Skip to content
Permalink
Browse files

document mod_passenger tuning.

Since we're now using asyncio we had to adjust our MaxKeepAliveRequests
by x2 in order to have a healthy amount of simultaneous connections for
large amounts of systems.

Because the semaphore settings were also lowered this seems like an
adequate setting for now.

This documents the above and also scoots the Foreman-specific setup
topics for and under the Foreman section of docs/switch-host-setup.md

Change-Id: I93677ce70266726b63862e4446e5996d3d8920fc
  • Loading branch information...
sadsfae committed Sep 2, 2019
1 parent ea475d4 commit f0466a40405bc1955dbc33398db2fa5f9893287e
Showing with 13 additions and 4 deletions.
  1. +13 −4 docs/switch-host-setup.md
@@ -14,8 +14,9 @@ General guidelines of how to setup your network switches, servers and DNS for QU
* [QUADS Host Network Setup](#quads-host-network-setup)
* [Adding New QUADS Host](#adding-new-quads-host)
* [Integration into Foreman or a Provisioning System](#integration-into-foreman-or-a-provisioning-system)
* [Create Foreman Roles and Filters](#create-foreman-roles-and-filters)
* [Adding New QUADS Host IPMI](#adding-new-quads-host-ipmi)
* [Foreman Tuning](#foreman-tuning)
* [Create Foreman Roles and Filters](#create-foreman-roles-and-filters)
* [Adding New QUADS Host IPMI](#adding-new-quads-host-ipmi)
* [Add Optional SSH Keys](add-optional-ssh-keys)
* [Create QUADS IPMI Credentials](create-quads-ipmi-credentials)
* [Define Optional Public VLANS](#define-optional-public-vlans)
@@ -172,10 +173,18 @@ relayhost = [ip.address.of.your.relay.smtp.server]
```

### Integration into Foreman or a Provisioning System
* We will not be covering setting up [Foreman](https://theforeman.org) however that is documented [extensively here](https://theforeman.org/manuals/1.15/index.html).
* We will not be covering setting up [Foreman](https://theforeman.org) however that is documented [extensively here](https://theforeman.org/manuals/nightly/#3.InstallingForeman).
* We do provide some [example templates](https://github.com/redhat-performance/quads/tree/master/templates) for post-provisioning creation of system interface config files like ```/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-*``` for use with QUADs.

### Create Foreman Roles and Filters
#### Foreman Tuning
* Because we use `asyncio` and make direct calls to the Foreman API you may want to adjust your `MaxKeepAliveRequests` in your Apache configuration for `mod_passenger` to accomodate more simultaneous connections.
* In `/etc/httpd/conf.d/05-foreman.conf` and `/etc/httpd/conf.d/05-foreman-ssl.conf`

```
MaxKeepAliveRequests 200
```

#### Create Foreman Roles and Filters
* This is Foreman-specific so if you want another provisioning backend you can ignore it.
* We use RBAC roles and filters to allow per-cloud Foreman views into subsets of machines, QUADS will manage this for you once created.
* Each server has a role named after it

0 comments on commit f0466a4

Please sign in to comment.
You can’t perform that action at this time.