Skip to content

HTTPS clone URL

Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with HTTPS or Subversion.

Download ZIP
Newer
Older
100644 181 lines (110 sloc) 12.121 kb
601f25c Site updated at 2012-06-02 22:06:16 UTC
Divya Manian authored
1
2 <!doctype html>
3 <!--[if lt IE 9]> <html class="no-js oldie" lang="en"> <![endif]-->
4 <head>
5 <meta charset="utf-8">
6 <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge,chrome=1">
7 <title>Book Reviews for Dec 08 and Jan 09 | Divya Manian</title>
8 <meta name="author" content="Divya Manian">
9
10 <meta name="description" content="Book Reviews for December and January It has taken me two months to pack my belonging and move to Seattle. Meanwhile, my book reading suffered quite &hellip;">
11
12
13 <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1">
14
15
16 <link rel="canonical" href="http://nimbupani.github.com/book-reviews-for-dec-08-and-jan-09.html">
17 <link href="/stylesheets/screen.css" rel="stylesheet">
18 <link href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/nimbupani" rel="alternate" title="Subscribe" type="application/atom+xml">
19 <link href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/nimbu" rel="alternate" title="Subscribe to Web Development updates" type="application/atom+xml">
20
21 </head>
22
23
24 <body >
25 <div class="container">
26 <div class="content">
27 <header role="banner"> <h1><a href="/">Divya Manian</a></h1>
28
29 <h2><a class="twitter" href="https://twitter.com/divya">twitter</a> <a class="rss" href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/nimbupani">RSS Feed</a> <a class="youtube" href="http://youtube.com/nimbupani">Youtube Channel</a> <a class="github" href="https://github.com/nimbupani">Github</a></h2>
30
31 </header>
32 <nav class="sitenav"><a href="/">Home</a>
33 <a href="/archives">Archives</a>
34 <a href="/about.html">About</a>
35 </nav>
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44 <article>
45 <nav class="article">
46
5dc1495 Site updated at 2012-06-26 03:50:17 UTC
Divya Manian authored
47 <a class="previous" href="/my-last-veena-performance.html" title="My Last Veena Performance">&#x276C;</a>
601f25c Site updated at 2012-06-02 22:06:16 UTC
Divya Manian authored
48
49
5dc1495 Site updated at 2012-06-26 03:50:17 UTC
Divya Manian authored
50 <a class="next" href="/book-review-for-feb-2009.html" title="Book Review for Feb 2009">&#x276D;</a>
601f25c Site updated at 2012-06-02 22:06:16 UTC
Divya Manian authored
51
52
53
54 </nav>
55 <header>
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63 <time datetime="2009-02-08T00:00:00-08:00" pubdate><span class='month'>Feb</span> <span class='day'>08</span> <span class='year'>2009</span></time>
64
65 <h1 class="entry-title"><a href="/book-reviews-for-dec-08-and-jan-09.html">Book Reviews for Dec 08 and Jan 09</a></h1>
66
67
68
69
70 </header>
71 <div class="entry-content"><p>Book Reviews for December and January</p>
72
73 <p>It has taken me two months to pack my belonging and move to Seattle. Meanwhile, my book reading suffered quite a bit. But I did manage to complete reading about 7 books mostly in December. Here is what I read:</p>
74
75 <ul>
76 <li><h3>The Ballad of Halo Jones</h3>
77 <p>I enjoyed reading <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1401205909?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=1401205909">The Ballad of Halo Jones</a> lot more than reading <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1401219268?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=1401219268">Watchmen</a> or <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/140120841X?ie=UTF8&tag=nimb">V for Vendetta</a>. I really liked the way they have portrayed the protagonist, and the life that she <em>endures</em>, set sometime in the future. The fiction is ironically realistic and portrays women without any bias (very rare in a comic book). </p>
78 </li>
79 <li>
80 <h3>Kitchen</h3>
81 <p><a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0571171044?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0571171044">Kitchen</a> is a book that made me think a lot about Death. It is something I avoid thinking about, because it brings forth a lot of unanswered questions and thoughts. But this book&rsquo;s protagonist (who is shown as writing in first person) clearly has the same questions and doubts. The book also showcases the modern Japanese ways of living. Also interesting is the sub-plot of the relationship between a transexual mother and her son. It is not the kind of book that you will remember though.</p>
82 </li>
83 <li>
84 <h3>The Tin Drum</h3>
