Skip to content

HTTPS clone URL

Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with HTTPS or Subversion.

Download ZIP
branch: REL7_2_STABLE

This branch is 120 commits ahead, 26144 commits behind master

Fetching latest commit…

Cannot retrieve the latest commit at this time

..
Failed to load latest commit information.
array
btree_gist
chkpass
cube
dbase
dblink
earthdistance
findoidjoins
fulltextindex
fuzzystrmatch
intarray
ipc_check
isbn_issn
lo
mSQL-interface
mac
miscutil
mysql
noupdate
oid2name
oracle
pg_controldata
pg_dumplo
pg_logger
pg_resetxlog
pg_upgrade
pgbench
pgcrypto
pgstattuple
retep
rserv
rtree_gist
seg
spi
start-scripts
string
tips
tools
tsearch
userlock
vacuumlo
xml
Makefile
README
contrib-global.mk

README

The PostgreSQL contrib tree
---------------------------

This subtree contains tools, modules, and examples that are not
maintained as part of the core PostgreSQL system, mainly because
they only address a limited audience or are too inelegant to be
sold as an official feature.  That, however, does not preclude
their usefulness.

Each subdirectory contains a README file with information about the
module.  Most items can be built with `gmake all' and installed
with `gmake install' in the usual fashion, after you have run the
`configure' script in the top-level directory.  Some directories
supply new user-defined functions, operators, or types.  After you
have installed the files you need to register the new entities in
the database system by running the commands in the supplied .sql
file.  For example,

	$ psql -d dbname -f module.sql

See the PostgreSQL documentation for more information about this
procedure.


Index:
------

array -
	Array iterator functions
	by Massimo Dal Zotto <dz@cs.unitn.it>

btree_gist -
	Support for emulating BTREE indexing in GiST
	by Oleg Bartunov <oleg@sai.msu.su> and Teodor Sigaev <teodor@stack.net>

chkpass -
	An auto-encrypted password datatype
	by D'Arcy J.M. Cain <darcy@druid.net>

cube -
	Multidimensional-cube datatype (GiST indexing example)
	by Gene Selkov, Jr. <selkovjr@mcs.anl.gov>

dbase -
	Converts from dbase/xbase to PostgreSQL
	by Maarten.Boekhold <Maarten.Boekhold@reuters.com>,
	   Frank Koormann <fkoorman@usf.uni-osnabrueck.de>,
	   Ivan Baldo <lubaldo@adinet.com.uy>

dblink -
	Allows remote query execution
	by  Joe Conway, joe.conway@mail.com

earthdistance -
	Operator for computing earth distance for two points
	by Hal Snyder <hal@vailsys.com>

findoidjoins -
	Finds the joins used by oid columns by examining the actual
	values in the oid columns and row oids.
	by Bruce Momjian <pgman@candle.pha.pa.us>

fulltextindex -
	Full text indexing using triggers
	by Maarten Boekhold <maartenb@dutepp0.et.tudelft.nl>

fuzzystrmatch -
	Levenshtein, metaphone, and soundex fuzzy string matching
	by Joe Conway <joseph.conway@home.com>, Joel Burton <jburton@scw.org>

intarray -
	Index support for arrays of int4, using GiST
	by Teodor Sigaev <teodor@stack.net> and Oleg Bartunov
	<oleg@sai.msu.su>.

ipc_check -
	Simple test script to help in configuring IPC.
	FreeBSD only, for now.

isbn_issn -
	PostgreSQL type extensions for ISBN (books) and ISSN (serials)
	by Garrett A. Wollman <wollman@khavrinen.lcs.mit.edu>

lo -
	Large Object maintenance
	by Peter Mount <peter@retep.org.uk> 

mSQL-interface -
	mSQL API translation library
	by Aldrin Leal <aldrin@americasnet.com>

mac -
	Support functions for MAC address types
	by Lawrence E. Rosenman <ler@lerctr.org>

miscutil -
	PostgreSQL assert checking and various utility functions
	by Massimo Dal Zotto <dz@cs.unitn.it>

mysql -
	utility to convert MySQL schema dumps to SQL92 and PostgreSQL
	by Thomas Lockhart <lockhart@alumni.caltech.edu>
	   Max Rudensky <fonin@ziet.zhitomir.ua>
	   Valentine Danilchuk <valdan@ziet.zhitomir.ua>

noupdate -
	trigger to prevent updates on single columns

oid2name - 
	maps numeric files to table names
	by B Palmer <bpalmer@crimelabs.net>

oracle -
	converts Oracle database schema to PostgreSQL
	by Gilles Darold <gilles@darold.net>

pg_controldata -
	Dump contents of pg_control (database master file)
	by Oliver Elphick <olly@lfix.co.uk>

pg_dumplo -
	Dump large objects
	by Karel Zak <zakkr@zf.jcu.cz>

pg_logger -
	Stdin-to-syslog gateway for PostgreSQL
	by Nathan Myers <ncm@nospam.cantrip.org>

pg_resetxlog -
	Reset the WAL log (pg_xlog) to recover from crash or format change
	by Tom Lane <tgl@sss.pgh.pa.us>

pg_upgrade -
	Upgrade from previous PostgreSQL version without pg_dump/reload
	by Bruce Momjian <pgman@candle.pha.pa.us>

pgbench -
	TPC-B like benchmarking tool
	by Tatsuo Ishii <t-ishii@sra.co.jp>

pgcrypto -
	Cryptographic functions
	by Marko Kreen <marko@l-t.ee>

pgstattuple -
	A function returns the percentage of "dead" tuples in a table
	by Tatsuo Ishii <t-ishii@sra.co.jp>

retep -
	tools to build retep tools packages
	by Peter T Mount <peter@retep.org.uk>

rserv -
	replication server
	by Vadim B. Mikheev <vadim4o@email.com>

rtree_gist -
	Support for emulating RTREE indexing in GiST
	by Oleg Bartunov <oleg@sai.msu.su> and Teodor Sigaev <teodor@stack.net>

seg -
	Confidence-interval datatype (GiST indexing example)
	by Gene Selkov, Jr. <selkovjr@mcs.anl.gov>

spi -
	Various trigger functions, examples for using SPI.

start-scripts - 
	Scripts for starting the server at boot time.
	
string -
	C-like input/output conversion routines for strings
	by Massimo Dal Zotto <dz@cs.unitn.it>

tips/apache_logging -
	Getting Apache to log to PostgreSQL
	by Terry Mackintosh <terry@terrym.com>

tools -
	Assorted developer tools
	by Massimo Dal Zotto <dz@cs.unitn.it>

tsearch -
	Full-text-index support using GiST
	by Teodor Sigaev <teodor@stack.net> and Oleg Bartunov
	<oleg@sai.msu.su>.

userlock -
	User locks
	by Massimo Dal Zotto <dz@cs.unitn.it>

vacuumlo -
	Remove orphaned large objects
	by Peter T Mount <peter@retep.org.uk>

xml -
	Storing XML in PostgreSQL
	by John Gray <jgray@azuli.co.uk>
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.