Tell Microsoft to drop ICE as a client or lose us as GitHub users
Switch branches/tags
Nothing to show
Clone or download
Latest commit 70613f1 Jul 12, 2018
Permalink
Failed to load latest commit information.
README.md Added Ruth Miller Jul 11, 2018

README.md

ice immigration and customs enforcement powered by microsoft

In The Press
Gizmodo · cnet · Seattle PI · PC Magazine · The Mary Sue · BGR · FOSSBytes
The Inquirer · Street Signals · Business Standard · Outlook
Media Inquiries? Email


Microsoft: Drop ICE! / Microsoft: Deja a ICE!

Tell Microsoft to drop ICE as a client or lose us as GitHub users
Dile a Microsoft que deje ICE como cliente o nos perderá como usuarios de GitHub

Earlier this year Microsoft proudly announced that it was working with U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) to "deliver such services as cloud-based identity and access" in order to "help employees make more informed decisions faster" and "utilize deep learning capabilities to accelerate facial recognition and identification." (Emphasis added.)

As members of the open source community and free software movement who embrace values of freedom, liberty, openness, sharing, mutual aid, and general human kindness, we are horrified by and strongly object to the Trump administration's policies of detainment, denaturalization, deportation, and family separation as carried out by ICE.

With Microsoft's acquisition of GitHub, many in the GitHub community were fearful of what new ownership from a company once openly hostile to open source would spell for the future of GitHub, and many of those people chose to leave the site rather than entrust Microsoft with their software. Those of us who remained, because we were willing to give Microsoft a chance to become a steward of the open source movement, will not continue to do so should Microsoft continue to abet the trampling of human and civil rights by this administration and its law enforcement agencies.

We call on Microsoft to end its relationship with ICE and any federal agencies engaged in enforcing the cruel policies of this administration, which is destroying families and jailing asylum seekers, undocumented long-term residents, and even naturalized citizens under threat of deportation. Or, we will simply take our projects elsewhere.


A principios de este año, Microsoft anunció orgullosamente que estaba trabajando con Inmigración y Control de Aduanas (ICE) para "ofrecer servicios como identidad y acceso basados ​​en la nube" para "ayudar a los empleados a tomar decisiones mucho más informadas rápidamente" y "utilizar capacidades del aprendizaje profundo" para acelerar el reconocimiento facial y la identificación". (Énfasis añadido.)

Como miembros de la comunidad de código abierto y del movimiento de software libre que adoptan los valores de libertad, apertura, intercambio, ayuda mutua y bondad humana en general, nos horrorizamos y nos oponemos firmemente a las políticas de detención, desnaturalización, deportación de la administración Trump. y a la separación de las familias según lo llevado a cabo por ICE.

Con la adquisición de GitHub por parte de Microsoft, muchos en la comunidad de GitHub temían que la nueva propiedad de una empresa que alguna vez fue abiertamente hostil al código abierto deletreara el futuro de GitHub, y muchas de esas personas decidieron abandonar el sitio en lugar de confiarle a Microsoft su software. Aquellos de nosotros que permanecimos, porque estuvimos dispuestos a darle a Microsoft la oportunidad de convertirlos en administradores del movimiento de código abierto, no continuaremos haciéndolo si Microsoft continúa fomentando el pisoteo de los derechos humanos y civiles por esta administración y su aplicación de la ley.

Hacemos un llamado a Microsoft para que termine su relación con ICE y cualquier agencia federal involucrada en hacer cumplir las políticas crueles de esta administración, que está destruyendo familias y encarcelando a solicitantes de asilo, residentes indocumentados a largo plazo e incluso ciudadanos naturalizados bajo amenaza de deportación. O simplemente llevaremos nuestros proyectos a otro lado.


ADD YOUR NAME / AGREGA TU NOMBRE
To add your name or recommend alterations to this text, please submit a PR! Please insert your name into the list alphabetically to help save us time merging changes. If you are a significant contributor to a major open source project, feel free to add your affiliation.
Para agregar tu nombre o recomendar modificaciones a este texto, envia un mensaje de Pull Request! Por favor, inserta tu nombre en la lista alfabéticamente para ayudarnos a ahorrar tiempo al fusionar los cambios. Si contribuyes de manera significativa a un gran proyecto de código abierto, puedes agregar tu afiliación.

Signed/Firmados,

  1. Lea Verou @leaverou (MIT, W3C CSS Working Group, Prism, Mavo, Dabblet)
  2. Sindre Sorhus @sindresorhus (AVA, XO, Awesome)
  3. Thomas Fuchs @madrobby (Zepto, Script.aculo.us, Ruby on Rails)
  4. Laurie Voss @seldo (LGBTQ.technology)
  5. Jamie Kyle @jamiebuilds (Babel, Yarn, Flow, Parcel, Marionette, Lerna)
  6. Orta Therox @orta (Artsy, CocoaPods, Danger)
  7. Rick Waldron @rwaldron (Ecma/TC39, Johnny-Five, Bocoup)
  8. W.O. Boats @withoutboats (Rust)
  9. Aakash Sigdel @aakashsigdel
  10. Aaron Lichtman @alichtman
  11. Abraham Toriz @categulario
  12. Abram Stern @aphid
  13. Absolutely Sweatie @absolutelysweatie (React)
  14. Adam Yi @adamyi
  15. Adrien Antoine @adriantoine
  16. Aiden Holmes @aidenholmes
  17. Akil Harris @akilism
  18. Akshat Sinha @tribalmolecule
  19. Alex @alexrdz
  20. Alex Pardo @alex-pardo
  21. Alex Rapley @arapl3y
  22. Alexander Wallin @alexanderwallin
  23. Alexis Betancourt @chonchah
  24. Allen Hai @coetry
  25. Amal Karunarathna @r3b311i0n
  26. Amit Cohen @AmitC1
  27. Andreas Basurto @nitrohorse
  28. Andrew McLagan @andrewmclagan
  29. Andrew Wasson @awasson
  30. Andy Galasso @agalasso
  31. Anna Henningsen @addaleax
  32. Anthony Maki @4cm4k1
  33. Antonio Marin @amarinab
  34. Antonio Nesic @mutantkeyboard
  35. Antonopoulos Georgios @AntGeorge
  36. Apostolos Christodoulou @tol-is
  37. Arthur Guiot @arguiot
  38. ArashMidos @arshiamidos
  39. Aung Naing Oo @o92
  40. Axel Stoll @saufbernd
  41. Ban Min Kyoz @banminkyoz
  42. Beatriz @beatrizelena
  43. Ben Allen @thebenallen
  44. Ben Nelson @nelsonblaha
  45. Ben Wiley @benwiley4000
  46. Benji Bilheimer @benjibee
  47. Benny Franco @BennyFranco
  48. Bernard Lin @bernard-lin
  49. Brett Jones @brettjonesdev
  50. Brian Yang @brianyang
  51. Bruno Jardon @bjardon
  52. Capi Etheriel @barraponto
  53. Carlos Colón @cppmx
  54. Celti Burroughs @Celti
  55. Charles Josephs @darkmyst
  56. Charles Kenney @charliekenney23
  57. Chris W. Burke @chriswburke
  58. Chris Clayman @kidmillions
  59. Chris Matzenbach @cmatzenbach
  60. Chris Murphy @mdhornet90
  61. Christian Grimberg @ChristianGrimberg
  62. Christian Petersen @fnky
  63. Connor Bär @connor-baer
  64. coolreader18 @coolreader18
  65. Cristian Alanis @snake404
  66. Cristián Vásquez Parga @aepnea
  67. Cristhian Echeverry @CristhianEcheverry
  68. Daksh Miglani @DakshMiglani
  69. Dale Weiler @graphitemaster
  70. Dan Moore @danzeeeman
  71. Dang Van Thanh @dangvanthanh
  72. Daniel Bennett @danBennettDev
  73. Daniel C. Patiño @daielchom
  74. Daniel Carosone @dcarosone
  75. Daniël W. Crompton @webhat
  76. Daniel Dyssegaard Kallick @keevie
  77. Daniel Sieradski @selfagency
  78. Daniel Winterstein @winterstein
  79. Danilo Guanabara @danguafer
  80. Darwin Correa @dacopan
  81. David Barts @DavidBarts
  82. David Seidenberg @davidseid
  83. David T. Nguyen @DavidTNguyen
  84. Denys Vitali @DenysVitali
  85. Dessalines @Dessalines
  86. Dian Fay @dmfay
  87. Diego Moreno @TxusBlack
  88. Diego Piedra @diegojopiedra
  89. Diego Rojas @diemarc
  90. Don Bellenger @donnotron666
  91. Eduardo Aguad @eaguad1337
  92. Eduardo Fernandez @EduFdezSoy
  93. Elijah Cruz @elijahcruz12
  94. Elin Angelov @zetxx
  95. Emanuele Stoppa @ematipico
  96. Eli Bierman @edbedbe
  97. Eric Gjertsen @ericgj
  98. Eric Sandoval @emsando
  99. Eric Schultz @ericschultz
  100. Esteban Rocha @Esteban-Rocha
  101. Eugene Belinski @ebelinski
  102. Evan Carlson @Pugduddly (enderX)
  103. Fabio Fernandes @fabiofl
  104. Filipe Kiss @filipekiss
  105. Firat Deniz @fdeniz
  106. Flávio Caetano @fjcaetano
  107. Frank Bültge @bueltge
  108. Frederick Mejia @fjdevel
  109. Gavin Morgan @quavmo
  110. Gido @gidoBOSSftw5731
  111. Good-Loop @good-loop
  112. Guido @schugDev
  113. gusfravo @gusfravo
  114. Hanjunrong @Hanjunrong
  115. Haythem Tlili @Haythem
  116. Henrik Kjerringvåg @hkjels
  117. Herman J. Radtke III @hjr3
  118. Hugo Dutra @hugodutra
  119. Ian Ardouin-Fumat @iaaaan
  120. Igor Buyanov @artifex404
  121. interpeix @interpeix
  122. Isaiah Joshua M. Samonte @xemasiv
  123. Jack Keating @jkeat
  124. Jacob Beard @jbeard4
  125. Jad Sarout @xananax
  126. Jamie King @king0120
  127. Jamie Wright @jwright
  128. Jan Peer @JPeer264
  129. Jan Riemer @janriemer
  130. Jane Miceli @janemiceli
  131. Jasmine Hennessy @jennessy
  132. Jason Palmer @palmerj3
  133. Jason Seminara @jasonseminara
  134. Jasper Haggenburg @jpunt
  135. jayvdb @jayvdb
  136. Jean Manzo @jmanzo
  137. Jekabs Milbrets @jekabsmilbrets
  138. Jeremy Low @jeremylow
  139. Jeremy Muhia @veganafro
  140. Jerry Liang @jeriscc
  141. Jibran Shaikh @js-d-coder
  142. Jim Kang @deathmtn
  143. Jiří Špác @capaj
  144. Joan Mira @gazpachu
  145. John Hann @unscriptable
  146. johnypony3 @johnypony3
  147. Jon Culver @bahoo
  148. Jon Kuperman @jkup
  149. Jonah Meijers @theonejonahgold
  150. Jordan Danford @jdanford
  151. Jordan Pagels @jpgls
  152. Jordy Cuan @jordycuan
  153. Joshua Achorn @superp00t
  154. Josh Waller @mdxprograms
  155. Joshua Cook @joshuacook
  156. Juanjo Salvador @JuanjoSalvador
  157. Julee Burdekin @theship
  158. J Kelsey-De France @onoffleftright
  159. Karina Romero @KarinaRomero
  160. Kathleen Burkhardt @kburk1997 (Rensselaer Center for Open Source, YACS)
  161. Ken Godoy @kgodoy
  162. Kevin Corado @KCorado
  163. Ken Erwin @devopslibrary
  164. Kevin Gimbel @kevingimbel
  165. Kevin Lalka @lalka-workco
  166. Kevin Lopez @shadefoundry
  167. Kevin Milner @codeslingerMalthius
  168. Konstantin K. @kkostov
  169. Kyle Gay @rkyleg
  170. Kyle Holzinger @kyleholzinger
  171. Le Minh Tri @ansidev
  172. Len Smith @ignu
  173. lfuelling @lfuelling
  174. Libby Horacek @emhoracek
  175. Lisa Lamontagne @llamontagne
  176. Lisa Ballard @basilleaf
  177. Lowell Kissling @lrkissling
  178. Luke Cashion-Lozell @lukeacl
  179. Maaz Khan @maazkhan
  180. Malcolm Laing @montezume
  181. Manuel Sánchez @manasv
  182. Marc Bria @marcbria
  183. Marc Hinse @MadeMyDay
  184. Marc Vornetran @marc1404
  185. Maria Peniche @inPen
  186. Margeaux Spring @cheapwebmonkey
  187. Mario García @mattdark
  188. Mark Busenitz @mucbuc
  189. Mark A. Lane @FooCrypt
  190. Mark Rabey @MarkRabey
  191. Martin Šťovíček @stovmascript
  192. Matt Barraza-Carl @PerStirpes
  193. Matt Glaser @oppodeldoc
  194. Matthew Searles mattxo
  195. Max Rittmüller @maxrimue
  196. Michael Bishop @miklb
  197. Miguel Monzón @monzon13
  198. Mijndert Stuij @mijndert
  199. Mike Eng @mrengy
  200. Mikkel Malmberg @mikker
  201. Moses Wynn @moseswynn
  202. Murilo Prestes @maclovin
  203. Nagesh Podilapu @H4rryp0tt3r
  204. Nate Sutton @nmsutton
  205. Naveen Kumar Sangi @nkprince007
  206. Nicolás Iglesias @webpolis
  207. Nicholas Sahler @nicksahler
  208. Nicolai Süper @nicolaisueper
  209. Nitish Kumar @mintunitish
  210. Noah Hall @nthall
  211. Olayemi H. Ibrahim @yobroyem0
  212. Onciu Florin Cosmin @bboydflo
  213. Owen @Dev-Osmium
  214. Pascal Jufer @paescuj
  215. Pat Li @xueyuanl
  216. Patrick Curl @patrickcurl
  217. Paul Nolan @close-paren
  218. Pedro Rodrigues @pedro2555
  219. Peter Benjamin @petermbenjamin
  220. Peter Bittner @bittner
  221. Petter Karlsrud @ptrkrlsrd
  222. Philip Beadle @philipbeadle
  223. Randolf Richardson @randolf
  224. Raymond Cano @rayraycano
  225. Rein Henrichs @reinh
  226. Remus Buzatu @rbuzatu90
  227. Rex Low @rexlow
  228. Rishi Javia @rishijavia
  229. Robert James Gabriel @RobertJGabriel (OpenDyslexic, PWA Awards)
  230. Robert Fridzema @qubist
  231. Robert White @r2453
  232. Rodrigo Bermúdez @rodrigobdz
  233. Roshan @roshbhatia
  234. Ruth Miller @mcplanner
  235. Ross Strachan @rbstrachan
  236. Ryan Harrison @rmharrison
  237. Ryan P. C. McQuen @ryanpcmcquen
  238. Sam Jackson @samfromcadott
  239. Sam Lloyd @binchicken
  240. Sarah Majors @sfmajors373
  241. Saurav Tomar @sauravtom
  242. Sean Dean @anthropos9
  243. Sean Matheson @ctrlplusb
  244. Shannon Drew @sdrewdle
  245. Sharath Ramkumar @sharath
  246. Shauna Gordon-McKeon @shaunagm
  247. Shawon Ashraf @ShawonAshraf
  248. Shealan Forshaw @shealan
  249. Shengming Yuan @ssysm
  250. Snowden Fu @fuzheng1998
  251. Stefen Wakefield @xstefen
  252. Stephen Rivas @sprjr
  253. Sumit Sen @sumit1sen
  254. Sushant Rao @sushant10
  255. Tao He @taohexxx
  256. Tatiana Tylosky @tati
  257. TechdudeGames @techdudegames
  258. Ted Dobyns @tedajax
  259. Tevye Cowan @tevyefegeleh
  260. Thijs van der Vossen @fingertips
  261. Titus Wormer @wooorm
  262. Tiago Dias @skullwritter
  263. Tobi Schäfer @p3k
  264. Tom Houlé @tomhoule
  265. Tom Lazar @tomlazar
  266. Tommy Kelly @tomkel
  267. Tomas Lycken @tlycken
  268. Travis Welch @trav3711
  269. Tucker Boniface @heyitswither
  270. Tyler Thompson @tptee
  271. Umayah Abdennabi @sudohalt
  272. Ursin Filli @ursinn
  273. Valentin Iovene @tgy
  274. Victor Saiz @vectorsize
  275. Viktor Kuroljov @viktor-ku
  276. Vinicius Rodrigues @Suburbanno
  277. vøid @makmm
  278. wencan @wencan
  279. Wilfrid "Zeepington" G.@zeepington
  280. Will @qubist
  281. Worms @MarcoWorms
  282. Yanely Ramirez @yxnely
  283. Yaohan Chen @hagabaka
  284. Yash Garg @yashgarg1232
  285. Yoann Magli @ysris
  286. Yusuff Adeyemo @yusadolat
  287. Zeerak Waseem @zeerakw
  288. zer0crash @CyberSpace7
  289. zomars @zomars

Notice: Although various projects and organizations may be listed next to signees, these signatures do not necessarily reflect the views of anyone except the signees.