Skip to content
Graphical ontology of 163 Ragas and their Parameters
Branch: master
Clone or download
Fetching latest commit…
Cannot retrieve the latest commit at this time.
Type Name Latest commit message Commit time
Failed to load latest commit information.


Graphical ontology of 163 Ragas and their Parameters

Organized and parametrized data with a force directed algorithm.

Notes in this database are represented in the following order from the tonic: S r R g G m M P d D n N S' In pitch class numbers they may be read as 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

ragas.json file contains the following information:

  1. Raga Name
  2. Aaroha - The ascending scale as list
  3. Avaroha - The descending scale as list
  4. Pakad - succinct movement phrase as list
  5. Vadi - note around which to hover
  6. Samvadi - second most important note
  7. Thaat - family of raga
  8. Time - time assigned to the performance of raga
  9. Jati - number of notes in ascent and descent of raga

Web demo at

You can’t perform that action at this time.