Skip to content
master
Go to file
Code

Latest commit

 

Git stats

Files

Permalink
Failed to load latest commit information.
Type
Name
Latest commit message
Commit time
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

README.md

Movie Database

A simple movie database app with an OMDB search field that will autofill the form with necessary movie data for released movies.

Built With

  • React
  • Material-UI
  • PostgreSQL
  • OMDB API

Getting Started

Either clone or download the project onto your computer. Create a PostgreSQL database named movies and start up the PostgreSQL server.

Prerequisites

If you have any movie cover images you would like to use outside of ones that you might find through an OMDB database search, copy them into the project images folder with names you will remember.

Installing

Run npm install in the main project folder, and run the following PostgreSQL query:

CREATE TABLE "genres" (
	"id" SERIAL PRIMARY KEY,
	"name" VARCHAR(25) NOT NULL
);

CREATE TABLE "movies" (
	"id" SERIAL PRIMARY KEY,
	"name" VARCHAR(120) NOT NULL,
	"genre_id" INT REFERENCES "genres" NOT NULL,
	"release_date" DATE NOT NULL,
	"run_time" INT NOT NULL,
	"image" VARCHAR(1000)
);

For dummy data, run the following PostgreSQL query:

INSERT INTO "genres" ("name") VALUES
('Action'),			--1
('Action-Comedy'),	--2
('Adventure'),		--3
('Animation'),		--4
('Biography'),		--5
('Comedy'),			--6
('Comedy-Romance'),	--7
('Crime'),			--8
('Documentary'),	--9
('Drama'),			--10
('Family'),			--11
('Fantasy'),		--12
('Film Noir'),		--13
('History'),		--14
('Horror'),			--15
('Music'),			--16
('Musical'),		--17
('Mystery'),		--18
('Romance'),		--19
('Sci-Fi'),			--20
('Short'),			--21
('Sport'),			--22
('Superhero'),		--23
('Thriller'),		--24
('War'),			--25
('Western');		--26

