Permalink
Switch branches/tags
Nothing to show
Find file Copy path
Fetching contributors…
Cannot retrieve contributors at this time
484 lines (340 sloc) 19.3 KB
PROTOCOL NUMBERS
(last updated 2001 December 18)
In the Internet Protocol version 4 (IPv4) [RFC791] there is a field,
called "Protocol", to identify the next level protocol. This is an 8
bit field. In Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) [RFC1883] this field
is called the "Next Header" field.
Assigned Internet Protocol Numbers
Decimal Keyword Protocol References
------- ------- -------- ----------
0 HOPOPT IPv6 Hop-by-Hop Option [RFC1883]
1 ICMP Internet Control Message [RFC792]
2 IGMP Internet Group Management [RFC1112]
3 GGP Gateway-to-Gateway [RFC823]
4 IP IP in IP (encapsulation) [RFC2003]
5 ST Stream [RFC1190,RFC1819]
6 TCP Transmission Control [RFC793]
7 CBT CBT [Ballardie]
8 EGP Exterior Gateway Protocol [RFC888,DLM1]
9 IGP any private interior gateway [IANA]
(used by Cisco for their IGRP)
10 BBN-RCC-MON BBN RCC Monitoring [SGC]
11 NVP-II Network Voice Protocol [RFC741,SC3]
12 PUP PUP [PUP,XEROX]
13 ARGUS ARGUS [RWS4]
14 EMCON EMCON [BN7]
15 XNET Cross Net Debugger [IEN158,JFH2]
16 CHAOS Chaos [NC3]
17 UDP User Datagram [RFC768,JBP]
18 MUX Multiplexing [IEN90,JBP]
19 DCN-MEAS DCN Measurement Subsystems [DLM1]
20 HMP Host Monitoring [RFC869,RH6]
21 PRM Packet Radio Measurement [ZSU]
22 XNS-IDP XEROX NS IDP [ETHERNET,XEROX]
23 TRUNK-1 Trunk-1 [BWB6]
24 TRUNK-2 Trunk-2 [BWB6]
25 LEAF-1 Leaf-1 [BWB6]
26 LEAF-2 Leaf-2 [BWB6]
27 RDP Reliable Data Protocol [RFC908,RH6]
28 IRTP Internet Reliable Transaction [RFC938,TXM]
29 ISO-TP4 ISO Transport Protocol Class 4 [RFC905,RC77]
30 NETBLT Bulk Data Transfer Protocol [RFC969,DDC1]
31 MFE-NSP MFE Network Services Protocol [MFENET,BCH2]
32 MERIT-INP MERIT Internodal Protocol [HWB]
33 SEP Sequential Exchange Protocol [JC120]
34 3PC Third Party Connect Protocol [SAF3]
35 IDPR Inter-Domain Policy Routing Protocol [MXS1]
36 XTP XTP [GXC]
37 DDP Datagram Delivery Protocol [WXC]
38 IDPR-CMTP IDPR Control Message Transport Proto [MXS1]
39 TP++ TP++ Transport Protocol [DXF]
40 IL IL Transport Protocol [Presotto]
41 IPv6 Ipv6 [Deering]
42 SDRP Source Demand Routing Protocol [DXE1]
43 IPv6-Route Routing Header for IPv6 [Deering]
44 IPv6-Frag Fragment Header for IPv6 [Deering]
45 IDRP Inter-Domain Routing Protocol [Sue Hares]
46 RSVP Reservation Protocol [Bob Braden]
47 GRE General Routing Encapsulation [Tony Li]
48 MHRP Mobile Host Routing Protocol[David Johnson]
49 BNA BNA [Gary Salamon]
50 ESP Encapsulating Security Payload [RFC1827]
51 AH Authentication Header [RFC1826]
52 I-NLSP Integrated Net Layer Security TUBA [GLENN]
53 SWIPE IP with Encryption [JI6]
54 NARP NBMA Address Resolution Protocol [RFC1735]
55 MOBILE IP Mobility [Perkins]
56 TLSP Transport Layer Security Protocol [Oberg]
using Kryptonet key management
57 SKIP SKIP [Markson]
58 IPv6-ICMP ICMP for IPv6 [RFC1883]
59 IPv6-NoNxt No Next Header for IPv6 [RFC1883]