85 <p>I did not think I would read a heavyweight like G&uuml;nter Grass. Ever. But then I read about <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0749394757?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0749394757">The Tin Drum</a> and decided to read it for the heck of it - to see if I could actually complete such a book. I did! Though it is another matter that it seemed weird that the story features a boy who &ldquo;refuses to grow up&rdquo; and has (for a short period of time), glass-splitting shriek. I wonder if these are metaphors for something else. This book does have a great description of the <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Defense_of_the_Polish_Post_Office_in_Danzig">defense of the Polish Post Office in Danzig</a>.</p>
86 </li>
87 <li><h3>Cairo Modern</h3>
88 <p><a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/9774161564?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=9774161564">Cairo Modern</a> is a very insightful book written about Cairo in the forties. It is quite similar in some sense to <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1400076560?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=1400076560">The In-Between World of Vikram Lall</a> as it highlights the corruption in the Egyptian government and what a man would do to escape poverty and remain wealthy. The book also has an interesting character who is a fundamentalist probably based on <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sayyid_Qutb">Sayyid Qutb</a>. The book is worth a read just for the dialogues between the fundamentalist, the atheist, and the agnostic protagonists.</p>
89 </li>
90 <li>
91 <h3>Gertrude Bell: The Arabian Diaries 1913-1914</h3>
92 <p><a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0815606729?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0815606729">Gertrude Bell: The Arabian Diaries, 1913-1914</a> was a book I read at one go in the Central Library, Singapore. These are the diaries of <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gertrude_Bell">Gertrude Bell</a>, who was influential in creating the state of Iraq after the fall of the Ottoman Empire. The writing are written in the &ldquo;old style&rdquo; of long paragraphs and formal english, so it is difficult to keep focused, but what emerges is a great description of the life and times of Iraqis which seem no different from what it is today. I am in awe of Gertrude Bell, who in the twenties managed to undertake extraordinary adventures in a hostile territory. I liked the book for the adventures that Gertrude Bell nonchalantly describes as though she was just buttering toast!</p>
93 </li>
94 <li><h3>No God in Sight</h3>
95 <p><a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0144000601?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0144000601">No God in Sight</a> is an attempt at &ldquo;R.K.Narayanesque&rdquo; writing which does not have as much impact as those by R.K.Narayan. It has an interesting thread connecting one story to the other. But nothing really great about this book.</p>
96 </li>
97 <li>
98 <h3>The Hitchhiker&rsquo;s Guide to the Galaxy </h3>
99 <p>I first picked up Douglas Adams in my university days (I think at the prodding of <a href="http://nandinisniche.blogspot.com/">Nandini</a>). But I picked up <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0671742515?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0671742515">Long Dark Tea Time of the Soul</a> which made absolutely no sense. I was <a href="http://nimbupani.com/blog/god-is-no-w-here.html">infuriated at wasting my time reading such nonsense and gave up on it</a>. But after talking to <a href="http://twitter.com/maddyks">Maddyks</a> and <a href="http://twitter.com/grumpygorilla">Ashwin</a>, I decided to give <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0345391802?ie=UTF8&tag=nimbupani-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0345391802">The Hitchhiker&rsquo;s Guide to the Galaxy</a> a go. I am so glad I did! I haven&rsquo;t read a more funny sci-fi novel! I adore Marvin, the depressed robot so much! I did not appreciate the movie much, because I hadn&rsquo;t read the book then. But I need to watch it again! LOVE this book.</p></li>
100 </ul>
101
102 </div>
103
104 <footer>
105 <p class="meta">This post was posted by
106
107
108 <a href="/about.html">Divya Manian</a>
109 on
110
111
112
113
114
115
116 <time datetime="2009-02-08T00:00:00-08:00" pubdate><span class='month'>Feb</span> <span class='day'>08</span> <span class='year'>2009</span></time> in
117
118 . If you would like to update this post, <a href="https://github.com/nimbupani/nimbupani.github.com/blob/source/source/_posts/2009-02-08-book-reviews-for-dec-08-and-jan-09.md">please send a pull request</a>.
