Skip to content

Moderating Rooms

Liv edited this page Jul 23, 2019 · 2 revisions

When you create a room in Hubs, the room is private by default. Sharing the link or access code with other people allows them to enter that specific room, so generally, you want to be aware of who has the link. That said, there are some use cases where communities may want to make their Hubs rooms more publicly available, and there are a number of ways that room owners can use features in Hubs to help make the experience positive for those attending.

Object Permissions

You can specify whether users in the room are able to create and move objects, pin content, and draw with the pen. To set these for your Hubs room, click the menu icon, select 'Room Settings', and toggle the permissions that you want to set. By default, users can create and move objects, pin content, draw, and create cameras.

Close a Room

When you are finished with a Hubs room, you can close the room by opening up the menu icon and selecting 'Close Room'. When you close a Hubs room, links and codes to the room will no longer work for anyone, including the room owner.

Temporary User Kick

You can kick a user from a room, which will also remove all of their non-pinned objects in the room. It is important to note that users who have the link to the room will still be able to re-access the room even after they are kicked. To temporarily kick a user from a room, the room owner can select the 'Kick' option from the avatar options while in Pause mode.

Discord Authentication

You can link a Hubs room to a channel in a Discord server and have your server members join with their Discord accounts. Banning a user from your server or removing them from the channel will prevent them from being able to re-join the linked Hubs room, even if that user still has the link to the room. You can learn more about the Hubs Discord bot here.

Promoting Room Moderators

When in a room with other trusted users, the room owner can promote other users to also have moderation permissions. Promoted moderators will have all of the same permissions as a room owner. It is important to ensure that users who are promoted to moderator are trusted parties, as they will have additional abilities to rename, change scenes, and close the room. To promote other users to moderators, select the user from the user list and click the 'Promote' button. Users need to be signed in to be promoted to moderators.

You can’t perform that action at this time.