Skip to content
Permalink
master
Switch branches/tags
Go to file
 
 
Cannot retrieve contributors at this time
title weight slug aliases description
Kubernetes 1.25 Release Information
98
release
/release
Information regarding the current release cycle including important dates, Release Team contact information, tracking spreadsheets and more!

Kubernetes 1.25

Links

Tracking docs

Guides

Summary

The 1.25 release cycle is as follows:

  • Monday 23rd May 2022: Week 1 — Release cycle begins
  • Thursday 9th June 2022: Week 3 — Production Readiness Soft Freeze
  • 02:00 UTC Friday 17th June 2022 / 18:00 PST Thursday 16th June 2022 : Week 4 — Enhancements Freeze
  • Wednesday 27th July 2022: Week 10 — Release Retrospective part 1
  • 01:00 UTC Wednesday 3rd August 2022 / 02:00 BST Wednesday 3rd August 2022 / 18:00 PDT Tuesday 2nd August 2022: Week 11 — Code Freeze
  • 01:00 UTC Wednesday 10th August 2022 / 02:00 BST Wednesday 10th August 2022 / 18:00 PDT Tuesday 9th August 2022: Week 12 — Test Freeze
  • Tuesday 16th August 2022: Week 13 — Docs must be completed and reviewed
  • Tuesday 23rd August 2022: Week 14 — Kubernetes v1.25.0 released
  • TBC: Week 16 — Release Retrospective part 2

Timeline

What Who When Week CI Signal
KubeCon EU May 16-20 2022 week 0
Start of Release Cycle Lead Monday 23rd May 2022 week 1 master-blocking
Start Enhancements Tracking Enhancements Lead Monday 23rd May 2022 week 1
Schedule finalized Lead Friday 27th May 2022 week 1
Team finalized Lead Friday 27th May 2022 week 1
Start Release Notes Draft Release Notes Lead Tuesday 7th June 2022 week 3
Production Readiness Soft Freeze Enhancements Lead Thursday 9th June 2022 week 3
1.25.0-alpha.2 released Branch Manager TBD Week 4
Begin Enhancements Freeze Enhancements Lead 02:00 UTC Friday 17th June 2022 / 18:00 PST Thursday 16th June 2022 week 4 master-blocking, master-informing
1.25.0-alpha.3 released Branch Manager TBD Week 6
Begin Friday APAC-friendly meetings Lead Friday 8th July 2022 Week 7
Begin Burndown (Monday, Wednesday, and Friday meetings) Lead Monday 25th July 2022 week 10 1.25-blocking, master-blocking, master-informing
Call for Exceptions Lead Monday 25th July 2022 week 10
Brace Yourself, Code Freeze is Coming Comms / Bug Triage Monday 25th July 2022 week 10
Begin Feature blog freeze Comms Lead 01:00 UTC Wednesday 27th July 2022 / 18:00 PDT Tuesday 26th July 2022 week 10
1.25.0-alpha.4 released Branch Manager TBD Week 10
Release retrospective part 1 Community 17:00 UTC Wednesday 27th July 2022 / 10:00 PDT Wednesday 27th July 2022 week 10
Burndown Meetings daily Lead Monday 1st August 2022 week 11
Begin Code Freeze Branch Manager 01:00 UTC Wednesday 3rd August 2022 / 02:00 BST Wednesday 3rd August 2022 / 18:00 PDT Tuesday 2nd August 2022 week 11
1.25.0-beta.0 released Branch Manager TBD week 11
Docs deadline — Open placeholder PRs Docs Lead Thursday 4th August 2022 week 11
Deprecations and Removals blog published Comms Thursday 4th August 2022 week 11
Test Freeze Branch Manager 01:00 UTC Wednesday 10th August 2022 / 02:00 BST Wednesday 10th August 2022 / 18:00 PDT Tuesday 9th August 2022 week 12
Docs deadline — PRs ready for review Docs Lead Tuesday 9th August 2022 week 12
1.25.0-rc.0 released Branch Manager TBD week 12
release-1.25 branch created Branch Manager TBD week 12
release-1.25 jobs created Branch Manager TBD week 12
Start final draft of Release Notes Release Notes Lead Tuesday 9th August 2022 week 12
Release blog ready to review Comms / Docs 01:00 UTC Wednesday 10th August 2022 / 02:00 BST Wednesday 10th August 2022 / 18:00 PDT Tuesday 9th August 2022 week 12
Docs complete — All PRs reviewed and ready to merge Docs Lead Tuesday 16th August 2022 week 13
Feature blogs ready to review Enhancement Owner / SIG Leads Tuesday 16th August 2022 week 13
Release Notes complete — reviewed & merged to k/sig-release Release Notes Lead 01:00 UTC Friday 19th August 2022 / 02:00 BST Friday 19th August 2022 / 18:00 PDT Thursday 18th August 2022 week 13
1.25.0-rc.1 released Branch Manager TBD week 13
v1.25.0 released Branch Manager Tuesday 23rd August 2022 week 14
Release blog published Comms Tuesday 23rd August 2022 week 14
Thaw Branch Manager Tuesday 23rd August 2022 week 14
Release retrospective part 2 (Time TBC) Community TBC week 15

Phases

Please refer to the release phases document.