60 IPv6-Opts Destination Options for IPv6 [RFC1883]
61 any host internal protocol [IANA]
62 CFTP CFTP [CFTP,HCF2]
63 any local network [IANA]
64 SAT-EXPAK SATNET and Backroom EXPAK [SHB]
65 KRYPTOLAN Kryptolan [PXL1]
66 RVD MIT Remote Virtual Disk Protocol [MBG]
67 IPPC Internet Pluribus Packet Core [SHB]
68 any distributed file system [IANA]
69 SAT-MON SATNET Monitoring [SHB]
70 VISA VISA Protocol [GXT1]
71 IPCV Internet Packet Core Utility [SHB]
72 CPNX Computer Protocol Network Executive [DXM2]
73 CPHB Computer Protocol Heart Beat [DXM2]
74 WSN Wang Span Network [VXD]
75 PVP Packet Video Protocol [SC3]
76 BR-SAT-MON Backroom SATNET Monitoring [SHB]
77 SUN-ND SUN ND PROTOCOL-Temporary [WM3]
78 WB-MON WIDEBAND Monitoring [SHB]
79 WB-EXPAK WIDEBAND EXPAK [SHB]
80 ISO-IP ISO Internet Protocol [MTR]
81 VMTP VMTP [DRC3]
82 SECURE-VMTP SECURE-VMTP [DRC3]
83 VINES VINES [BXH]
84 TTP TTP [JXS]
85 NSFNET-IGP NSFNET-IGP [HWB]
86 DGP Dissimilar Gateway Protocol [DGP,ML109]
87 TCF TCF [GAL5]
88 EIGRP EIGRP [CISCO,GXS]
89 OSPFIGP OSPFIGP [RFC1583,JTM4]
90 Sprite-RPC Sprite RPC Protocol [SPRITE,BXW]
91 LARP Locus Address Resolution Protocol [BXH]
92 MTP Multicast Transport Protocol [SXA]
93 AX.25 AX.25 Frames [BK29]
94 IPIP IP-within-IP Encapsulation Protocol [JI6]
95 MICP Mobile Internetworking Control Pro. [JI6]
96 SCC-SP Semaphore Communications Sec. Pro. [HXH]
97 ETHERIP Ethernet-within-IP Encapsulation [RDH1]
98 ENCAP Encapsulation Header [RFC1241,RXB3]
99 any private encryption scheme [IANA]
100 GMTP GMTP [RXB5]
101 IFMP Ipsilon Flow Management Protocol [Hinden]
102 PNNI PNNI over IP [Callon]
103 PIM Protocol Independent Multicast [Farinacci]
104 ARIS ARIS [Feldman]
105 SCPS SCPS [Durst]
106 QNX QNX [Hunter]
107 A/N Active Networks [Braden]
108 IPComp IP Payload Compression Protocol [RFC2393]
109 SNP Sitara Networks Protocol [Sridhar]
110 Compaq-Peer Compaq Peer Protocol [Volpe]
111 IPX-in-IP IPX in IP [Lee]
112 VRRP Virtual Router Redundancy Protocol [Hinden]
113 PGM PGM Reliable Transport Protocol [Speakman]
114 any 0-hop protocol [IANA]
115 L2TP Layer Two Tunneling Protocol [Aboba]
116 DDX D-II Data Exchange (DDX) [Worley]
117 IATP Interactive Agent Transfer Protocol [Murphy]
118 STP Schedule Transfer Protocol [JMP]
119 SRP SpectraLink Radio Protocol [Hamilton]
120 UTI UTI [Lothberg]
121 SMP Simple Message Protocol [Ekblad]
122 SM SM [Crowcroft]
123 PTP Performance Transparency Protocol [Welzl]
124 ISIS over IPv4 [Przygienda]
125 FIRE [Partridge]
126 CRTP Combat Radio Transport Protocol [Sautter]
127 CRUDP Combat Radio User Datagram [Sautter]
128 SSCOPMCE [Waber]
129 IPLT [Hollbach]
130 SPS Secure Packet Shield [McIntosh]
131 PIPE Private IP Encapsulation within IP [Petri]
132 SCTP Stream Control Transmission Protocol [Stewart]
133 FC Fibre Channel [Rajagopal]
134 RSVP-E2E-IGNORE [RFC3175]
135-254 Unassigned [IANA]
255 Reserved [IANA]
REFERENCES
[CFTP] Forsdick, H., "CFTP", Network Message, Bolt Beranek and
Newman, January 1982.
[CISCO] Cisco Systems, "Gateway Server Reference Manual", Manual
Revision B, January 10, 1988.
[DDN] Feinler, E., Editor, "DDN Protocol Handbook", Network
Information Center, SRI International, December 1985.
[DGP] M/A-COM Government Systems, "Dissimilar Gateway Protocol
Specification, Draft Version", Contract no. CS901145,
November 16, 1987.
[ETHERNET] "The Ethernet, A Local Area Network: Data Link Layer and
Physical Layer Specification", AA-K759B-TK, Digital
Equipment Corporation, Maynard, MA. Also as: "The
Ethernet - A Local Area Network", Version 1.0, Digital
Equipment Corporation, Intel Corporation, Xerox
Corporation, September 1980. And: "The Ethernet, A Local
Area Network: Data Link Layer and Physical Layer
Specifications", Digital, Intel and Xerox, November 1982.
And: XEROX, "The Ethernet, A Local Area Network: Data Link
Layer and Physical Layer Specification", X3T51/80-50,
Xerox Corporation, Stamford, CT., October 1980.
[IEN90] Cohen, D. and J. Postel, "Multiplexing Protocol", IEN 90,
USC/Information Sciences Institute, May 1979.
[IEN119] Forgie, J., "ST - A Proposed Internet Stream Protocol",
IEN 119, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, September 1979.
[IEN158] Haverty, J., "XNET Formats for Internet Protocol Version 4",
IEN 158, October 1980.
[MFENET] Shuttleworth, B., "A Documentary of MFENet, a National
Computer Network", UCRL-52317, Lawrence Livermore Labs,
Livermore, California, June 1977.
[PUP] Boggs, D., J. Shoch, E. Taft, and R. Metcalfe, "PUP: An
Internetwork Architecture", XEROX Palo Alto Research Center,
CSL-79-10, July 1979; also in IEEE Transactions on
Communication, Volume COM-28, Number 4, April 1980.
[SPRITE] Welch, B., "The Sprite Remote Procedure Call System",
Technical Report, UCB/Computer Science Dept., 86/302,
University of California at Berkeley, June 1986.
[RFC741] Cohen, D., "Specifications for the Network Voice Protocol",
RFC 741, ISI/RR 7539, USC/Information Sciences Institute,
March 1976.
[RFC768] Postel, J., "User Datagram Protocol", STD 6, RFC 768,
USC/Information Sciences Institute, August 1980.
[RFC791] Postel, J., "Internet Protocol - DARPA Internet Prnogram
Protocol Specification", STD 5, RFC 791, DARPA, September
1981.
[RFC792] Postel, J., "Internet Control Message Protocol - DARPA
Internet Program Protocol Specification", STD 5, RFC 792,
USC/Information Sciences Institute, September 1981.
[RFC793] Postel, J., "Transmission Control Protocol - DARPA
Internet Program Protocol Specification", STD 7, RFC 793,
USC/Information Sciences Institute, September 1981.
[RFC823] Hinden, R., and A. Sheltzer, "The DARPA Internet Gateway",
RFC 823, BBN, September 1982.
[RFC869] Hinden, R., "A Host Monitoring Protocol", RFC 869,
Bolt Beranek and Newman, December 1983.
[RFC888] Seamonson, L., and E. Rosen, "STUB" Exterior Gateway
Protocol", RFC 888, BBN Communications Corporation,
January 1984.
[RFC905] International Standards Organization, "ISO Transport Protocol
Specification - ISO DP 8073", RFC 905, April 1984.
[RFC908] Velten, D., R. Hinden, and J. Sax, "Reliable Data Protocol",
RFC 908, BBN Communications Corporation, July 1984.
[RFC938] Miller, T., "Internet Reliable Transaction Protocol", RFC 938,
ACC, February 1985.
[RFC969] Clark, D., M. Lambert, and L. Zhang, "NETBLT: A Bulk Data
Transfer Protocol", RFC 969, MIT Laboratory for Computer
Science, December 1985.
[RFC1112] Deering, S., "Host Extensions for IP Multicasting",
STD 5, RFC 1112, Stanford University, August 1989.
[RFC1190] Topolcic, C., Editor, "Experimental Internet Stream
Protocol, Version 2 (ST-II)", RFC 1190, CIP Working Group,
October 1990.
