Skip to content


Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with
Download ZIP
Branch: gh-pages
Fetching contributors…

Cannot retrieve contributors at this time

90 lines (73 sloc) 4.49 KB
James Fisher
James Harrison Fisher
Date of birth October 1987
Address Highgate, London, N6
Email address
Mobile tel. no. 07951 498 897
Find me on ... LinkedIn, GitHub, Reddit
I am a developer and designer soon to have an MSc in Computing Science. I like problems and will
attack them until solved. I like to communicate in paint, print, and programming.
2010-12 MSc in Computing Science from Imperial College. Distinction in coursework and exams.
Individual project to be completed.
2006-9 Bachelor of Arts degree, with first-class honors, in History, at the University of York.
2004-6 Achieved the following six A-levels:
Grade Subjects Institution
A History Colchester Royal Grammar School
A Computing Colchester Royal Grammar School
A General Studies Colchester Royal Grammar School
B Physics Colchester Royal Grammar School
B Mathematics Colchester Royal Grammar School
B Art and Design Grey Friars
2002-4 Eleven GCSEs at Colchester Royal Grammar School.
* I have computing and I.T. experience of the following, with varying familiarity:
+ C++
+ Python, PHP, JS
+ Haskell
+ jQuery, jQuery UI
+ Apache, NodeJS, MVC (Django)
+ HTML5, CSS3, XML, JSON, &c.
+ git, svn
+ xUnit, QuickCheck
+ SQL, MySQL, PostgreSQL
+ T[E]X, L^AT[E]X
+ Linux, Windows
* An understanding of algorithmics and a comfortableness with formalism. I am familiar with Big-O
notation. I enjoy playing with and implementing algorithms for their own sake.
* An eye for aesthetics, design, and presentation.
* Problem-solving and strategic thinking. I will thrive in an intellectually challenging workplace.
I strive to eliminate routine tasks.
Previous work and achievements
May 2012-present Software Developer at YUDU Media.
2006-present Director and Secretary of Lexden Montessori. In these roles I have overseen, among other
* Business planning. From the outset I have been involved in the company's expansion and direction
of growth. I understand the requirements and challenges of a small business.
* Market research and advertising in multiple media (print, web, radio, and others). I have
learned, by success and failure, how to think from a customer's perspective.
* Administration and secretarial duties. The follies of schematizing, sorting, and
cross-referencing paperwork led me towards the real power of the computer.
* Web design and maintenance for
2012-present (work in progress) Branding and marketing consultancy for The Gilgil Trust
(, an organization providing young people around the town of Gilgil in
Kenya with shelter, health-care, and help in their education and careers.
2010 Branding for Pembroke House (, a private Kenyan prep school. In
the words of their Commercial Director,
James has worked with me on new brand designs for Harambee Schools Kenya (see below), a charity
and Pembroke House school, a prep school. In both cases his work was of the highest quality, and
reflected a passion for design, but also for getting under the skin of the organisation he is
designing for. I wouldn't hesitate to use James again for any design projects that I might have.
Branding and web design for Harambee Schools Kenya (, a charity building
schools around Gilgil in rural Kenya.
GWS Media gave the website an award, commending its âplain, clear English; striking design, and
beautiful images.â To date, the new branding and website is known to have directly brought in
£53,000 of funding, including from UBM (the global media and comms giant) and HSBC, who made HSK
their official corporate charity after finding their website.
2009 Developing an internal database-driven system for managing care homes and CSCI reports for
Caring Homes.
2008 Various responsibilities at Caring Homes, including: accountancy and financial planning, due
diligence, insurance of plant, and remote I.T. support
This document is available at
Get the plaintext Get the PDF
Jump to Line
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.