Skip to content


Switch branches/tags

The official OpenEmbedded/Yocto BSP layer for Altera SoCFPGA platforms

This layer works with poky and Angstrom

Please follow the recommended setup procedures of your OE distribution.

Supported u-boot and linux kernels

It is important to understand the support and release of u-boot-socfpga and linux-socfpga in the repositories. Only currently supported and maintained releases/branches are available in the repository. As such, supported kernel and u-boot releases are updated regularly in currently supported meta-altera branches. Kernel and u-boot releases which are no longer supported are removed.

Supported branches

Only branches listed appropriately in are maintained.

Choosing Kernel Versions

This layer has a few providers for the kernel. These are the linux-altera, linux-altera-lts, linux-altera-ltsi, and linux-altera-ltsi-rt kernels. There are also linux-altera-dev and linux-altera-ltsi-dev kernels which follow the current development versions of those kernels.

To specify a linux-altera kernel, add the following to your conf/local.conf

PREFERRED_PROVIDER_virtual/kernel = "linux-altera"
PREFERRED_VERSION_linux-altera = "4.3%"

or for the linux-altera-lts kernel

PREFERRED_PROVIDER_virtual/kernel = "linux-altera-lts"
PREFERRED_VERSION_linux-altera = "5.4%"

or for the linux-altera-ltsi kernel

PREFERRED_PROVIDER_virtual/kernel = "linux-altera-ltsi"
PREFERRED_VERSION_linux-alterai-ltsi = "3.10%"

Please note that older kernels will not compile with GCC 5+ and you will need to specify in your conf/local.conf to revert to older 4.9 toolchain.

Specifying Devicetrees and U-Boot Configurations

All of the supported machines select default uboot configurations and devicetrees. These selections can be overridden in the local.conf or by defining your own machine in your own layer.

An example of the is the DE0-Nano-SoC board, which is a supported configuration in the Cyclone5 machine definition.

UBOOT_CONFIG = "de0-nano-soc"
UBOOT_EXTLINUX_FDT_default = "../socfpga_cyclone5_de0_nano_soc.dtb"

The above overrides the uboot configuration, "de0-nano-soc" is a target in u-boot, and configures distroboot to indicate the de0-nano-soc devicetree. Please keep in mind that not all targets are using distroboot in u-boot and may require u-boot environment changes.

Choosing Toolchain Versions

The default Toolchain for ARM in Angstrom is the linaro toolchain. To specify the use of this toolchain in Yocto add the following to conf/local.conf

GCCVERSION = "linaro-5.2"
SDKGCCVERSION = "linaro-5.2"
DEFAULTTUNE = "cortexa9hf-neon"

To use older kernels not supported by GCC 5+ you will need to use the 4.9 toolchain.

For Yocto:

GCCVERSION = "linaro-4.9"
SDKGCCVERSION = "linaro-4.9"
DEFAULTTUNE = "cortexa9hf-neon"

For Angstrom:

ANGSTROM_GCC_VERSION_arm = "linaro-4.9%"

Submit patches via github pull requests, Use github issues to report problems or to send comments

Maintainer(s): Khem Raj


Official Altera BSP layer for OpenEmbedded/Yocto Project







No releases published


No packages published