Skip to content
Permalink
master
Switch branches/tags
Go to file
 
 
Cannot retrieve contributors at this time
title weight slug aliases description
Kubernetes 1.24 Release Information
98
release
/release
Information regarding the current release cycle including important dates, Release Team contact information, tracking spreadsheets and more!

Kubernetes 1.24

Links

Tracking docs

Guides

Summary

The 1.24 release cycle is as follows:

  • Monday 10th January 2022: Week 1 — Release cycle begins
  • Thursday 27th January 2022: Week 3 — Production Readiness Soft Freeze
  • 02:00 UTC Friday 4th February 2022 / 18:00 PST Thursday 3rd February 2022 : Week 4 — Enhancements Freeze
  • Wednesday 23rd March 2022: Week 11 — Release Retrospective part 1
  • 01:00 UTC Wednesday 30th March 2022 / 02:00 BST Wednesday 30th March 2022 / 18:00 PDT Tuesday 29th March 2022: Week 12 — Code Freeze
  • 01:00 UTC Wednesday 6th April 2022 / 02:00 BST Wednesday 6th April 2022 / 18:00 PDT Tuesday 5th April 2022: Week 13 — Test Freeze
  • Tuesday 12th April 2022: Week 14 — Docs must be completed and reviewed
  • Tuesday 19th April 2022: Week 15 — Kubernetes v1.24.0 released
  • Wednesday 27th April 2022: Week 16 — Release Retrospective part 2
  • Thursday 28th April 2022: Week 16 — Release Retrospective part 3

Timeline

What Who When Week CI Signal
Start of Release Cycle Lead Monday 10th January 2022 week 1 master-blocking
Start Enhancements Tracking Enhancements Lead Monday 10th January 2022 week 1
Schedule finalized Lead Friday 14th January 2022 week 1
Team finalized Lead Friday 14th January 2022 week 1
Start Release Notes Draft Release Notes Lead Tuesday 25th January 2022 week 3
Production Readiness Soft Freeze Enhancements Lead Thursday 27th January 2022 week 3
1.24.0-alpha.2 released Branch Manager Tuesday 1st February 2022 Week 4
Begin Enhancements Freeze Enhancements Lead 02:00 UTC Friday 4th February 2022 / 18:00 PST Thursday 3rd February 2022 week 4 master-blocking, master-informing
1.24.0-alpha.3 released Branch Manager Tuesday 15th February 2022 Week 6
(most of) North America enters Daylight Savings Time Sunday 13th March 2022
Begin Burndown (Monday, Wednesday, and Friday meetings) Lead Monday 21st March 2022 week 11 1.24-blocking, master-blocking, master-informing
Call for Exceptions Lead Monday 21st March 2022 week 11
Brace Yourself, Code Freeze is Coming Comms / Bug Triage Monday 21st March 2022 week 11
Begin Feature blog freeze Comms Lead 01:00 UTC Wednesday 23rd March 2022 / 18:00 PDT Tuesday 22nd March 2022 week 11
1.24.0-alpha.4 released Branch Manager Tuesday 22nd March 2022 Week 11
Release retrospective part 1 (Time TBC) Community Wednesday 23rd March 2022 week 11
(most of) Europe enters Daylight Savings Time Sunday 27th March 2022
Burndown Meetings daily Lead Monday 28th March 2022 week 12
Begin Code Freeze Branch Manager 01:00 UTC Wednesday 30th March 2022 / 02:00 BST Wednesday 30th March 2022 / 18:00 PDT Tuesday 29th March 2022 week 12
1.24.0-beta.0 released Branch Manager Wednesday 30th March 2022 week 12
Docs deadline — Open placeholder PRs Docs Lead Thursday 31st March 2022 week 12
Deprecations and Removals blog published Comms Thursday 31st March 2022 week 12
Test Freeze Branch Manager 01:00 UTC Wednesday 6th April 2022 / 02:00 BST Wednesday 6th April 2022 / 18:00 PDT Tuesday 5th April 2022 week 13
Docs deadline — PRs ready for review Docs Lead Tuesday 5th April 2022 week 13
1.24.0-rc.0 released Branch Manager Tuesday 5th April 2022 week 13
release-1.24 branch created Branch Manager Tuesday 5th April 2022 week 13
release-1.24 jobs created Branch Manager Tuesday 5th April 2022 week 13
Start final draft of Release Notes Release Notes Lead Tuesday 5th April 2022 week 13
Release blog ready to review Comms / Docs 01:00 UTC Wednesday 6th April 2022 / 02:00 BST Wednesday 6th April 2022 / 18:00 PDT Tuesday 5th April 2022 week 13
Docs complete — All PRs reviewed and ready to merge Docs Lead Tuesday 12th April 2022 week 14
Feature blogs ready to review Enhancement Owner / SIG Leads Tuesday 12th April 2022 week 14
Release Notes complete — reviewed & merged to k/sig-release Release Notes Lead 01:00 UTC Friday 15th April 2022 / 02:00 BST Friday 15th April 2022 / 18:00 PDT Thursday 14th April 2022 week 14
1.24.0-rc.1 released Branch Manager Friday 15th April 2022 week 14
v1.24.0 released Branch Manager Tuesday 19th April 2022 week 15
Release blog published Comms Tuesday 19th April 2022 week 15
Thaw Branch Manager Tuesday 19th April 2022 week 15
Release retrospective part 2 (Time TBC) Community Wednesday 27th April 2022 week 16
Release retrospective part 3 (Time TBC) Community Thursday 28th April 2022 week 16

Phases

Please refer to the release phases document.