New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

Add 'color identity' #45

Closed
Sembiance opened this Issue Aug 2, 2015 · 2 comments

Comments

Projects
None yet
3 participants
@Sembiance
Collaborator

Sembiance commented Aug 2, 2015

A user requested the following: "Commander/EDH, and color identity is what determines what cards can go in your decks for Commander. It refers to any colored mana symbol on the card, be it in the cost or text box. So, Yasova is URG, Talisman of Dominance is UB, Karn, Silver Golem is 'Colorless', the Pacts and Evermind are their respective colors as indicated by their Color Indicator, etc. Most cards are pretty straightforward, and just the color in the mana cost, but everything from Quagmire Druid to Memnarh to Lands (Sandsteppe Citadel) to Rattleclaw Mystic have color identities that differ than their casting cost.

http://mtgcommander.net/rules.php has an explanation of color identity (the official source of commander info/rules); it's also addressed in the comprehensive rules at 903.4 (http://magiccards.info/rule/903-commander.html)."

@Psithief

This comment has been minimized.

Show comment
Hide comment
@Psithief

Psithief Sep 20, 2015

  • Reminder text is not included in the colour identity of a card.

This was added to ensure Extort does not contribute to colour identity. I don't believe any other cards are affected.

Actually, no. I found another example in Charmed Pendant

{T}, Put the top card of your library into your graveyard: For each colored mana symbol in that card's mana cost, add one mana of that color to your mana pool. Activate this ability only any time you could cast an instant. (For example, if the card's mana cost is {3}{U}{U}{B}, you add {U}{U}{B} to your mana pool.)

Psithief commented Sep 20, 2015

  • Reminder text is not included in the colour identity of a card.

This was added to ensure Extort does not contribute to colour identity. I don't believe any other cards are affected.

Actually, no. I found another example in Charmed Pendant

{T}, Put the top card of your library into your graveyard: For each colored mana symbol in that card's mana cost, add one mana of that color to your mana pool. Activate this ability only any time you could cast an instant. (For example, if the card's mana cost is {3}{U}{U}{B}, you add {U}{U}{B} to your mana pool.)

@lsmoura

This comment has been minimized.

Show comment
Hide comment
@lsmoura

lsmoura Nov 16, 2015

Member

Just a heads-up: this is being worked on at the "commander" branch.

Member

lsmoura commented Nov 16, 2015

Just a heads-up: this is being worked on at the "commander" branch.

@lsmoura lsmoura self-assigned this Nov 16, 2015

@lsmoura lsmoura closed this in 5eff6cf Nov 30, 2015

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment