Skip to content
Browse files

Add missing documentation for shared folder issue with unit tests and…

… Python

lock file.

Addresses documentation need raised in bug 897155

Change-Id: Idc95c12f939948bbbefd84a79b3785e3c2fd752c
  • Loading branch information...
1 parent 3d46b46 commit 5f72723b4137ec59b4c6b376ddf6e7cb42df26b5 Duncan McGreggor committed
Showing with 17 additions and 0 deletions.
  1. +1 −0 Authors
  2. +16 −0 doc/source/devref/unit_tests.rst
View
1 Authors
@@ -40,6 +40,7 @@ Derek Higgins <higginsd@gmail.com>
Devendra Modium <dmodium@isi.edu>
Devin Carlen <devin.carlen@gmail.com>
Donal Lafferty <donal.lafferty@citrix.com>
+Duncan McGreggor <duncan@dreamhost.com>
Ed Leafe <ed@leafe.com>
Edouard Thuleau <edouard1.thuleau@orange.com>
Eldar Nugaev <reldan@oscloud.ru>
View
16 doc/source/devref/unit_tests.rst
@@ -131,6 +131,20 @@ Reusing an existing database may cause tests to fail if the schema has
changed. If any files in the ``nova/db/sqlalchemy`` have changed, it's a good
idea to recreate the test database.
+Gotchas
+-------
+
+**Running Tests from Shared Folders**
+
+If you are running the unit tests from a shared folder, you may see tests start
+to fail or stop completely as a result of Python lockfile issues [#f4]_. You
+can get around this by manually setting or updating the following line in
+``nova/tests/fake_flags.py``::
+
+ FLAGS['lock_path'].SetDefault('/tmp')
+
+Note that you may use any location (not just ``/tmp``!) as long as it is not
+a shared folder.
.. rubric:: Footnotes
@@ -141,3 +155,5 @@ idea to recreate the test database.
.. [#f3] There is an effort underway to use a fake DB implementation for the
unit tests. See https://lists.launchpad.net/openstack/msg05604.html
+
+.. [#f4] See Vish's comment in this bug report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/nova/+bug/882933

0 comments on commit 5f72723

Please sign in to comment.
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.