Skip to content
doc
Go to file
Code

Latest commit

Files

Permalink
Failed to load latest commit information.

README.md

Node.js API (N-API)

This repository is the home for ABI Stable Node API project (N-API). The goal of this project is to provide a stable Node API for native module developers. N-API aims to provide ABI compatibility guarantees across different Node versions and also across different Node VMs - allowing N-API enabled native modules to just work across different versions and flavors of Node.js without recompilations.

It is introduced by this Node enhancement proposal: 005-ABI-Stable-Module-API.md.

N-API is now part of core. Documentation is available here: https://nodejs.org/docs/latest/api/n-api.html.

As of Node.js version 8.6.0 N-API is enabled by default. If you use an N-API enabled module you will be warned that it is experimental as follows:

(node:16761) Warning: N-API is an experimental feature and could change at any time.

Node.js versions 8.12.0 and above provide N-API as a stable feature.

Branches

Currently this repo is being used only for meta issue management and future planning by the N-API team. All branches can be considered stale as they are no longer being maintained. Updates and changes to N-API are being done in the core repo.

API Design & Shape

The current shape of the API can be found in header file node_api.h. Full documentation is available as part of the standard Node.js API docs here: https://nodejs.org/docs/latest/api/n-api.html.

There is also a header-only C++ API, which simplifies development while still using the same ABI-stable Node API underneath. It is distributed as a separate npm package: https://www.npmjs.com/package/node-addon-api.

N-API enabled modules

Module Converted By Location Conversion Status Performance Assessment
leveldown n-api team https://github.com/sampsongao/leveldown/tree/napi Completed #55
nanomsg n-api team https://github.com/sampsongao/node-nanomsg/tree/napi Completed #57
canvas n-api team https://github.com/jasongin/node-canvas/tree/napi Completed #77
node-sass n-api team https://github.com/boingoing/node-sass/tree/napi Completed #82
iotivity gabrielschulhof https://github.com/gabrielschulhof/iotivity-node/tree/abi-stable Completed N/A
node-sqlite3 n-api team https://github.com/mhdawson/node-sqlite3/tree/node-addon-api Completed

Testing

In addition to running the tests in the converted modules we also have

How to get involved

  • Convert a native module to use N-API and report issues on conversion and performance;
  • Port ABI stable APIs to your fork of Node and let us know if there are gaps;
  • Review the roadmap and see how you can help accelerate this project.

Badges

The use of badges is recommended to indicate the minimum version of N-API required for the module. This helps to determine which Node.js major versions are supported. Addon maintainers can consult the N-API support matrix to determine which Node.js versions provide a given N-API version. The following badges are available:

N-API v1 Badge N-API v2 Badge N-API v3 Badge N-API v4 Badge N-API v5 Badge N-API v6 Badge N-API v7 Badge N-API Experimental Version Badge

Meeting

The team meets once a week on zoom. See the Node.js Calendar for the current time/day of the week. The link to participate to the meeting is: https://zoom.us/j/363665824 .

Project Participants

Active

Name GitHub Link
Arunesh Chandra aruneshchandra
Taylor Woll boingoing
Hitesh Kanwathirtha digitalinfinity
Gabriel Schulhof gabrielschulhof
Jim Schlight jschlight
Michael Dawson mhdawson
Nicola Del Gobbo NickNaso
Anisha Rohra anisha-rohra
Kyle Farnung kfarnung
Kevin Eady KevinEady

Emeritus

Name GitHub Link
Cory Mickelson corymickelson
Ian Halliday ianwjhalliday
Jason Ginchereau jasongin
Sampson Gao sampsongao
You can’t perform that action at this time.