Skip to content
New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

All notes deleted after new client added #1358

Closed
stalker314314 opened this issue Mar 21, 2019 · 2 comments
Closed

All notes deleted after new client added #1358

stalker314314 opened this issue Mar 21, 2019 · 2 comments

Comments

@stalker314314
Copy link

@stalker314314 stalker314314 commented Mar 21, 2019

Repro:

  • Have a bunch of notebooks on one machine (Windows both), synced to Nextcloud
  • Install Joplin on a new machine (you get Welcome notes there)
  • Delete Welcome notes (so, there is 0 notebooks now)
  • Go to Tools->General Options and configure Nextcloud sync
  • Check it is working, press OK
  • Press "Synchronise"
  • There was some text saying that something was deleted/modified, but I cannot remember
  • Watch in horror as your Nextcloud client is removing all .md files from all your machines as you question you life choices
  • Joplin shows 0 notebooks with no (obvious) way to do anything to restore old notebooks

I managed to scavenge bunch of .md files directly in Nextcloud joplin/ directory. Not sure if there is something missing though.

This is either bug in my usage, or bug in app, or just very weird UX. I tried to do what I assumed will sync my existing notes on new machine, but I got sync other way around and my joplin seems to be wiped.

@tessus

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Collaborator

@tessus tessus commented Mar 21, 2019

Yea, in that case you should not lose any data. The only time you can lose data is, if you switch the sync target. But since you didn't have one in the first place, there shouldn't be any deletion of your local notes.

@laurent22 will have to have a look at it...

@stalker314314

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Author

@stalker314314 stalker314314 commented Mar 30, 2019

My apologies. After looking at original machine, it still have data. I missed subdirectory on new machine and I (accidentaly) synced empty notes. I will optimistically close this issue, unless there are some UX work that you might think. Once again - I am really sorry.

@lock lock bot locked and limited conversation to collaborators Oct 15, 2019
Sign up for free to subscribe to this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in.
Projects
None yet
Linked pull requests

Successfully merging a pull request may close this issue.

None yet
2 participants
You can’t perform that action at this time.