119 </p>
120 </footer>
121 </article>
122
123 <section>
124 <h1>Comments</h1>
125 <div id="disqus_thread" aria-live="polite"><noscript>Please enable JavaScript to view the <a href="http://disqus.com/?ref_noscript">comments powered by Disqus.</a></noscript>
126 </div>
127 </section>
128
129
130 </div>
131 </div>
132 <aside id="articles">
133 <p><img class="avatar"
134 src="http://a2.twimg.com/profile_images/1696865113/me_normal"
135 height=48> <a href="http://twitter.com/divya">Divya Manian</a> is a Web Developer in Seattle. <a href="/about.html">More about me ❭</a></p>
136 <h2>Posts on Web Development</h2>
2db5cff Site updated at 2012-06-18 17:59:15 UTC
Divya Manian authored
137 <ul><li><a href="/css-object-model.html">CSS Object Model</a></li><li><a href="/fake-bolding-of-web-fonts.html">Fake Bolding of Web Fonts</a></li><li><a href="/html5please-api.html">Html5please API</a></li><li><a href="/html5please.html">html5please</a></li><li><a href="/mustache.html">mustache, hogan, handlebars</a></li><li><a href="/redesign-notes.html">Redesign Notes</a></li><li><a href="/summary-of-various-exciting-css-drafts-and-proposals.html">Summary of various exciting CSS drafts and proposals</a></li><li><a href="/this-revolution-needs-new-revolutionaries.html">This revolution needs new revolutionaries</a></li><li><a href="/some-css-transition-hacks.html">Some CSS Transition hacks</a></li><li><a href="/safe-css-defaults.html">Safe CSS Defaults</a></li><li><a href="/unplugged-2011.html">Unplugged 2011</a></li><li><a href="/bokeh-with-css3-gradients.html">Bokeh with CSS3 Gradients</a></li><li><a href="/making-pure-css3-demos-better.html">Making "Pure CSS3" demos better</a></li><li><a href="/web-opener-at-opera.html">Web Opener at Opera</a></li><li><a href="/current-color-in-css.html">Current Color in CSS</a></li><li><a href="/css-vocabulary.html">CSS Vocabulary</a></li><li><a href="/active-web-development.html">Active Web Development</a></li><li><a href="/sexy-css3-buttons.html">Sexy CSS3 Buttons</a></li><li><a href="/accessible-css-barcharts.html">Accessible CSS Barcharts</a></li><li><a href="/svg-is-coming.html">SVG is coming!</a></li><li><a class="btn" href="/categories/web-development/">More</a></li></ul>
601f25c Site updated at 2012-06-02 22:06:16 UTC
Divya Manian authored
138 </aside>
139 <footer role="contentinfo"><p>
140 Copy to your heart’s content 2012 - Divya Manian -
141 <span class="credit">Powered by <a href="http://octopress.org">Octopress</a></span>
142 </p>
143
144
145 </footer>
146
147
148 <script type="text/javascript">
149 var disqus_shortname = 'nimbublog';
150 var disqus_developer = 1;
151
152
153 var disqus_url = 'http://nimbupani.com/book-reviews-for-dec-08-and-jan-09.html';
154 var disqus_identifier = 'http://nimbupani.com/book-reviews-for-dec-08-and-jan-09.html';
155
156
157
158
159 (function () {
160 var dsq = document.createElement('script'); dsq.type = 'text/javascript'; dsq.async = true;
161 dsq.src = 'http://' + disqus_shortname + '.disqus.com/embed.js';
162 (document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0] || document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0]).appendChild(dsq);
163 }());
164 </script>
165
166
167 <script src="/javascripts/octopress.js"></script>
168
169 <script>
170 var _gaq=[['_setAccount','UA-97188-1'],['_trackPageview']];
171 (function(d,t){var g=d.createElement(t),s=d.getElementsByTagName(t)[0];
172 g.src=('https:'==location.protocol?'//ssl':'//www')+'.google-analytics.com/ga.js';
173 s.parentNode.insertBefore(g,s)}(document,'script'));
174 </script>
175
176
177
178
179 </body>
180 </html>
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.