Skip to content


Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with
Download ZIP
Fetching contributors…

Cannot retrieve contributors at this time

249 lines (201 sloc) 10.4 KB
Thu May 16 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Tagged 1.5.2, before starting some big work.
Mon May 13 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Added a warning popup dialog when people do "blank" searches that
would result in the entire database getting displayed. Thanks to
Randy in KC for the idea.
Thu May 9 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Added Scrollwheel mouse support in the scrolled listboxes. Thanks
to Bling-Bling in Raleigh for the idea.
Wed May 8 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Released version 1.5
Thu May 2 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Added some hardcoded "use" lines at the top of the script. This
is required by perl2exe, which I am investigating using for
the Windows builds.
* Added code to check for a file named "default.mrv" in the hotkey
save directory. If that exists, load up those hotkeys when
the program starts. Suggested by Randy at CSZ-KC.
* Fixed a bug where the "Number of items returned" count wouldn't
decrement when an MP3 is unavailable/unreadable.
Wed Apr 24 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* More documentation work between 4/15 and now.
* Placed requirement on new module to show length of WAV files
* Broke out song-length code into its own function to better
abstract that part.
Mon Apr 15 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Sent the taxes off. Yuck.
* Clarified some stuff in the docs in preparation for shipping
the software to Buffalo and KC.
* Removed the dependancy on Data::Dumper, since I don't think that's
Mon Feb 11 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Released version 1.4
Thu Feb 7 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Changed the Add Song box to use color instead of *'s to denote
required fields.
* Switched the documentation screenshots from .jpg/.eps (which
were not working well) to .png. Seems to be better for both
Wed Feb 6 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Took a first stab at adding an icon for the program. Maybe one
of these days Holly will draw me one that looks better.
Tue Feb 5 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Minor change to the "Open File" box, so that it searches
for both upper and lowercase in file extensions (*.mp3 and
*.MP3 both)
Mon Feb 4 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Celebrated the Patriots' Super Bowl win.
* Changed the main menubar to use the new-style system
described in Mastering Perl/Tk, Chapter 12.
Fri Feb 2 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Changed the Entry widgets to BrowseEntry widgets in the search
area, so now you have a quick-reference to things you have
recently searched for.
Sun Jan 27 2002 H. Wade Minter (
* Changed code so that it does file types other than MP3.
Fri Dec 22 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Using Makefiles for the docs now. Yes, I'm bored.
Thu Dec 21 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Moved the PHP frontend file into the tools subdirectory.
* Fixed bug that kept the Play option on the right-click menu
from working.
Wed Dec 20 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Created a "tools" subdirectory to hold useful utilities.
* Added - a utility to report on and delete orphaned
MP3 files.
Fri Dec 8 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Changed preferences menu to use a tabbed-notebook-style widget,
instead of just displaying everything on one window.
Tue Dec 4 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Fixed bug with Dynamic Documents menu.
* Added screenshots for documentation.
* Improved presentation of screenshots in documentation.
Sat Nov 17 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Fixed a bug that was preventing File->Open from working.
Fri Nov 16 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Added a "holding tank" feature, requested by K. Christie and J.
Thu Nov 15 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Change the layout of the search fields so that the text boxes
are justified.
* Added a busy/unbusy call to the search function, so that the cursor
changes to a watch while the search is in progress.
Mon Nov 12 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Using Win32::Process to start/stop the MP3 player on Windows. A much
cleaner (and working!) solution.
Thanks to Jack D.<> for the tip.
* Clicking the "close window" X in the window manager will now call the
clean-shutdown "do_exit" function.
Sat Nov 10 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Several changes:
+ Added Control-key accelerators to quit, load/save hotkeys, and open
hotkey box.
+ Generalized some window functions.
+ Made sure only one copy of the hotkey box can be open at a time.
+ Fixed bug in open file status message (spurious newline).
