Skip to content

HTTPS clone URL

Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with
or
.
Download ZIP
Browse files

mm: vmscan: improve comment on low-page cache handling

Fix comment style and elaborate on why anonymous memory is force-scanned
when file cache runs low.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Satoru Moriya <satoru.moriya@hds.com>
Cc: Simon Jeons <simon.jeons@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
  • Loading branch information...
commit 11d16c25bbf7a3b7a43d7472e175cdd52961757d 1 parent 10316b3
@hnaz hnaz authored torvalds committed
Showing with 7 additions and 5 deletions.
  1. +7 −5 mm/vmscan.c
View
12 mm/vmscan.c
@@ -1713,13 +1713,15 @@ static void get_scan_count(struct lruvec *lruvec, struct scan_control *sc,
file = get_lru_size(lruvec, LRU_ACTIVE_FILE) +
get_lru_size(lruvec, LRU_INACTIVE_FILE);
+ /*
+ * If it's foreseeable that reclaiming the file cache won't be
+ * enough to get the zone back into a desirable shape, we have
+ * to swap. Better start now and leave the - probably heavily
+ * thrashing - remaining file pages alone.
+ */
if (global_reclaim(sc)) {
- free = zone_page_state(zone, NR_FREE_PAGES);
+ free = zone_page_state(zone, NR_FREE_PAGES);
if (unlikely(file + free <= high_wmark_pages(zone))) {
- /*
- * If we have very few page cache pages, force-scan
- * anon pages.
- */
fraction[0] = 1;
fraction[1] = 0;
denominator = 1;
Please sign in to comment.
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.