Skip to content

HTTPS clone URL

Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with HTTPS or Subversion.

Download ZIP
Browse files

shrinker: add node awareness

Pass the node of the current zone being reclaimed to shrink_slab(),
allowing the shrinker control nodemask to be set appropriately for node
aware shrinkers.

Signed-off-by: Dave Chinner <dchinner@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@openvz.org>
Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Artem Bityutskiy <artem.bityutskiy@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arve Hjønnevåg <arve@android.com>
Cc: Carlos Maiolino <cmaiolino@redhat.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Chuck Lever <chuck.lever@oracle.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Gleb Natapov <gleb@redhat.com>
Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
Cc: J. Bruce Fields <bfields@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Kent Overstreet <koverstreet@google.com>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Hellstrom <thellstrom@vmware.com>
Cc: Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
  • Loading branch information...
commit 0ce3d74450815500e31f16a0b65f6bab687985c3 1 parent 4e717f5
Dave Chinner authored Al Viro committed
3  drivers/staging/android/ashmem.c
View
@@ -692,6 +692,9 @@ static long ashmem_ioctl(struct file *file, unsigned int cmd, unsigned long arg)
.gfp_mask = GFP_KERNEL,
.nr_to_scan = 0,
};
+
+ nodes_setall(sc.nodes_to_scan);
+
ret = ashmem_shrink(&ashmem_shrinker, &sc);
sc.nr_to_scan = ret;
ashmem_shrink(&ashmem_shrinker, &sc);
1  fs/drop_caches.c
View
@@ -44,6 +44,7 @@ static void drop_slab(void)
.gfp_mask = GFP_KERNEL,
};
+ nodes_setall(shrink.nodes_to_scan);
do {
nr_objects = shrink_slab(&shrink, 1000, 1000);
} while (nr_objects > 10);
3  include/linux/shrinker.h
View
@@ -16,6 +16,9 @@ struct shrink_control {
/* How many slab objects shrinker() should scan and try to reclaim */
unsigned long nr_to_scan;
+
+ /* shrink from these nodes */
+ nodemask_t nodes_to_scan;
};
#define SHRINK_STOP (~0UL)
2  mm/memory-failure.c
View
@@ -248,10 +248,12 @@ void shake_page(struct page *p, int access)
*/
if (access) {
int nr;
+ int nid = page_to_nid(p);
do {
struct shrink_control shrink = {
.gfp_mask = GFP_KERNEL,
};
+ node_set(nid, shrink.nodes_to_scan);
nr = shrink_slab(&shrink, 1000, 1000);
if (page_count(p) == 1)
11 mm/vmscan.c
View
@@ -2374,12 +2374,16 @@ static unsigned long do_try_to_free_pages(struct zonelist *zonelist,
*/
if (global_reclaim(sc)) {
unsigned long lru_pages = 0;
+
+ nodes_clear(shrink->nodes_to_scan);
for_each_zone_zonelist(zone, z, zonelist,
gfp_zone(sc->gfp_mask)) {
if (!cpuset_zone_allowed_hardwall(zone, GFP_KERNEL))
continue;
lru_pages += zone_reclaimable_pages(zone);
+ node_set(zone_to_nid(zone),
+ shrink->nodes_to_scan);
}
shrink_slab(shrink, sc->nr_scanned, lru_pages);
@@ -2836,6 +2840,8 @@ static bool kswapd_shrink_zone(struct zone *zone,
return true;
shrink_zone(zone, sc);
+ nodes_clear(shrink.nodes_to_scan);
+ node_set(zone_to_nid(zone), shrink.nodes_to_scan);
reclaim_state->reclaimed_slab = 0;
nr_slab = shrink_slab(&shrink, sc->nr_scanned, lru_pages);
@@ -3544,10 +3550,9 @@ static int __zone_reclaim(struct zone *zone, gfp_t gfp_mask, unsigned int order)
* number of slab pages and shake the slab until it is reduced
* by the same nr_pages that we used for reclaiming unmapped
* pages.
- *
- * Note that shrink_slab will free memory on all zones and may
- * take a long time.
*/
+ nodes_clear(shrink.nodes_to_scan);
+ node_set(zone_to_nid(zone), shrink.nodes_to_scan);
for (;;) {
unsigned long lru_pages = zone_reclaimable_pages(zone);
Please sign in to comment.
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.