+ Set the Unix MP3 player start to use fork/exec and kill, while Windows
still uses open() and close()
Sat Nov 3 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Changed dynamic document menu to be a cascade off of the File
menu, rather than having the files appear at the bottom of the
File menu.
Mon Oct 29 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Version 1.3 released.
Fri Oct 26 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Fixed bug with the dynamic document menu, which would cause
the Exit option to get erased.
* Had to redefine a Perl/Tk function to fix a problem with
dragging-and-dropping. Thanks to Slaven Rezic <>
Thu Oct 25 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Added label to show you which category is currently selected.
* Added preferences option to choose the number of dynamic
documents to keep in the File menu.
* Changed drag-and-drop to show just the song title, not the entire
* Right-clicking a song now gives you the option to play it.
Wed Oct 24 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Changed hotkey display to side-by-side instead of top-bottom.
* Added color to the play/stop buttons.
* Added drag-and-drop support for the hotkeys.
* Thanks to Larry and Kasey for the suggestions!
Wed Oct 17 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Added a right-click menu to enable editing and deleting
songs right from the listbox.
Fri Sep 28 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Fixed bug to enable hotkeys from subwindows.
Thu Sep 27 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Cleaned up the path handling for Windows and Unix.
* Pretty much finished the documentation.
* Upped version number to 1.2 in preparation for release.
* Released version 1.2
Wed Sep 26 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Added the ability to have a C:\mrvoice.cfg file, the equivalent
of ~/.mrvoicerc under Unix.
* Removed the file, as part of the overall docs
cleanup and reorg.
Tue Sep 25 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Switched from Tk::FileDialog to getOpenFile/getSaveFile. This
has the benefit of removing a module dependency, and also using
the native file dialog boxes on Windows. Sweeeeet....
Tue Sep 18 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Fixed minor bug where clearing hotkeys wouldn't save old keys
for later restoration.
Tue May 08 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Added the Restore Hotkey feature.
* Added a "recently accessed" list under the File menu.
* Upped the version number to 1.1
Mon May 07 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Added the ability to source a ~/.mrvoicerc file for
database variables.
* Implemented a "restore hokeys" function.
Tue Mar 06 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Cleaned up a lot of documentation.
* Minor fixes in preparation for 1.0 release.
Mon Mar 05 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Got song additions working.
* Got song edits working.
* Declared it 1.0-pre
Sun Mar 04 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Finished the Category add/delete.
* Got song deletes working.
Sat Mar 03 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Got most of the Category add/delete functions working.
* Added a test for the MP3 player. Pops up an error box if
the player isn't found.
* Switched to Tk::FileDialog for the file dialogs.
Thu Mar 01 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Got most of the save/load functions working.
* Using DialogBox for a couple of static dialogs.
Tue Feb 27 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Fixed a couple of fairly serious bugs that would prevent
MP3s from playing.
* Released version 0.8.1 (Bugfix)
Sun Feb 25 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Added a category-modification PHP script.
* Added delete/modify to the mrvoice PHP script.
* Marked this as Release 0.8 (first public release)
Fri Feb 16 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Cleaned up code in preparation for releasing mrvoice to the
general public (shudder).
Tue Jan 30 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Released version 0.7.
* Fixed resize bug - resizing will now change the size of the listbox
and not much else.
* Added static hotkeys for often-used MIDIs.
Mon Jan 29 2001 H. Wade Minter (
* Released version 0.6.
* Started changelog (finally)
* Fixed bug that caused searches to crash when a file in the database
did not exist on the disk.
* Added Escape as a hotkey to stop the currently-playing MP3
* Added ability to clear selected hotkeys, instead of having to clear
all hotkeys.
* Added F11 and F12 as usable hotkeys. NOTE: F11 and F12 cause
problems under WindowMaker by default.
* Added more status notes for status line.
* Disabled the ability to resize the main box, until I figure out how
to get things to resize nicely.
CVS ID: $Id: ChangeLog,v 1.46 2002/05/16 14:03:33 minter Exp $
Jump to Line
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.