Skip to content
New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

Temporarily turn off cron CI run to adjust the time it starts #7534

Merged
merged 1 commit into from Apr 12, 2019

Conversation

Projects
None yet
2 participants
@Eric-Arellano
Copy link
Contributor

commented Apr 11, 2019

Problem

Right now the cron job triggers at 3 AM PST, which is 11 AM London. When it’s not daylight savings, these times are 2 AM PST and 10 AM London.

This is getting in the way of London developers using CI. We originally set this time so that US developers could program at night, but it's much more common London developers are programming in their morning / the workday, so this was the wrong thing to optimize for.

Solution

Temporarily turn off the cron job for the next day. Then, in a followup, restore the cron run at the exact time that we want the cron job to go off in the future.

Travis does not offer fine-tuned control of when the cron job starts, per https://docs.travis-ci.com/user/cron-jobs/, so we must follow this approach.

@Eric-Arellano Eric-Arellano marked this pull request as ready for review Apr 12, 2019

@Eric-Arellano Eric-Arellano merged commit 707a040 into pantsbuild:master Apr 12, 2019

@Eric-Arellano Eric-Arellano deleted the Eric-Arellano:turn-off-cron branch Apr 12, 2019

Eric-Arellano added a commit to Eric-Arellano/pants that referenced this pull request Apr 12, 2019

Eric-Arellano added a commit that referenced this pull request Apr 12, 2019

Restore cron CI run from #7534 to adjust the time it starts (#7538)
We want to run the cron job at 10 PM PST during non-DST and 11 PM PST during PST, so that the cron job does not run during office hours in London.

#7534 removed the cron job from our `.travis.yml` to allow this change. It turns out that PR was not at all necessary, and instead this is all managed through Travis's UI. So, this reverts the bad change. Instead, we will kick off the cron job in Travis's UI at the exact time desired.
Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment
You can’t perform that action at this time.