Cookbook for deploying haproxy in an OpenStack environment
Ruby Shell
Fetching latest commit…
Cannot retrieve the latest commit at this time.
Permalink
Failed to load latest commit information.
attributes
files/default
providers
recipes
resources
spec
templates/default
test
.gitignore
.kitchen.local.yml.example
.kitchen.yml
.ruby-version.example
.tailor
Berksfile
CONTRIBUTING.md
Gemfile
Gemfile.lock
README.md
TESTING.md
TODO
Thorfile
VERSION
Vagrantfile
chefignore
metadata.rb

README.md

Support

Issues have been disabled for this repository.
Any issues with this cookbook should be raised here:

https://github.com/rcbops/chef-cookbooks/issues

Please title the issue as follows:

[haproxy]: <short description of problem>

In the issue description, please include a longer description of the issue, along with any relevant log/command/error output.
If logfiles are extremely long, please place the relevant portion into the issue description, and link to a gist containing the entire logfile

Please see the contribution guidelines for more information about contributing to this cookbook.

Description

Installs and configures haproxy for use in an Openstack deployment

http://haproxy.1wt.eu/

Requirements

Chef 11.0 or higher required (for Chef environment use).

Platforms

This cookbook is actively tested on the following platforms/versions:

  • Ubuntu-12.04
  • CentOS-6.3

While not actively tested, this cookbook should also work the following platforms:

  • Debian/Mint derivitives
  • Amazon/Oracle/Scientific/RHEL

Cookbooks

The following cookbooks are dependencies:

  • apt
  • openssl
  • osops-utils
  • yum

Resources/Providers

virtual_server

Example:

haproxy_virtual_server "web" do
  lb_algo        "leastconn"
  vs_listen_ip   "192.168.100.10"
  vs_listen_port "80"
  real_servers   [{"ip" => "192.168.100.11", "port" => "80"}, {"ip" => "192.168.100.12", "port" => "80}]
end

lb_algo options are roundrobin, leastconn, source, defaults to roundrobin

configsingle

Example:

haproxy_configsingle "ec2-api" do
  action :create
  servers(
    "foo1" => {"host" => "1.2.3.4", "port" => "8774"},
    "foo2" => {"host" => "5.6.7.8", "port" => "8774"}
  )
  listen "0.0.0.0"
  listen_port "4568"
  notifies :restart, resources(:service => "haproxy"), :immediately
end

config

Example:

haproxy_config "api" do
  role "myrole"
  namespace "mynamespace"
  service "myservice"
end


# delete a config from haproxy.d
haproxy_config "some-api" do
  action :delete
  notifies :restart, resources(:service => "haproxy"), :immediately
end

Recipes

default

The default recipe will install haproxy with a generic haproxy.cfg configuration

Attributes

  • haproxy["admin_port"] - Admin port for haproxy statistics page
  • haproxy["admin_password"] - Admin password for haproxy statistics page (defaults to password when node["developer_mode"] = true)

Templates

  • haproxy.cfg.erb - Config for haproxy server
  • haproxy-default.cfg.erb - Config for upstart/init defaults on debian family
  • haproxy-new.cfg.erb - Config for haproxy.d configurations
  • vs_generic.cfg.erb - Config for virtual servers

License and Author

Author:: Justin Shepherd (justin.shepherd@rackspace.com)
Author:: Jason Cannavale (jason.cannavale@rackspace.com)
Author:: Ron Pedde (ron.pedde@rackspace.com)
Author:: Joseph Breu (joseph.breu@rackspace.com)
Author:: William Kelly (william.kelly@RACKSPACE.COM)
Author:: Darren Birkett (Darren.Birkett@rackspace.co.uk)
Author:: Evan Callicoat (evan.callicoat@RACKSPACE.COM)
Author:: Matt Thompson (matt.thompson@rackspace.co.uk)
Author:: Chris Laco (chris.laco@rackspace.com)

Copyright 2012-2013, Rackspace US, Inc.

Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the "License"); you may not use this file except in compliance with the License. You may obtain a copy of the License at

http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0

Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software distributed under the License is distributed on an "AS IS" BASIS, WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied. See the License for the specific language governing permissions and limitations under the License.