Skip to content
Resources & Links for learning more about browsers
Branch: master
Clone or download
Latest commit fd2a3fd May 21, 2019
Permalink
Type Name Latest commit message Commit time
Failed to load latest commit information.
README.md Update README.md May 22, 2019

README.md

Happy Browser, Happy User

Resources & Links for learning more about browsers

Browser Architecture:

Inside Look at Modern Web Browsers (Parts 1-4) - Mariko Kosakara https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2018/09/inside-browser-part1 https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2018/09/inside-browser-part2 https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2018/09/inside-browser-part3 https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2018/09/inside-browser-part4

Entering the Quantum Era—How Firefox got fast again and where it’s going to get faster - Lin Clark https://hacks.mozilla.org/2017/11/entering-the-quantum-era-how-firefox-got-fast-again-and-where-its-going-to-get-faster/

How Browsers Work - Tali Garsiel and Paul Irish https://www.html5rocks.com/en/tutorials/internals/howbrowserswork/

Modern Multi-Process Browser Architecture - Helge Klein https://helgeklein.com/blog/2019/01/modern-multi-process-browser-architecture/

WebKit Architecture - Alexandru Chiculita http://webkithacks.github.io/webkit_presentations/architecture/

How browsers work: Code Newbie Podcast - Lin Clark & Saron Yitbarek https://www.codenewbie.org/podcast/how-do-browsers-work

Networking:

TCP Slow Start - Stefan Wintermeyer https://calendar.perfplanet.com/2018/tcp-slow-start/

A cartoon intro to dns over https - Lin Clark https://hacks.mozilla.org/2018/05/a-cartoon-intro-to-dns-over-https/

HTTP Caching - MDN https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/HTTP/Caching

An overview of the SSL Handshake - Robert Van Rijn https://medium.com/@vanrijn/an-overview-of-the-ssl-handshake-3885c37c3e0f

To push, or not to push?! The future of HTTP/2 server push - Patrick Hamann / JSConf EU 2018 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cznVISavm-k

Parsing & Preloading:

Who's afraid of the big bad preloader - Yoav Weiss / Velocity 2014 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7yf_tR6kKc

Building the DOM faster: speculative parsing, async, defer and preload - Milica Mihajlija https://hacks.mozilla.org/2017/09/building-the-dom-faster-speculative-parsing-async-defer-and-preload/

An Introduction and Guide to the CSS Object Model (CSSOM) - Louis Lazaris https://css-tricks.com/an-introduction-and-guide-to-the-css-object-model-cssom/

Javascript startup optimization - Addy Osmani https://developers.google.com/web/fundamentals/performance/optimizing-content-efficiency/javascript-startup-optimization/

Rendering & Compositing:

Rendering performance inside out – Martin Splitt / Front-Trends 2017 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfMWAIc0xSU

Rendering performance (and all child pages!) - Google Web Fundamentals - Paul Lewis https://developers.google.com/web/fundamentals/performance/rendering/

The whole web at maximum FPS: How WebRender gets rid of jank - Lin Clark https://hacks.mozilla.org/2017/10/the-whole-web-at-maximum-fps-how-webrender-gets-rid-of-jank/

Inside a super fast CSS engine: Quantum CSS (aka Stylo) - Lin Clark https://hacks.mozilla.org/2017/08/inside-a-super-fast-css-engine-quantum-css-aka-stylo/

Accelerated Rendering in Chrome: The layer model - Tom Wiltzius https://www.html5rocks.com/en/tutorials/speed/layers/

What forces layout / reflow - Paul Irish https://gist.github.com/paulirish/5d52fb081b3570c81e3a

The five whys of web font loading performance - Zach Leatherman / Performance.now() 2018 https://vimeo.com/304099438

Interaction & JS execution

The cost of Javascript - Addy Osmani https://medium.com/@addyosmani/the-cost-of-javascript-in-2018-7d8950fbb5d4

Why web developers need to care about interactivity - Philip Walton https://philipwalton.com/articles/why-web-developers-need-to-care-about-interactivity/

JavaScript Engines: The Good Parts™ - Mathias Bynens & Benedikt Meurer / JSConf EU 2018 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5nmpokoRaZI

The Javascript event loop - Flavio Copes https://flaviocopes.com/javascript-event-loop/

Jank Free http://jankfree.org/

What is first input delay? - Ire Aderinokun https://bitsofco.de/what-is-first-input-delay/

Great books on general performance topics!

Designing for performance - Lara Hogan http://designingforperformance.com

Web Performance in Action - Jeremy Wagner https://www.manning.com/books/web-performance-in-action

High performance mobile web - Maximiliano Firtman http://shop.oreilly.com/product/0636920035060.do

You can’t perform that action at this time.