INSERT INTO "movies" ("name", "genre_id", "release_date", "run_time", "image") VALUES
('Avengers: Infinity War', '1', '2018-04-27', '149', 'avengers-infinity-war.jpg'),
('Black Panther', '1', '2018-02-16', '134', 'black-panther.jpg'),
('Thor: Ragnarok', '1', '2017-11-03', '130', 'thor-ragnarok.jpg'),
('Cobra Kai', '2', '2018-05-02', '30', 'cobra-kai.jpg'),
('Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle', '2', '2017-12-20', '119', 'jumanji-welcome-to-the-jungle.jpg'),
('Deadpool', '2', '2016-02-12', '108', 'deadpool.jpg'),
('Solo: A Star Wars Story', '3', '2018-05-25', '135', 'solo-a-star-wars-story.jpg'),
('Ready Player One', '3', '2018-03-29', '140', 'ready-player-one.jpg'),
('Avengers: Age of Ultron', '3', '2015-05-01', '141', 'avengers-age-of-ultron.jpg'),
('Peter Rabbit', '4', '2018-02-09', '95', 'peter-rabbit.jpg'),
('Isle of Dogs', '4', '2018-04-13', '101', 'isle-of-dogs.jpg'),
('Coco', '4', '2017-11-21', '105', 'coco.jpg'),
('The Greatest Showman', '5', '2017-12-20', '105', 'the-greatest-showman.jpg'),
('Winchester', '5', '2018-02-02', '99', 'winchester.jpg'),
('The Post', '5', '2018-01-12', '116', 'the-post.jpg'),
('Overboard', '6', '1987-12-16', '106', 'overboard.jpg'),
('I Feel Pretty', '6', '2018-04-20', '110', 'i-feel-pretty.jpg'),
('Blockers', '6', '2018-04-06', '102', 'blockers.jpg'),
('Love, Simon', '7', '2018-03-16', '110', 'love-simon.jpg'),
('Sherlock Gnomes', '7', '2018-03-23', '86', 'sherlock-gnomes.jpg'),
('Scott Pilgrim vs. the World', '7', '2010-08-13', '112', 'scott-pilgrim-vs-the-world.jpg'),
('Den of Thieves', '8', '2018-01-19', '140', 'den-of-thieves.jpg'),
('Super Troopers 2', '8', '2018-04-20', '99', 'super-troopers-2.jpg'),
('Game Night', '8', '2018-02-23', '100', 'game-night.jpg'),
('McQueen', '9', '2018-05-18', '111', 'mcqueen.jpg'),
('Avicii: True Stories', '9', '2017-10-26', '97', 'avicii-true-stories.jpg'),
('Operation Odessa', '9', '2018-03-09', '95', 'operation-odessa.jpg'),
('A Quiet Place', '10', '2018-04-06', '90', 'a-quiet-place.jpg'),
('Hostiles', '10', '2018-01-26', '134', 'hostiles.jpg'),
('Red Sparrow', '10', '2018-03-02', '140', 'red-sparrow.jpg'),
('Lost in Space', '11', '1998-04-03', '130', 'lost-in-space.jpg'),
('Wonder', '11', '2017-11-17', '113', 'wonder.jpg'),
('Ferdinand', '11', '2017-12-15', '108', 'ferdinand.jpg'),
('Doctor Strange', '12', '2016-11-04', '115', 'doctor-strange.jpg'),
('Star Wars: The Last Jedi', '12', '2017-12-15', '152', 'star-wars-the-last-jedi.jpg'),
('Justice League', '12', '2017-11-17', '120', 'justice-league.jpg'),
('Hollow Triumph', '13', '1949-02-03', '83', 'hollow-triumph.jpg'),
('Sunset Boulevard', '13', '1950-09-29', '110', 'sunset-boulevard.jpg'),
('Laura', '13', '1944-11-01', '88', 'laura.jpg'),
('12 Strong', '14', '2018-01-19', '130', '12-strong.jpg'),
('Dunkirk', '14', '2017-07-21', '106', 'dunkirk.jpg'),
('Darkest Hour', '14', '2017-12-22', '125', 'darkest-hour.jpg'),
('Truth or Dare', '15', '2018-04-13', '100', 'truth-or-dare.jpg'),
('Annihilation', '15', '2018-02-23', '115', 'annihilation.jpg'),
('Bad Samaritan', '15', '2018-05-04', '110', 'bad-samaritan.jpg'),
('Pitch Perfect 3', '16', '2017-12-22', '93', 'pitch-perfect-3.jpg'),
('Forever My Girl', '16', '2018-01-19', '108', 'forever-my-girl.jpg'),
('Baby Driver', '16', '2017-06-28', '112', 'baby-driver.jpg'),
('Beauty and the Beast', '17', '2017-03-17', '129', 'beauty-and-the-beast.jpg'),
('Moana', '17', '2016-11-23', '107', 'moana.jpg'),
('Sing', '17', '2016-12-21', '108', 'sing.jpg'),
('You Were Never Really Here', '18', '2018-04-06', '89', 'you-were-never-really-here.jpg'),
('The Commuter', '18', '2018-01-12', '105', 'the-commuter.jpg'),
('Blade Runner 2049', '18', '2017-10-06', '164', 'blade-runner-2049.jpg'),
('Disobedience', '19', '2018-04-27', '114', 'disobedience.jpg'),
('Call Me by Your Name', '19', '2018-01-19', '132', 'call-me-by-your-name.jpg'),
('Fifty Shades Freed', '19', '2018-02-09', '105', 'fifty-shades-freed.jpg'),
('The Avengers', '20', '2012-05-04', '143', 'the-avengers.jpg'),
('Guardians of the Galaxy', '20', '2014-08-01', '121', 'guardians-of-the-galaxy.jpg'),
('Spider-Man: Homecoming', '20', '2017-07-07', '133', 'spider-man-homecoming.jpg'),
('Darth Maul: Apprentice', '21', '2016-03-05', '18', 'darth-maul-apprentice.jpg'),
('Auditorium 6', '21', '2017-10-25', '35', 'auditorium-6.jpg'),
('Pandas', '21', '2018-04-06', '40', 'pandas.jpg'),
('I, Tonya', '22', '2018-01-19', '120', 'i-tonya.jpg'),
('The Karate Kid', '22', '1984-06-22', '126', 'the-karate-kid.jpg'),
('Bring It On', '22', '2000-08-25', '98', 'bring-it-on.jpg'),
('Iron Man', '23', '2008-05-02', '126', 'iron-man.jpg'),
('Ant-Man', '23', '2015-07-17', '117', 'ant-man.jpg'),
('Wonder Woman', '23', '2017-06-02', '141', 'wonder-woman.jpg'),
('Maze Runner: The Death Cure', '24', '2018-01-26', '141', 'maze-runner-the-death-cure.jpg'),
('Anon', '24', '2018-05-04', '100', 'anon.jpg'),
('It', '24', '2017-09-08', '135', 'it.jpg'),
('The Yellow Birds', '25', '2017-01-21', '110', 'the-yellow-birds.jpg'),
('Hacksaw Ridge', '25', '2016-11-04', '139', 'hacksaw-ridge.jpg'),
('Full Metal Jacket', '25', '1987-07-10', '116', 'full-metal-jacket.jpg'),
('The Dark Tower', '26', '2017-08-04', '95', 'the-dark-tower.jpg'),
('The Hateful Eight', '26', '2015-12-30', '187', 'the-hateful-eight.jpg'),
('Django Unchained', '26', '2012-12-25', '165', 'django-unchained.jpg');

Completed Features

High level list of items completed.

  • Search OMDB for a movie and autofill any fields with the returned data
  • Search for a movie in the project database
  • Enter in the movie information manually for any other movies

Next Steps

Features that you would like to add at some point in the future.

  • Create cards of OMDB movie searches so you can see what you'll be adding

Deployment

Run npm start and go to http://localhost:5000 to view the project live

Authors

  • Shely Dexter

Acknowledgments

  • Open Movie Database

About

No description, website, or topics provided.

Resources

Releases

No releases published

Packages

No packages published