[RFC1241] Woodburn, W., and D. Mills, " A Scheme for an Internet
Encapsulation Protocol: Version 1", RFC 1241, SAIC,
University of Delaware, July 1991.
[RFC1583] Moy, J., "The OSPF Specification", RFC 1583, Proteon,
March 1994.
[RFC1735] Heinanen, J., and R. Govindan, " NBMA Address Resolution
Protocol (NARP)", RFC 1735, Telecom Finland and USC/ISI,
December 1994.
[RFC1819] L. Delgrossi, L. Berger, and ST2 Working Group, "Internet
Stream Protocol Version 2 (ST2) Protocol Specification
- Version ST2+", RFC 1819, August 1995.
[RFC1826] Atkinson, R., "IP Authentication Header", RFC 1826, Naval
Research Laboratory, August 1995.
[RFC1827] Atkinson, R., "IP Encapsulating Security Payload (ESP)", RFC
1827, Naval Research Laboratory, August 1995.
[RFC1883] Deering, S., and R. Hinden, "Internet Protocol, Version 6
(IPv6) Specification", RFC 1883, Xerox PARC, Ipsilon
Networks, December 1995.
[RFC2003] Perkins, C., "IP Encapsulation within IP", RFC 2003, IBM,
September 1996.
[RFC2393] Shacham, A., and R. Monsour, R. Pereira, M. Thomas, "IP
Payload Compression Protocol (IPComp)", RFC 2393, Cisco,
Hi/fn, TimeStep, AltaVista Internt, December 1998.
[RFC3175] F. Baker, C. Iturralde, F. Le Faucheur, B. Davie,
"Aggregation of RSVP for IPv4 and IPv6 Reservations",
RFC 3175, September 2001.
PEOPLE
[Aboba] Bernard Aboba <bernarda@microsoft.com>, April 1998.
[Ballardie] Tony Ballardie <A.Ballardie@cs.ucl.ac.uk>
[BCH2] Barry Howard <Howard@NMFECC.LLNL.GOV>
[BK29] Brian Kantor <brian@UCSD.EDU>
[BN7] <mystery contact>
[Braden] Bob Braden, <braden@isi.edu>,, July 1997.
[BWB6] Barry Boehm <boehm@ARPA.MIL>
[BXH] Brian Horn <---none--->
[BXW] Bruce Willins <---none--->
[Callon] Ross Callon, <rcallon@baynetworks.com>, December 1995.
[Carpenter] Brian Carpenter, <brian@dxcoms.cern.ch>, January 1995.
[Crowcroft] Jon Crowcroft <jon@cs.ucl.ac.uk>, June 1999.
[DDC1] David Clark <ddc@LCS.MIT.EDU>
[DLM1] David Mills <Mills@HUEY.UDEL.EDU>
[DRC3] Dave Cheriton <cheriton@PESCADERO.STANFORD.EDU>
[Deering] Steve Deering, <deering@parc.xerox.com>, March 1995.
[Doraswamy] Naganand Doraswamy, <naganand@BayNetworks.com>, September 1997.
[Durst] Robert Durst, <durst@mitre.org>, March 1997.
[DXE1] Deborah Estrin <estrin@usc.edu>
[Farinacci] Dino Farinacci, <dino@cisco.com>, March 1996.
[Feldman] Nancy Feldman <nkf@vnet.ibm.com> January 1997.
[DXF] Dirk Fromhein <df@watershed.com>
[DXM2] David Mittnacht <---none--->
[David Johnson] <mystery contact>
[Ekblad] Leif Ekblad <leif.ekblad@eslov.mail.telia.com>, March 1999.
[GAL5] Guillermo A. Loyola <LOYOLA@IBM.COM>
[GLENN] K. Robert Glenn <glenn@osi.ncsl.nist.gov>
[GXC] Greg Chesson <Greg@SGI.COM>
[GXS] Guenther Schreiner <snmp-admin@ira.uka.de>
[GXT1] Gene Tsudik <tsudik@USC.EDU>
[Hamilton] Mark Hamilton <mah@spectralink.com>, November 1998.
[HCF2] Harry Forsdick <Forsdick@BBN.COM>
[Hinden] Bob Hinden, <hinden@ipsilon.com>, November 1995, 1997.
[Hunter] Michael Hunter, <mphunter@qnx.com>, July 1997.
