
+[stability index page]: https://github.com/joyent/node/blob/master/doc/api/documentation.markdown
+[issue tracker]: https://github.com/joyent/node/issues
+[node.js mailing list]: http://groups.google.com/group/nodejs
+[IRC]: http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=node.js
+[project maintainers]: https://github.com/joyent/node/wiki/Project-Organization
Oops, something went wrong.

0 comments on commit a5544bd

Please sign in to comment.