Utilities for manipulating PostScript documents
Shell Perl C Roff M4 Makefile
Fetching latest commit…
Cannot retrieve the latest commit at this time.
Permalink
Failed to load latest commit information.
old-scripts
tests
.gitignore
ChangeLog
LICENSE
Makefile.am
README
bootstrap
bootstrap.conf
configure.ac
dummy.c
epsffit
epsffit.1
extractres
extractres.1
includeres.1
psbook
psbook.1
psjoin
psjoin.1
psnup
psnup.1
psresize
psresize.1
psselect
psselect.1
pstops.1
pstops.c
psutils.1

README

PostScript Utilities

Web site: https://github.com/rrthomas/psutils
Maintainer: Reuben Thomas <rrt@sc3d.org>

PSUtils is a suite of utilities for manipulating PostScript documents
produced according to the Document Structuring Conventions (some older
software may need to be configured to produce DSC-conformant
PostScript; if PSUtils doesn't work, check your documentation). It is
possible to select and rearrange pages, including arrangement into
signatures for booklet printing, and page merging for n-up printing.

If you simply want to use PSUtils, you will find it in most GNU/Linux
distributions; it is available in brew for macOS and Cygwin for Windows.

PSUtils should work in any POSIX environment (support on
non-POSIX systems may be provided by gnulib).

It is also recommended to install paper, which allows a sensible default
paper size to be discovered, and configured by the user:

paper: https://github.com/rrthomas/paper


PROGRAMS

psbook          rearrange pages into signatures
psselect        select pages and page ranges
pstops          perform general page rearrangement and selection
psnup           put multiple pages on to one page
psresize        alter document paper size
epsffit         fit an EPSF file to a given bounding box
extractres      filter to extract resources from PostScript files
includeres      filter to include resources into PostScript files
psjoin          concatenate multiple PostScript files

psselect in modeled on Chris Torek's dviselect, as is psbook, via
Angus Duggan's dvibook; pstops is modeled on Tom Rokicki's dvidvi.

A number of scripts for fixing up the output of obsolete proprietary
programs for treatment by psutils are included in the old-scripts directory.


INSTALLATION

To build, you need the following programs installed, as well as a
standard POSIX environment and C compiler:

  automake, autoconf, git, perl

Then run:

./bootstrap && ./configure && make && [sudo] make install

For installation options, see ./configure --help


BUGS

The utilities don't check for PS-Adobe-?.? conformance; they assume documents
conform.

Please send bug reports, patches and suggestions to the bug tracker or
maintainer (see the top of this file).


ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

PSUtils was written by Angus Duggan, who maintained it up to release 1
patchlevel 17.

Bug fixes and suggestions for improvements to PSUtils have come from many
people, including:

        Brian Colfer            brianc@labmed.ucsf.edu
        Charles A. Finnell      finnell@org.mitre.lear
        Conrad Kimball          cek@com.boeing.sdc
        J. W. Hawtin
        Jochen Schwarze         schwarze@de.isa
        Ken Carpenter           khc@edu.ksu.eece
        Kristian Jorg           etxkrjg@se.ericsson.solsta
        Larry Weissman          larryw@nsr.bioeng.washington.edu 
        Michael L. Brown        brown@wi.extrel.com
        Hunter Goatley	        goathunter@wkuvx1.bitnet
        John Interrante         interran@uluru.Stanford.edu
        Maurizio Cremonesi      MAUCREM@imiclvx.earn
        Matthew Stier           Matthew.Stier@East.Sun.com
        Gerry Pratt             cca13@seq1.kl.ac.uk
        Robert Joop             rj@rainbow.in-berlin.de
	Johan Vromans		jv@mh.nl
	Bryan Faubion		bryanf@tc.fluke.com
	Chris Ritson		C.R.Ritson@ncl.ac.uk
	Michele Marziani	MARZIANI@VAXFE.INFN.IT
	Michael I. Schwartz	mschwart@diana.cair.du.edu
	Chris Ritson		C.R.Ritson@newcastle.ac.uk
	Joerg Eisenreich
	Andreas Borchert	borchert@mathematik.uni-ulm.de
	Mike Coleman
	Dale Scheetz		dwarf@polaris.net
	Yves Arrouye		arrouye@marin.fdn.fr
	Stanislav Brabec	utx@penguin.cz
        Reuben Thomas           rrt@sc3d.org

(Apologies to anyone left out; it was not intentional.)