[HWB] Hans-Werner Braun <HWB@MCR.UMICH.EDU>
[HXH] Howard Hart <hch@hybrid.com>
[IANA] Internet Assigned Numbers Authority, <iana@iana.org>, June 1995.
[JBP] Jon Postel <postel@isi.edu>
[JMP] Jean-Michel Pittet, <jmp@gandalf.engr.sgi.com>, November 1998.
[JC120] <mystery contact>
[JFH2] Jack Haverty <jhaverty@ORACLE.COM>
[JI6] John Ioannidis <ji@CS.COLUMBIA.EDU>
[JTM4] John Moy <jmoy@PROTEON.COM>
[JWF] Jim Forgie <FORGIE@XN.LL.MIT.EDU>
[JXS] Jim Stevens <Stevens@ISI.EDU>
[KATZ] Dave Katz <dkatz@cisco.com>
[Lee] CJ Lee, <cj_lee@novell.com>, October 1997.
[Lothberg] Peter Lothberg <roll@stupi.se>, March 1999.
[Markson] Tom Markson, <markson@osmosys.ingog.com>, September 1995.
[MB] Mike Brescia <Brescia@CCV.BBN.COM>
[MBG] Michael Greenwald <Greenwald@SCRC-STONY-BROOK.SYMBOLICS.COM>
[McIntosh] Bill McIntosh <BMcIntosh@fortresstech.com>
[ML109] Mike Little <little@MACOM4.ARPA>
[MTR] Marshall T. Rose <mrose@dbc.mtview.ca.us>
[Murphy] John Murphy <john.m.murphy@mci.com>, October 1998.
[MXS1] Martha Steenstrup <MSteenst@BBN.COM>
[NC3] J. Noel Chiappa <JNC@XX.LCS.MIT.EDU>
[Oberg] Christer Oberg <chg@bull.se> October 1994.
[Partridge] Criag Partridge <craig@bbn.com>, August 1999.
[Perkins] Charlie Perkins <perk@watson.ibm.com>, October 1994.
[Petri] Bernhard Petri <bernhard.petri@icn.siemens.de>, March 2000
[Presotto] Dave Presotto <presotto@plan9.att.com>, July 1995.
[Przygienda] Tony Przygienda <prz@siara.com>, August 1999.
[PXL1] Paul Liu <---none--->
[Rajagopal] Murali Rajagopal, <murali@gadzoox.com>, May 2000.
[RH6] Robert Hinden <Hinden@ENG.SUN.COM>
[RTB3] Bob Braden <braden@isi.edu>
[RC77] <mystery contact>
[RDH1] Russ Housley <rhousley@rsasecurity.com>
[RWS4] Robert W. Scheifler <RWS@XX.LCS.MIT.EDU>
[RXB3] Robert Woodburn <woody@cseic.saic.com>
[Sautter] Robert Sautter <rsautter@acdnj.itt.com>, August 1999.
[SAF3] Stuart A. Friedberg <stuart@CS.WISC.EDU>
[SC3] Steve Casner <casner@isi.edu
[SGC] Steve Chipman <Chipman@F.BBN.COM>
[SHB] Steven Blumenthal <BLUMENTHAL@VAX.BBN.COM>
[Speakman] Tony Speakman <speakman@cisco.com>, January 1998.
[Sridhar] Manickam R.Sridhar <msridhar@sitaranetworks.com>, September 1997.
[Stewart] Randall R. Stewart <rstewar1@email.mot.com>, April 2000.
[Sue Hares] Sue Hares <skh@merit.edu>
[SXA] Susie Armstrong <Armstrong.wbst128@XEROX.COM>
[SXD] Steve Deering <deering@PARC.XEROX.COM>
[Tony Li] Tony Li <tli@cisco.com>
[TXM] Trudy Miller <Trudy@ACC.COM>
[Volpe] Victor Volpe <vvolpe@smtp.microcom.com>, October 1997.
[VXD] Victor Dafoulas <---none--->
[Waber] Kurt Waber <kurt.waber@swisscom.com>, August 1999.
[Welzl] Michael Welzl <michael@tk.uni-linz.ac.at>, August 1999.
[WM3] William Melohn <Melohn@SUN.COM>
[WXC] Wesley Craig <Wesley.Craig@terminator.cc.umich.edu>
[Worley] John Worley <worley@milehigh.net>, June 1998.
[ZSU] Zaw-Sing Su <ZSu@TSCA.ISTC.SRI.>
[]