Find file
Fetching contributors…
Cannot retrieve contributors at this time
243 lines (216 sloc) 5.68 KB
Kerberos Version 5, Release 1.10
Release Notes
The MIT Kerberos Team
Copyright and Other Notices
Copyright (C) 1985-2010 by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
and its contributors. All rights reserved.
Please see the file named NOTICE for additional notices.
Building and Installing Kerberos 5
The first file you should look at is doc/; it contains
the notes for building and installing Kerberos 5. The info file has the same information in info file format. You
can view this using the GNU emacs info-mode, or by using the
standalone info file viewer from the Free Software Foundation. This
is also available as an HTML file, install.html.
Other good files to look at are and,
which contain the system administrator's guide, and the user's guide,
respectively. They are also available as info files and, respectively. These files are
also available as HTML files.
If you are attempting to build under Windows, please see the
src/windows/README file.
Reporting Bugs
Please report any problems/bugs/comments using the krb5-send-pr
program. The krb5-send-pr program will be installed in the sbin
directory once you have successfully compiled and installed Kerberos
V5 (or if you have installed one of our binary distributions).
If you are not able to use krb5-send-pr because you haven't been able
compile and install Kerberos V5 on any platform, you may send mail to
You may view bug reports by visiting
and logging in as "guest" with password "guest".
DES transition
The Data Encryption Standard (DES) is widely recognized as weak. The
krb5-1.7 release contains measures to encourage sites to migrate away
from using single-DES cryptosystems. Among these is a configuration
variable that enables "weak" enctypes, which defaults to "false"
beginning with krb5-1.8.
Major changes in 1.10
krb5-1.10 changes by ticket ID
Past and present Sponsors of the MIT Kerberos Consortium:
Carnegie Mellon University
Centrify Corporation
Columbia University
Cornell University
The Department of Defense of the United States of America (DoD)
Iowa State University
Michigan State University
The National Aeronautics and Space Administration
of the United States of America (NASA)
Network Appliance (NetApp)
Nippon Telephone and Telegraph (NTT)
Pennsylvania State University
Red Hat
Stanford University
TeamF1, Inc.
The University of Alaska
The University of Michigan
The University of Pennsylvania
Past and present members of the Kerberos Team at MIT:
Danilo Almeida
Jeffrey Altman
Justin Anderson
Richard Basch
Mitch Berger
Jay Berkenbilt
Andrew Boardman
Bill Bryant
Steve Buckley
Joe Calzaretta
John Carr
Mark Colan
Don Davis
Alexandra Ellwood
Dan Geer
Nancy Gilman
Matt Hancher
Thomas Hardjono
Sam Hartman
Paul Hill
Marc Horowitz
Eva Jacobus
Miroslav Jurisic
Barry Jaspan
Geoffrey King
Kevin Koch
John Kohl
HaoQi Li
Peter Litwack
Scott McGuire
Steve Miller
Kevin Mitchell
Cliff Neuman
Paul Park
Ezra Peisach
Chris Provenzano
Ken Raeburn
Jon Rochlis
Jeff Schiller
Jen Selby
Robert Silk
Bill Sommerfeld
Jennifer Steiner
Ralph Swick
Brad Thompson
Harry Tsai
Zhanna Tsitkova
Ted Ts'o
Marshall Vale
Tom Yu
The following external contributors have provided code, patches, bug
reports, suggestions, and valuable resources:
Brandon Allbery
Russell Allbery
Brian Almeida
Michael B Allen
Derek Atkins
David Bantz
Alex Baule
Arlene Berry
Jeff Blaine
Radoslav Bodo
Emmanuel Bouillon
Michael Calmer
Ravi Channavajhala
Srinivas Cheruku
Leonardo Chiquitto
Howard Chu
Andrea Cirulli
Christopher D. Clausen
Kevin Coffman
Simon Cooper
Sylvain Cortes
Nalin Dahyabhai
Roland Dowdeswell
Jason Edgecombe
Mark Eichin
Shawn M. Emery
Douglas E. Engert
Peter Eriksson
Ronni Feldt
Bill Fellows
JC Ferguson
William Fiveash
Ákos Frohner
Marcus Granado
Scott Grizzard
Helmut Grohne
Steve Grubb
Philip Guenther
Dominic Hargreaves
Jakob Haufe
Jeff Hodges
Love Hörnquist Åstrand
Ken Hornstein
Henry B. Hotz
Luke Howard
Jakub Hrozek
Shumon Huque
Jeffrey Hutzelman
Wyllys Ingersoll
Holger Isenberg
Pavel Jindra
Joel Johnson
Mikkel Kruse
Volker Lendecke
Jan iankko Lieskovsky
Ryan Lynch
Franklyn Mendez
Markus Moeller
Paul Moore
Zbysek Mraz
Edward Murrell
Nikos Nikoleris
Dmitri Pal
Javier Palacios
Ezra Peisach
W. Michael Petullo
Mark Phalan
Robert Relyea
Martin Rex
Jason Rogers
Mike Roszkowski
Guillaume Rousse
Tom Shaw
Peter Shoults
Simo Sorce
Michael Ströder
Bjørn Tore Sund
Rathor Vipin
Jorgen Wahlsten
Max (Weijun) Wang
John Washington
Marcus Watts
Simon Wilkinson
Nicolas Williams
Ross Wilper
Xu Qiang
Hanz van Zijst
The above is not an exhaustive list; many others have contributed in
various ways to the MIT Kerberos development effort over the years.
Other acknowledgments (for bug reports and patches) are in the
doc/CHANGES file.