[REVIEW]: Cine: A solar-pumped fluorescence model for cometary atmospheres #182

Open
whedon opened this Issue Feb 13, 2017 · 7 comments

Projects

None yet

3 participants

@whedon
Collaborator
whedon commented Feb 13, 2017 edited

Submitting author: @migueldvb (Miguel de Val-Borro)
Repository: https://github.com/migueldvb/cine
Version: v0.2
Editor: @arfon
Reviewer: @eteq
Archive: Pending

Status

status

Status badge code:

HTML: <a href="http://joss.theoj.org/papers/64becd25ed50bbec874fe4b614a3bd29"><img src="http://joss.theoj.org/papers/64becd25ed50bbec874fe4b614a3bd29/status.svg"></a>
Markdown: [![status](http://joss.theoj.org/papers/64becd25ed50bbec874fe4b614a3bd29/status.svg)](http://joss.theoj.org/papers/64becd25ed50bbec874fe4b614a3bd29)

Reviewers and authors:

Please avoid lengthy details of difficulties in the review thread. Instead, please create a new issue in the target repository and link to those issues (especially acceptance-blockers) in the review thread below. (For completists: if the target issue tracker is also on GitHub, linking the review thread in the issue or vice versa will create corresponding breadcrumb trails in the link target.)

Reviewer questions

Conflict of interest

  • As the reviewer I confirm that there are no conflicts of interest for me to review this work (such as being a major contributor to the software).

General checks

  • Repository: Is the source code for this software available at the repository url?
  • License: Does the repository contain a plain-text LICENSE file with the contents of an OSI approved software license?
  • Version: Does the release version given match the GitHub release (v0.2)?
  • Authorship: Has the submitting author (@migueldvb) made major contributions to the software?

Functionality

  • Installation: Does installation proceed as outlined in the documentation?
  • Functionality: Have the functional claims of the software been confirmed?
  • Performance: Have any performance claims of the software been confirmed?

Documentation

  • A statement of need: Do the authors clearly state what problems the software is designed to solve and who the target audience is?
  • Installation instructions: Is there a clearly-stated list of dependencies? Ideally these should be handled with an automated package management solution.
  • Example usage: Do the authors include examples of how to use the software (ideally to solve real-world analysis problems).
  • Functionality documentation: Is the core functionality of the software documented to a satisfactory level (e.g. API method documentation)?
  • Automated tests: Are there automated tests or manual steps described so that the function of the software can be verified?
  • Community guidelines: Are there clear guidelines for third parties wishing to 1) Contribute to the software 2) Report issues or problems with the software 3) Seek support

Software paper

  • Authors: Does the paper.md file include a list of authors with their affiliations?
  • A statement of need: Do the authors clearly state what problems the software is designed to solve and who the target audience is?
  • References: Do all archival references that should have a DOI list one (e.g. papers, datasets, software)?
@whedon whedon added the review label Feb 13, 2017
@whedon
Collaborator
whedon commented Feb 13, 2017

Hello human, I'm @whedon. I'm here to help you with some common editorial tasks for JOSS. @eteq it looks like you're currently assigned as the reviewer for this paper 🎉.

⭐️ Important ⭐️

If you haven't already, you should seriously consider unsubscribing from GitHub notifications for this (https://github.com/openjournals/joss-reviews) repository. As as reviewer, you're probably currently watching this repository which means for GitHub's default behaviour you will receive notifications (emails) for all JOSS reviews 😿

To fix this do the following two things:

  1. Set yourself as 'Not watching' https://github.com/openjournals/joss-reviews:

watching

  1. You may also like to change your default settings for this watching repositories in your GitHub profile here: https://github.com/settings/notifications

notifications

For a list of things I can do to help you, just type:

@whedon commands
@eteq eteq referenced this issue in migueldvb/cine Feb 21, 2017
Open

No orcid for Steven B. Charnley ? #1

@eteq
Collaborator
eteq commented Feb 21, 2017

Process question (maybe for @arfon, maybe for @whedon?) - should there be a PDF of the paper in the author's repo, or just the .md and .bib files (which are there already)?

@arfon
Collaborator
arfon commented Feb 22, 2017

Process question (maybe for @arfon, maybe for @whedon?) - should there be a PDF of the paper in the author's repo, or just the .md and .bib files (which are there already)?

.md and .bib files are fine. We generally compile these at the end into a PDF.

@eteq
Collaborator
eteq commented Feb 22, 2017

Alright, I've finished my initial review. I've created migueldvb/cine#1, migueldvb/cine#2, migueldvb/cine#4, migueldvb/cine#5 with detailed comments that need addressing.

One higher-level question (and the reason for the one un-checked item above) is the lack of API documentation. I think this might be intentional (see migueldvb/cine#5), but if not, that needs to be rectified.

One other procedural question for @arfon: in the process of doing this review I created a PR that @migueldvb merged (it was easier just to do that). Nominally I suppose that would now make me a co-author given that I have a commit in the repo. But of course that would look like a weird conflict-of-interest. Is there a policy for how this should work? (I'm perfectly fine not being an author, as it's a very minor change... But this is also sort of an academic curiosity.)

@arfon
Collaborator
arfon commented Feb 23, 2017

One other procedural question for @arfon: in the process of doing this review I created a PR that @migueldvb merged (it was easier just to do that). Nominally I suppose that would now make me a co-author given that I have a commit in the repo. But of course that would look like a weird conflict-of-interest. Is there a policy for how this should work? (I'm perfectly fine not being an author, as it's a very minor change... But this is also sort of an academic curiosity.)

Great question @eteq. I'm in the same situation for many of the submissions as I make small edits to the paper.mdfiles. Where I'm at on this:

  • I think that minor contributions made during the process of review are OK but should not result in the reviewing becoming an author
  • More major contributions which would likely warrant authorship are also OK but in this scenario then I think we'd want to find a second reviewer

Does that sound reasonable?

@eteq
Collaborator
eteq commented Feb 23, 2017

Yep, sounds good @arfon - in that case no issue here as the PR I sent definitely falls in the "minor" category.

@eteq
Collaborator
eteq commented Feb 25, 2017

@migueldvb - just to clarify in case you missed it above: migueldvb/cine#1 and migueldvb/cine#5 are currently awaiting response. Depending on the answer to migueldvb/cine#5, there may be additional documentation requirements, but once those issues are addressed, I think this is good to go.

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment