Static content from original eightbar.co.uk site.
HTML Other
Fetching latest commit…
Cannot retrieve the latest commit at this time.
Permalink
Failed to load latest commit information.
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014
2015
2016
about
author
category
comments
feed
page
tag
wp-admin
wp-content
wp-includes
wp-json
.gitignore
LICENSE
README.md
index.html
manifest.yml
wp-login.php

README.md

Eightbar

In 2005 a group of us working at IBM's Hursley lab setup a blog, Eightbar, to write about the technology we were interested in and what it was like to work here. This is the static content of that blog.

Final Post

Hello.

In 2005 a group of us working at IBM's Hursley lab decided to start a blog about technology and what it was like to work here.

In the 11 years we've seen people join and leave, we've had weddings and babies, bought houses, had 120 breakfasts together and drunk many cups of tea. We've also seen the technology we work with span social media, virtual worlds, cloud, and AI. Some of that has been recorded here. We've had a few attempts to restart Eightbar but interest in reading and writing it has faded, so we decided to call it a day.

The content has all been archived and is accessible at: https://eightbar.eu-gb.mybluemix.net or you can download the whole thing at: https://github.com/shawdm/eightbar-static. In a few days we'll redirect eightbar.co.uk and in a few weeks we'll let the domain expire.

Most of the contributors are still writing their own blogs. All of them are on Twitter.

Alice Bartlett http://alicebartlett.co.uk/

Andy Piper https://andypiper.co.uk

Andy Stanford-Clark http://stanford-clark.com

Ben Hardill http://www.hardill.me.uk

Dale Lane http://dalelane.co.uk

Darren Shaw https://darrenshaw.org

Dave Braines

Gareth Jones http://garethj.com

Graham White http://gibbalog.blogspot.co.uk

Ian Hughes http://www.feedingedge.co.uk

James Taylor https://jtlog.wordpress.com

Jon Levell http://www.coralbark.net

Josie Messa https://josiemessa.wordpress.com

Laura Cowen http://lauracowen.co.uk

Nick O'Leary http://knolleary.net

Rob Smart http://robsmart.co.uk

Roo Reynolds http://rooreynolds.com/

Thank you. XOXO